EEC Home Improvements Reviews

4.62 Rating 486 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend EEC Home Improvements
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read EEC Home Improvements Reviews

About EEC Home Improvements:

EEC Home Improvements have been providing UK homeowners services since 1991. Celebrating 29 Years of Business in 2020 offering UK home & business owners a wide range of home improvement services.

Visit Website


01704 539300



140 Norwood Road

Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Avoid at all costs. Get your deposit money back ASAP. Please read the facts and take your business elsewhere. Various Health & Safety risks, poor workmanship and horrendous or non existent customer service. I wouldn't score them 1 star but had to give them something to write the review. 1. We struggled to get a survey date suitable to us, as EEC Solar try to carry out all their work in one area at one time, so survey times are what suits them, not the customer. 2. Site Surveyor arrives and is inexperienced, the plan was roughly written out in biro on a notepad, very confusing with several things crossed out and rewritten. I’m sure a 7-year-old could have supplied more information to the install team. In casual conversation I find out it’s the surveyors first day with the company. 3. The surveyor was also unable to correctly use the IPad that EEC Solar had supplied, therefore couldn't upload the sketchy info. When he left install info was extremely limited. 4. Scaffolding arrives, separate contractor and they were fine. 5. Install date agreed, but again it was what was suitable for the company, not the customer. 6. Install team arriving with little to no information as to what is required from the poor survey info, I had to explain to them on the day. 7. A lot of the time they were discussing things in my property they weren’t speaking English so it was impossible to understand what they were talking about. 8. They struggled to run the cables, they also seemed very inexperienced. When I did speak to them I found out it was also their 1st day with the company! 9. The electrical inspector arrived during the install and at that stage he pointed out a few things that weren’t being carried out correctly, he gave the install team advice, but they ignored it. He was very honest and genuinely a credit to his trade (one of the few plus points). 10. I’m no expert, but even I knew they were breaching several health and safety rules during their time at my home. With possible risk of fire, fatal electric shock, or both. 11. At the end of the install I was invited to view the panels on our roof, I pointed out that they looked uneven and were untidy and I was told that it was due to my old roof joists? I had never seen any other solar panels looking so uneven whether it was on new or older properties. 12. I was appalled as they looked like domino's thrown haphazardly on to a sand pit. 13. There was very little explanation as to how anything worked and then they left. 14. The electrical inspector returned and pointed out lots of install faults and also informed me that the spacing of the solar panel roof rails was incorrect and would cause the panels to suffer micro cracking over a period of time due to flexing. 15. The electrical input supply from the grid was left loose and unsecured, with the corner broken off, isolators were unmarked, AC/DC cabling that should have been run through separate trunking had been run through the same trunking. The Invertor was mounted incorrectly, with the paper fitting instructions still left stuck on the back. He explained that these should have been removed as it increased the risk of fire. 16. Various cables were left unclipped, so there was risk of them accidentally being caught and pulled out. 17. After several calls to the company with hundreds of promises of return calls that never happened the install team finally returned to straighten the solar panels. They fitted some extra clamps which has basically bent the panels further to level them up, but again this has increased the chance of the panels cracking. In layman’s terms it’s like trying to bend or twist a large LED TV, you just wouldn’t even try it. 18. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve called EEC Solar and even speaking to Jen the manager, their level of customer service is honestly without doubt the worst I have ever experienced. No return calls, lies and hollow promises. 19. While we have waited for an eternity for them to correctly put their mistakes right, we’ve had to have scaffolding left at our property in the hope that they would return. It's now been there for 2 months. 20. I debated for some time about leaving a negative review as I still wanted the poor workmanship rectified but now I have decided it’s easier to tell other people to avoid this company like the plague, and I’ll take them to court to get my money back. 21. They’ve taken on more work than they can cope with due to the government cut off point of March 31st 2019 and this has obviously meant their customer service is now just atrocious and non-existent. 22. Their only concern is rushing through installs with poor workmanship, health and safety risks and shortcuts. Not concerned with customer satisfaction or reworks as there is no money in returning to a job to put things right, but plenty in carrying out another installation, no matter how bad it is. As consumers we've honestly tried to be patient and reasonable but its just hopeless. Please read this and take note. We are not people that continually complain, in fact we never do, but we are really worried other people will suffer in the same way with this dreadful service. It’s an extremely large expense and their service is simply awful. Please look for another company and take your business to a company that cares, not one that has bitten off more than they can chew and now the customer is the one that suffers. We really hope you take notice of this review and avoid this terrible service.
Don’t be fooled, fake reviews abound, that’s the only way they could even have this many positive reviews; I guess it must be someone’s job in the office to write them instead of dealing with customers. Can’t believe the garbage I am reading. Customer service sucks. Gurantee pointless. Allegedly they have a guarantee system in place to fix any issues following installation of solar panels. They expect £250 up front but once you eventually get through to speak to someone they repeatedly fob you off with a wide range of excuses; a different one every day. Stay away but if it’s too late for your sake I hope nothing goes wrong; looks like it is for them!
I cannot believe I am looking at the same company. The installation was completed on 9th February 2019 having been rescheduled from the 8th due to bad weather. The install team arrived at 10.30 and left site at 21.00 The late completion time meant that I could neither see the installation in daylight or a functioning PV solar system. On the weekend of 9/10 February was in outrage. I managed to connect to the the Solax system via an iOS app on the 10th February 2019 this showed some activity and continues to do so. On the morning of 10th February I received an email from Tigo systems. I followed the instructions and created a user profile. The Tigo site is showing that I do not have an installation. The Tigo device at my premises presented as a WiFi network connection on the 9th February, this had gone on the morning of the 10th February and has not been seen again. I had been advised by the installation operators that the Tigo and Solax systems would spring to life on Monday 11th February, that everything would be fine then, that I would receive a call from the team in the office to talk me through the system. None of that has happened. Asides from a failure to provide a functioning system, an explanation as to why it is not working or a process of rectifying the electrical faults the physical installation is well below any acceptable standards of a professional installer. Multiple instances of lose cables are strewn across the roof area. This is an area that has both wildlife and domestic cats. To leave lose cables on show is unprofessional. Over 50 hours I have sent multiple emails, Twitter messages and a telephone call. I have emailed the MD and messaged through LinkedIn. 24 hours ago I was promised a 'call back' from their switchboard. Still nothing. Here are the photographs of the installation: I believed the reviews on this site. My experience is telling me something very different
Like many on this site I have found the after sales service poor, I have been waiting since February to get my system up and running completely it took 3 months for them to get the system for transferring power that was being exported to the grid, to go to my hot water system. This was supposed to happen after the battery was full and the system should then start exporting superfluous power to the immersion heater. I overheard the electrician fitting it say that their had been lots of problems with the kit but they still continue to fit them. Since finally getting it up and running I found all it does is drain my battery and doesn't seem to have any temperature control so when I get home from work on a sunny day I find I have little on the battery and scalding hot water. 2 months after reporting this I am still waiting for it to be resolved. One of the panels is not working and that has been since it was installed. When I try and get a date I am told they will contact me when someone is in my area which usually means they give you 2 days notice which has happened. I can't just drop everything at work, I have given them dates when I can be at home only to be told that no one is in my area. There doesn't seem to be any suggestion that actually they need to sort this. They are quick enough in getting paid but once they have your money customer service goes out the window. Very disappointing as I had hoped they were a reliable company given the shining reviews. That maybe because you have to be invited to give a review, which presumably they don't tend to invite people who they think might have a gripe. I had to request the opportunity to review this company.
Nightmare which continues! We were given SEVEN different dates when the installation of solar panels would be completed (required time off work for each), first installation team were hopelessly incompetent. Seven weeks later we still have scaffolding up, we’ve sent several letters and phone calls to all managers of company and no one will reply to anything. Also turns out that the managing director listed on the website actually left 2 years ago! Don’t be fooled by the rave reviews.
I am now trying to get my 2nd replacement inverter fitted but can't get anyone to call me to set a date. This is simply not good enough from a company that did the installation very well, took my money and now I feel they don't want to consider this urgent. Well I do !!!!
The number of panels on the roof was under-estimated in the original survey so when the fitters arrived they were able to fit another 2 panels easily on the roof and bring to the full 4KW, but caused a delay getting the work finished off. We had a succession of dates for the fitters to do the work and at the last minute they were not available and we had to keep re-booking. This happened 3 times which was very frustrating since required arranging time off work to be around when the fitters arrived. Whole process seemed quite chaotic with a lack of communication between fitters, us and the head office. A number of roof slates were broken when fitting which I had to report and then wait a few weeks for same fitters to be available to replace. Would have hoped fitters would have been aware of the broken slates rather than for me to see them afterwards. System seems good so far hence given overall rating normal, but fitting process poor.
Our solar system was installed in January. With it, we had an immersion controller to divert excess power to the water heater. As time went on and we moved into the unseasonably warm spell in February it became apparent that the water heater system was not functioning so I contacted EEC and reported the problem.. It is now nearly May and nothing has been done! Despite numerous phone calls and emails no-one is responding other than telling me that they are aware of the problem and that someone will get back to me and arrange a visit. How long do I have to wait? I have not really made a fuss and have relied upon the company's professionalism to remedy this situation, but it now seems that I am being taken for a mug and they have no interest in customer support. I must say I am very disappointed. They were very quick to ask for my payment which they received within minutes of the installation being completed, but the are not quite so quick when it comes to sorting out customer's problems. I am very reluctant to post poor reviews as I was always told "if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all!" In this instance I have no choice. I am hoping that EEC redeem themselves soon and sort my problem out, but I'm not holding my breath!
Fitting items I cannot use. Extra cost on top. No one getting back to me to solve complaint after sending two emails. Taking further action.
Good Sales Service With Clear Information With Strict Controls To Prevent A Hard Sell But Very Poor Knowledge About Battery Installation And Very Poor After-Sales Service. The information provided about the solar panels was excellent and a good survey was carried out to check the suitability. The installation looks to be good quality and they coped well working with our builder who was doing our drive at the time. Safety, as reported by our retired Nuclear Electric Safety Manager neighbour, was not up to the current standards but the I do think these are rather excessive. Battery installation was not as specified in the battery installation manual, and the parameters for operation do not appear sensible, according to the battery's manual. So far it has taken 18 months for them to investigate. Initially EEC insisted that the battery manufacturer documented incorrect installation options in their manual, then suggesting maybe they may be right to some extent, then suggesting another option, not in the manual, and requesting photos of how they actually installed the batteries. This was after not providing any updates, apparently loosing the cases. I highlighted "time of the essence" which legally requires them to solve the problem without delay but this failed to produce any action. After requesting to talk to the support agent's supervisor last week there has been some action, initially the supervisor continued to assert that the batteries were installed correctly and the manufacturer had confirmed this. Subsequently they rang back to say the batteries had not been installed correctly and the Operation Director (Ewen) would call me to arrange action to address this including re-validation of the warrantee. He also agreed to address the issue of the parameters for operation although his view was that the inverter has default settings and that is all they use. He explained it with the example of a car: just because it is capable of 100 mph does not mean you always need to drive it at 100 mph. The implication is that there is nothing wrong with the garage using a speed limiter, with a PIN, to prevent it doing more than 50 mph as this will help reduce warrantee claims. I will update this if they do indeed carry out any action to rectify the issues highlighted and am hopeful we have turned a corner. They also failed, when requested by email numerous times, to provide a link so I could update my original glowing review :( This review only comes to you as I have twice contacted * Reviews and provided proof I had bought the installation.
I don't consider the job finished until the scaffolding has been removed, and things are all in order. having read the manual left to me I see I need a certificate of warranty for the solar panels and the batteries I have neither. I need some security to know I am paying the correct people . over the phone could be anyone asking for the bill. Also they asked for more than I had I agreed when I signed the permission form. That's not right to be told one price and then asked for more.. Alson I was told that there would be a metre installed in the kitchen so that I could easily see the generation, this is now by smart phone. Yes I have one but don't really use it except for keeping in touch with one of my sons, Your men installed the app for me but if anything happens to delete the app I have noidea what to do to reinstall the app. Now having checked the loft I see 3 nails that have completely missed the roof timber, could this result in instable panels. I also didn't expect to loose my TV signal for the duration of the scaffolding. Information has been minimal and emails have not been answered. There has been a lot of waiting in for work men to arrive . Phone calls saying when the men are comeing should be standard .I am usually a very prompt payer of my bills and I will pay the amount I agreed to as soon as the job is finished with all aspect taken care of. Warranty certificates are a must or the warranty to useless. There are too many short comeings to give a higher rating although the panel fitters and the electician worked well and were helpful, it was them who told me why my TV had no signal, and they also made sure my gates were locked correctly.
We opted for solar panels via a local authority auction - EEC Home Improvements were the chosen supplier. From the very beginning we were kept fully informed and offered the opportunity to attend an 'Information Session' which explained all aspects of the proposed solar installation, showcased the materials to be used and allowed a full Q&A session. Once we had decided to go ahead we received regular email updates, a comprehensive survey and a fully costed proposal, with the promise we could decide not to proceed at any time and have our deposit returned. The scaffolding was installed a couple of days before and the installation team were superb, going over the survey with us and allowing us to tweak our layout. The internal electrics were very neat & tidy, fully labelled up and a 'Quick Start/Stop' guide was provided. The system was soon up and running and producing electricity. We opted for the SolarEdge system which displays, on an app, how much electricity is being generated. This was the only problem we encountered - the inverter in the loft wouldn't connect to our wi-fi hub. I went online to research the issue and found that installing a 'hub extender' in the loft sorted the issue straight away! Overall we're very impressed with the whole experience from start to finish and would recommend EEC Home Improvements.
The sals team and installers are wonderful, but when things go wrong it is a different story. EEC Solar persuaded me to buy a very expensive Tesla battery to store electricity for my own use when the sun goes down. They also told me that they would be monitoring my site periodically to see if everything is OK. I have just discovered that the monitoring went offline in November 2017. I called Solaredge as EEC Solar wouldn't return my calls and they told me that I have an error code that means the battery isn't working. Also, although EEC Solar emailed me instructions how to get my wifi connection with the solar panels working again, this would mean I would have to take off the front of the inverter to get to the installer menu and this is highly dangerous and they do not want home owners to do this. I have left several messages with EEC Solar for the Director or customer services to get back to me - but they won't! The customer services lady leaves at 3pm and seems to be inundated with problems to sort out!
EEC - Are very eager to take your order and fit the Solar Panels to your roof-Top buts that about follow up on their work, especially when it comes to your electricity provider(s) then unfortunately you’re let on your own devices. The electricity supply companies don’t aced to your Solar Power (Microgeneration) - they put many obstacle(s) in your path to registration ... The Completion ought to be the responsibility of EEC... but they try and ‘brush’ off.... so please make sure that Instilation of Solar Panels by EEC or any other company(s).... GET IN WRITING THAT THEY WILL REGISTER THE MICROGENERATION .... and give a written and completed Paperwork l.... don’t Pay them fully (Keep the portion) of Payment -until this is
Very poor communication ad product knowledge throughout the whole process of our solar panel installation.
This was a very disappointing experience. Both of our agreed times & dates for scaffolders were not met; no warning was given: we waited in all day & received telephone reassurance workers would still arrive. Nobody did, so we wasted a whole day in vain. Weather had been perfect. We then had to wait another ten days for a second appointment. Workers didn't arrive at the agreed time, and another series of phone calls brought the belated arrival of the installers mid-afternoon. By this time it was dark, the system couldn't be tested, and they rushed away without explaining how to use the system, esp. the monitoring dongle. Scaffolders didn't keep to their appointment time, and rushed off before we noticed the damage to our roof (roof tile broken leaving a hole to the elements), and shattered paving slabs, plus an incomplete & 'bodged' cable installation on our outside wall. Many phone calls & e-mails & missed appointments were required until a poor repair of our damaged brick, a new tile (which we had to supply!) replaced on roof, while it was over two months until our paving slab was replaced. We still await remedial work on our monitoring dongle, despite endless e-mails & phone calls & unfulfilled promises...
EEC Solar fitted my solar panels in april the team arrived a day earlier than orignaly booked and rushed the job and in doing so made a very bad job.1: roof tiles damaged and not sitting correctly as tiles not cut and sealed with a sealant gun.(did not even have the courtesy of reporting it)"2:finished the job in the dark so could not see if the inverter was working.:3: discovred the next day the inverter was not working.4:it took eec 10 days before they sent another team out with a new inverter and remove all the solar panels replace the inverter .and replace the tiles and leave the system working .what an experience and all the stress to go with it
Dear Mr. Patel,   Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.   On behalf of EEC I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused at the time of installation.  I have investigated the matter personally to ensure your issue was dealt with in the best possible manner, and I understand at the time you were compensated to your satisfaction in a timely manner, which I am happy to see.    I also understand it is almost 6 months since your system was installed and 5 months since this matter was resolved.  We trust you are receiving your fit payments and enjoying lower energy bills.   If you have any further referrals for EEC we are still running our Recommend & Refer scheme which earns you £200 off the cost of your own system each time any of your referrals go on to make a purchase from us.  We would be more than happy to provide a free quote to any referrals you may have.   Wishing you and your family a Happy New Year and all the best for 2015.   Kind Regards The EEC Review Team
I am very pleased that I chose EEC to supply my solar PV system. All the staff were friendly from the salesman through to commissioning. After a little discussion to understand my requirements, they designed a system using high quality components and installed the system in under a week. Wow! Why only 4 stars? Well they made too many unnecessary errors. The first installation team didn't have all the parts or the time to install and set up the system correctly. A week later a second team finished the job. The scaffolding was up for two weeks, which would not normally be a problem except that it covered our satellite dish and screwed up our Sky TV box. There were too many occasions when EEC said they would ring back and then didn't. These problems may appear to be trivial now, but when you spend this much money, then it is easy to lose confidence. Overall. if you wish to have a solar PV system installed, then I highly recommend EEC. Just be prepared for one or two rocky patches along your journey.
Excellent service on time - explained and asked us certain questions about position of certain items - cleaned up pleasant workers.
EEC Home Improvements is rated 4.62 based on 486 reviews