Eldon Insurance Services Reviews

1.22 Rating 49 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Eldon Insurance Services
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Eldon Insurance Services made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
A car driver, insured by Watford Insurance Company (who correspond by email from Eldon, and whose phone number goes through to Somerset Bridge Insurance) destroyed 30ft of my front garden, including the brick wall, wooden fence and mature shrubs, just before I was going to put my house on the market. The estimated costs of the damage are circa £5k. The driver was under the influence of recreational drugs and was having a seizure for about 20 minutes - we helped him to breathe until the ambulance service arrived and took over. The driver was solely to blame. He was escorted by the police from the hospital to the custody suite! He is just lucky that he didn't kill someone. Perhaps it's not surprising that such a low-life chooses an insurance company such as this. To-date, their response has been to shirk their responsibility for their driver and suggest I claim off my own insurance. THIS WILL NOT BE HAPPENING. I have no qualms about going to the Ombudsman about this, but it's important that people are aware of this company and avoid at all cost. The incident occurred in May, and whilst I was calling for an update on the claim just now, having been on hold for 20 minutes (last time it was longer) I have been cut off without being able to speak to anyone. I was told some weeks ago that they won't be able to assess the cost of the damage to my garden as they deal with vehicles. So, do your policies reflect that your drivers are not insured if they cause damage to some's property? It's not my problem that you don't know how to assess the damage - but it IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY SOMEONE WHO CAN!! I have provided quotes for people I know and trust to carry out the work - it has taken me hours to get that far. I understand that I can claim for my time in dealing with this matter, but if I need to get more then it will all add to the claim. It looks like my next steps will be via the Financial Services Ombudsman. All I want is the damage to be rectified ASAP. It's been over 2 months so far and it hasn't progressed at all.
Posted 4 days ago
I bought an insurance cover (more precisely a third-party, fire and theft) from Debenhams (Somerset Bridge Insurance). With policy number: DSPC7260160282, for the cover of a MERCEDES-BENZ E 220 AVANTGARDE C, 2005 model year with registration number KR55YVK. The cover started on the 10/02/2020 and was supposed to end on the 10/02/2021 (see attachments C1, C2 and C3). On the 17th of December 2020 at night, my car (KR55YVK) just stopped working, it was salvaged and on the 18th of December 2020, I got an affordable car which is a BMW 5 Series, 2005 model year with registration SJ05EPE. I just want to mention that before this time, a few months ago, I had asked a Debenhams insurance representative during a phone call I made to make a monthly payment (usually at the end of the month) if my policy allows for the change of a vehicle and she answered yes that I am well within my right to do that and call them to make the adjustments after getting any vehicle of my choice in the future. On the 18th of December 2020, I tried to make adjustments to my policy online to my new vehicle and could not, I called to do it over the phone, and they could not. They advised that they have referred the matter to an underwriter who will get in touch with me within 48 hours. I waited for about 5 days and heard nothing and on the 23rd of December 2020 (14:59 GMT), I contacted Debenhams and I was informed that the underwriter cannot cover my vehicle and that I am required to continue paying my premium for vehicle KR55YVK. I was very disappointed because not only have I been left without an insurance cover for about 6 days, but I was also asked to pay for what I am not using. I told Debenhams that if they cannot provide a cover for me then they need to refund me the remainder of my premium paid, cancel the policy without any charges and let me go get insured somewhere else. Debenhams refused and tried to pass blames to the underwriter claiming that I will be charged cancellation fees. The phone call ended by saying the one of their managers will call me on mobile phone to discuss this further. I did not get any call and after a week, on the 30th December 2020 I got an email (see attachment E1) from Sam Robins (Debenhams representative) who asked me to say what my query is (instead of coming to me with a solution via a phone call as promised, he is asking about my query again via email). I replied Sam’s email (see attachment E2) within a few minutes. Sam replied to me (see attachment E3) on the 2nd of January 2021 stating that the cancellation fee has been waived and that I should confirm that I am willing to go ahead with the cancellation. I replied to Sam’s email the same day (see attachment E4) requesting for the refund of the remainder of my premium paid among other things that I had requested for. On the 4th of January 2021 at 18:27 GMT I got a call from Sam. We spoke and I requested for my refunds, compensation, certificate of no claims and the cancellation without fees. I made Sam understand the inconveniences and cost that made me deserve a compensation and Sam said that other colleagues and the underwriter would be consulted and that I will be called back. On the 7th of January 2021 at 15:47 GMT I got a call from Sam who asked me for further details and ended the call by saying that other colleagues and the underwriter would be consulted and that I will be called back. Since then, I did not hear from Sam until the 16th of January 2021 when Sam wrote to me (see attachment E5) with a different mixed message telling me to setup a debt payment plan with them. This infuriated me even further as I replied (see attachment E6) and asked Sam if previous notes and phone calls were actually taken into consideration or this was a message meant for another customer. To this end, we have indirectly reached a deadlock. And my stance is that since the underwriter could not insure my changed car despite previously telling me that my car can be changed during my policy, I deserve a no fee cancellation, a refund of what is left in the premium, certificate of no claims for the period involved, and a compensation for all the time, cost, risks and inconveniences experienced as a result of this uncooperative treatment, communication and customer service. To further shore up why I deserve a compensation, firstly, I am the carer form my grandparents. Without me they would not be able to get out of their bed, wash, feed, go to toilet and have a normal life. I was unable to carter for them and when I managed to, I incurred heavy costs on transportation. Secondly, because of the industry that I work within, I was classed as a key worker who is busy get things done so that people can get their vaccines and tests done in a timely manner for a normal life to resume and get the economy working again. The lack of an insured vehicle meant that I could not commute to do my job or incurred heavy costs in commuting to do it. Thirdly, the lack of an insured vehicle meant risks as I used public or private (yet public) transportation. This is when infections with a new strain of the virus was discovered and I was exposed to it as a result of this poor customer service. Fourthly, this started from the 18th of December when I could not visit those family members that are in my bubble to share gifts and do things like most families did, I either could not do them or incurred heavy costs to do them. Fifthly, I have not been able to do my shopping or incur heavy costs in doing them. Note that I am on a diet and some food items are obtained only from selected stores. Before Debenhams attempt to blame Covid-19, I acknowledge that it has been a difficult year for everyone and for me with losing my father during the month of May 2020, having more family members in need of critical care to tend to, and having to spend time arguing in all this to Debenhams on various occasions and days as well as writing this statement. Debenhams has forgotten that it is the loyalty and tiny voices of customers like myself that makes them who they are. As a conclusion, my stance is because the underwriter could not insure my changed car despite previously telling me that my car can be changed during my policy, I deserve a no fee cancellation, a refund of what is left in the premium, a certificate of no claims for the period involved, and a compensation for all the time, cost, risks and inconveniences experienced as a result of this uncooperative treatment, communication and customer service.
Posted 5 months ago
Trying to make me liable for a substantial 5 car claim a month after I cancelled my insurance and sold the vehicle. I've sent them proof of everything proving this. Sent to the financial ombudsman now.
Posted 6 months ago
Fraudsters! The insurance is worthless and it can cost you your licence. Company names they use : vavista, goSkippy, debenhams, Somerset Bridge insurance, Eldon insurance, Watford insurance Europa Ltd .... Etc. The police need to take notice and and investigate these thiefs. An establishment that frequently changes its name does so for no legitimate purpose. I know the changed my insurance cover half way through the year without any notice or reason. I also lost one year no claims. Downgrading my cover has left me with serious penalties and I can't resolve it. They don't care! They know exactly what they have done.
Posted 7 months ago
Disgusting service, not surprising they constantly change their name. I am no longer using this company, thank goodness after a very bad experience following an accident in 2019. I will never go near them again and definitely DO NOT recommend them. STEER CLEAR!!!!
Posted 9 months ago
This is a fraud company!!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM.
Posted 10 months ago
NEVER EVER HAVE AN INSURANCE WITH ELDON INSURANCE!!!!!! A woman started to set off on an empty roundabout and instantly slammed on in which I went into the back of her. She got out no damage to my car or hers but the passenger got out and pulled at every bit of the car to make it worse. The driver then went on to tell me that a 17 year old had hit her and an 18 year old all in the week of me going into her. Eldon sent letters to my old address and had my old phone number and now want me to pay them £8800 🤣 even though I paid them £360 every month for an insurance! What did I pay that for? Obviously for the fun of it it seems. Do not ever get an insurance out with this company!!!!! I accepted full blame even with no damage to either car and no injuries to the driver and passenger as I literally was doing about 6 mph. Happy 2020 everyone. Eldon you are the worse money grabbing cunts going!
Posted 11 months ago
BEWARE FRAUD!!!!!!!!!!!! This company underwrites car insurance for Go Skippy and various others. They will use every loop hole possible to get out of settling your claim! Avoid at all costs and go direct to a reputable Insurance you have heard off and AVOID the nightmare we have just been through after our pride and joy was stolen during a horrible Burglary at home. Please read the reviews all over the net about GO Skippy, Eldon Insurance, Watford Insurance or Somerset Bridge as they are all affiliated with each other.
Posted 1 year ago
FRAUD COMPANY STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY..!
Posted 1 year ago
Their policy holder caused a accident accepted the blame 3 times Eldon would still not deal with me and I had to go via my insurance and pay the excess, to recovery my vehicle etc. I am convinced if you insure with them they look for ways of costing third parties the most money so they have an excuse to increase your premiums. Avoid Go Skippy and Eldon Insurance at all cost!!!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Con artists. Will do everything in their power to get out of paying a claim. Screwed by them over a technicality. Do not trust this company. (Office must be underneath an arch in the Camen islands)
Posted 1 year ago
Somerset Bridge Insurance - Fraudsters, Scammers and incompetent. What an absolute joke of a company, how they manage to stay in business and duck and dive under the radar of government laws is absolutely shocking by changing their company name every few months to try and escape the negative criticism. Took out a policy with them and after paying my deposit of £180, they instantly cancelled my insurance within 7 days due to discrepancy on my no claims. Once i sent a complaint, i got a response after 10 days, way after the cancellation time of 7 days. Therefore I cancelled before they could say they cancelled my policy. Upon receiving feedback from my complaint they admitted that they called my previous insurance to get clarification that my no claims is accurate and they said they got the confirmation and admitted they were at fault. So what did they do about it? They told me that they will amend my policy so that they can change the cancellation to cancelled by policy holder and not by them so it won't affect my future quotes by saying I had a policy cancelled. Even tho I cancelled myself anyway. This was the compensation they have offered me, when in reality they've took £180 off me and I've had to get emergency insurance elsewhere which has cost me about £600 more per year than what I was originally quoted when i took out a policy with somerset bridge insurance. They have stated that I am entitled to a £50 refund of the initial £180 deposit, so basically they've charged me £130 for 3 days insurance as well as causing me tremendous stress and anxiety. Hours of phone calls going round and round in circles with foreigners on the phone. I have been waiting 12 days for the refund of £50 and I am still waiting today. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS, MAJOR SCAMMERS AND FRAUD COMPANY WHICH CHANGES THEIR NAME EVERY FEW MONTHS TO AVOID GETTING CAUGHT. This company needs investigating by criminal law.
Posted 1 year ago
Eldon have now changed their name again... They are now know as Somerset Bridge Limited, same address. Dreadful company. An accident has been logged against our vehicle - third party claim. Can't give exact details of the time of the incident. We haven't been involved in any accident. Car been examined no damage. Have still accepted responsibility on our behalf. Contacted financial ombudsman who are now dealing.
Posted 1 year ago
Do not use this company as they are shocking, i had an accident in 2018 and still fighting the case as they will not pay out but quick enough to continue to take my monthly payment off 100+ a month and then try to renew my insurance even tho car wrote off , had there staff tell me theres not reason that they should not pay received a letter to say they was paying then they changed there mind. Also they asked for all my details keys tracker fob to the car as they was paying and kept them even tho i rang to ask why they not taken the car to get told there not paying DONT use this company or any company that these deal with
Posted 1 year ago
Do not use this company as they are shocking, i had an accident in 2018 and still fighting the case as they will not pay out but quick enough to continue to take my monthly payment off 100+ a month and then try to renew my insurance even tho car wrote off , had there staff tell me theres not reason that they should not pay received a letter to say they was paying then they changed there mind. Also they asked for all my details keys tracker fob to the car as they was paying and kept them even tho i rang to ask why they not taken the car to get told there not paying DONT use this company or any company that these deal with
Posted 1 year ago
The worst company ever, this is SCAM COMPANY!!!! AVOID AT ALL COST! They are unprofessional, Eldon insurance are the underwriters of GoSkippy and Depenhams insurance.
Posted 1 year ago
Do not be fooled by the low prices they offer, it is honestly not worth it. Pay that bit more to go to an insurance that actually does something. Over a year later, after being in a accident that was not my fault I was made to pay my excess and claim on my insurance when there is dash cam proof of a vehicle hitting me. Whenever you call up you sit on hold for 30 mins to an hour and get told we are still waiting to here from the other party a year later!! I have now changed insurers but am still having to chase this company because not once will they ever call you to update you on the claim. Insurance went form £600 to over £2,000 with them and they had the cheek to call and ask why I was leaving? Awful company, awful service. Really do not understand how they are allowed to continue trading They take your money and then do absolutely nothing! One year on and still no closer to getting any of my money back or NCD
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID this company! Awful service, no support and certainly would not recommend this company. Scammers, I was insured with them over 5 years ago now, had no emails, text or phone calls saying I was involved in a accident, which didn't happen. My car was parked on the road side, which didn't happen. As I wasnt there also they could not provide details to who exactly was making a claim against me, if there was one. 9 months later my policy shot up and no claim bonus reduced because of this and I was over charged for my renewal quote. They have settled the claim without me admitting to it. All they had to do was ring my mobile phone number. Stay well away from these people they shouldn't even be a insurance company it's a total scam!!! They owe me thousands and the stress it’s caused has affected my health!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Do not use debenhams insurance underwritten by Eldon. I ignored bad reviews thinking people had made a mistake, that it wouldn't happen to me, no claims or accidents in 15 years etc. I was very, very, very, very wrong. I had a non fault accident in November 18, I'm still awaiting payout for the car, they took at the scene and never saw again. Not only that debenhams renewed my car insurance automatically without my permission and then charged me £180 to cancel, for the car they still have that I do not!! Do not use this company. They never answer phones and you will not get paid out for your car. Pay a bit more and go with someone else, please do not make the mistake I did.
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID this company! They are cheap but not worth the hassle and stress that comes with it! I received a letter from Eldon about a claim I was never involved in or nor were I anywhere near the location on the day or time it stated, they are an absolute scam had engineers check my vehicle and no sign of damages at all. 6 months later and they still haven’t cleared the false claim they made against me! I am not even able to get a quote from any insurance company. I can’t stress enough what a load of scammers they are! This company deserves to be closed down!!
Posted 1 year ago
Eldon Insurance Services is rated 1.22 based on 49 reviews