Eckman Reviews

1.62 Rating 468 Reviews
13% of reviewers recommend Eckman

Write Your review

Tell us how Eckman made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels
"I telephoned their customer services to ask what I was informed was a 'technical' question. I was advised to send a e-mail to their 'technical' department. I did as requested, in fact I have sent 3 e-mails since 9th May, none of which have been replied to. There inaction leads me to consider that their customer service is completely non-existent as the intimation is that they do not 'give a monkeys'."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Delivered my item to the wrong address and rude customer service agent"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I have a multi hedge and chain saw extension unit. Connection broken.. Phoned and e=mailed several times and inspite of their stated promise to get back to you in 24 hours they do not do so. Still waiting"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"We bought a wheeled brush cutter. It arrived OK. Was a bit of a trial to put together but managed in the end. Used it once and when it was going it did work well but engine stopped about 15 times in the hour I had it running. Then cord came detached so unable to start. Phoned customer service and told that technical support would ring back, they didn't. Rung again same answer but they did get back to me and arranged collection by courier from us .it did get collected to be repaired but 3 weeks on just Rung again and told that they can't trace it !! Asked for a refund but fobbed off -they will try and find it. Not expecting a fast reply after reading other reviews."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I ordered a petrol cutter from this company and received it late. When I put it together and powered it up as soon as I pressed the throttle the whole cable snapped , It took three weeks alone to arrange someone to collect the item on the 05/03/17 they received the item on the 08/03/17 and till this day 17/04/17 I am still waiting on a refund the worst company I have ever dealt with even giving them one star is a lot."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I ordered the metal garden arch with seat last August. My late husband and I constructed it and felt reasonably happy with the item, which we purchased at a sale price rather than the full retail price of £199 as it now stands. It was sold to us as a new item though. I contacted Eckman a couple of weeks ago to advise them that the framework, black coated metalwork was severely corroded and that I was not happy, especially as it is an outdoor item that should have been suitably treated to withstand being outdoors. Admittedly Eckman have offered me a replacement but I am not happy to accept this as I cannot see why the same thing won't happen to that replacement. I requested a refund which they are now refusing to make, and are being extremely unhelpful and unsympathetic. The law is quite complex but I stand by my view that I should be entitled to a refund especially as I feel sure the replacement bench would be similarly affected in time. They stand by saying faulty goods should be returned within 30 days - the damage was not apparent within that timescale and only became apparent on close inspection quite recently, but this does not change the fact that it should not have happened."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Unfortunately I did not see these reviews before ordering, like so many disgruntled customers. I ordered a wheeled brush cutter on 28th March. It arrived the next day. So far so good. It needed a fair amount of construction but nothing too difficult and it did start more or less ok. Used it twice and it seemed fine. Took it out today to do some more and about fourth pull the starter rope just pulled out and stuck. On inspection there is a central shaft which has a screw through it that holds the whole spring and pulley mechanism together which had snapped off at it's base. So far the phone calls have been ok and as asked, I have sent five photos of the parts. So now I wait to see what their response will be. I do not hold out much hope at all I am afraid and think I will have to go to the card company. I always use a credit card for large sum purchases for the security they ate supposed to give. Watch this space."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I bought a wall mounted Gazebo from Eckman in March 2017. It was just what I was looking for and I paid the money and extra delivery charge. I got my despatch notice which promised delivery in 3 to 5 days. Excellent so far. However, 5 days passed and no delivery so I called Eckman to be told that 'oh no it hasn't been despatched, that was a mistake, sorry'. Fine I said can you let me know when it will be despatched and by the way I want the extra I paid for delivery returned to me as promises of 5 days have been broken. 'Yes' she said 'I'll get the warehouse to email you an update today. The next day I emailed to ask where my update from the warehouse was.......no response for 3 days. I emailed again after the 3rd day to ask whether I was going to be ignored any further and was anyone going to give me an update. The next day I was told that the item was unavailable and a refund had been processed 2 days before. No apology, no explanation, no nothing. This is probably the worst customer experience I have ever had. The lack of communication is appalling in it's own right but then to be told after 10 days that the item was unavailable is beyond my comprehension...I could have been told that the day after if it was a genuine error. Do not buy from Eckman would be my advice. They don't seem to have the processes or desire to support their business ambitions and I would avoid them at all costs....You have been warned."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Some years ago I ordered a multi tool set. It was difficult to start so I hardly used it in the first year. After that it was nothing but trouble until after buying a new carburettor it seemed to be working OK but after just two uses the crank shaft broke so it is now useless. Considering I have hardly used it I asked Eckman to replace it. Since then I have sent many letters to customer services and named directors. They have not even had the courtesy to reply. I also bought a sonic pest repellant, guess what? rats actually made a nest two meters from it. My letters about this have also been ignored. I am now going to our local trading standards officer to complain about this company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Dont buy from them. waited 5 months for the extended hedge trimmer and chainsaw. when it finally arrived in March 2017 the box was damanged and it turns out that only the chainsaw had an extendable shaft. the pole for the hedge trimmer wasnt, so useless for what i wanted it for. The quality of the product looked OK, but not like the quality i see from my Bosh hedge trimmer. Tried to return it and had to pay £10 to get it collected. As with the sales team, which they say is a UK based team that sells for multiple companies and therefore dont know the products, the client service team sound even less knowlegable. Go for a similar priced Bosch AMW 10 HS Multi-Tool with Pole Hedgecutter Attachment I suggest avoid Eckmann"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Bought the Eckman elite two in one hedge & chainsaw through Amazon UK on 21st March 2017 delivered on 23rd March 17 . All good , package not damaged , the product went together ok , you get the instruction manual and a bottle of oil for the chainsaw and the shoulder strap, you get a solid plastic cover for the chainsaw blade and a plastic bag to cover the clipper blades it does feel heavy when all attached when on full reach but the reach is a good length . Going to try it out over the weekend as we are predicted good weather here in the south . But so far all good , fast delivery good packaging ,"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I ordered some candle bulbs from this company. When they were delivered they did not have so much as a "fragile" label on, no special packaging, just boxes in a plastic bag. When I tried to open the bulbs it was obvious from the sound that some were broken. I got in touch with Eckman and the person I spoke to actually asked me to open the boxes, inspect the bulbs, empty out the broken glass, take a photograph and send them a scan to "prove" the damage. Unbelievable, no? I rang up and told them I clearly valued my hands more than they thought, at which point they said they would refund my credit card. But first I needed to sign a disclaimer form which they sent to me. I filled it in and signed it and sent it by post. Nothing. When I rang up they claimed to have never received the disclaimer. Fortunately I had taken a photocopy so I asked my daughter to scan it and it was sent again by email. I specifically asked that they acknowledge receipt of the second attempt to get the disclaimer back to them. Nothing. Eventually after a long interval the money was credited to my account. However, Eckman seem to not do anything they do not actually have to do and the words "customer service" and Eckman definitely should not be in the same sentence. I would never, never use them again. And I advise you to do the same."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I ORDERD A CORDLESS PRUNER SUNDAY 12TH FEB 2017 I PAID STRAIGHT AWAY.I WAITED A WEEK FOR IT BUT NOTHING CAME SO I CONTACTED ECKMAN BY PHONE,ONLY TO BE TOLD THEY HAVE NOT GOT ANY STOCK AND WONT BE GETTING ANY,THEY SAID THEY WOULD TRY AND PUT THE MONEY BACK INTO MY ACCOUNT,,,NO EMAIL ,,NO SORRY,,WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPEND IF I DID NOT PHONE THEM UP,WOULD I STILL BE WAITING NEXT YEAR,WHAT A RUBBISH COMPANY,LAST TIME I BUY ANY OF THIER TOOLS,AND I WILL TELL ALL MY FREINDS"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I wish I'd found this feedback and read these comments before ordering a hedge cutter + chainsaw attachment on extending pole in August 2016. I was informed originally that delivery would be in October 2016. However, when goods did not arrive, I was told there was a problem with stock and delivery would be end of November. Then it moved to January 2017 and having contacted them to ask for delivery dates, I was told delivery had changed to end of March. I then cancelled my order and asked for a refund. Lets hope I get it otherwise its a court case. I can only agree with other comments here, DON'T USE THIS COMPANY!!! Appalling service."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Don't deal with this company ! They sell stuff they do not have. - Take for money and keep you waiting for months with no clear indication when they will despatch."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Returned an item as instructed by the company a hand held 300w leaf vac/blower. It worked for two hours only and then blocked. We couldn't take it apart to clear the blockage so spoke to customer services and it was returned in November. As of today January 12th had no money back still being fobbed off. Our last leaf blower bought from B&Q lasted 10years and the garden was twice the size. Very very annoyed now."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"It was necessary for me to return a product not faulty but not exactly what I had ordered. (Elite Electric 4 in 1 multi-tool) Paperwork was correct I suspect the warehouse made a minor mistake in selection. Although I agree with some of the critical reviews posted and it did take their service department some little while to react to my requests for resolution of the mistake. I can finally state my confidence has been restored in this company. A refund was forthcoming for which I truly thank whoever was responsible. It may have taken some time to resolve but I can now encourage customers to bee (i am a silly beekeeper ) patient . Mike in York."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"You do not need to phone Eckman on their Business rate 0844 number (which could cost you up to 18p per minute from a landline and up to 51p per minute from a mobile). Call them on their cheaper geographic number instead, which is 01795 500091. Also, check out the Consumer Rights Act 2015 so you know your rights when dealing with this company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Bought two security lights in March last year, one of them stopped working correctly. Surely it should last longer.I phoned your sales dept and was told it had a one year guarantee."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I purchased a 2 in 1 hedge trimmer which broke within 6 weeks. Eckman replaced it and the same thing happened again. I returned the item and requested a refund. It is now over 6 weeks and despite numerous phone calls the refund has not been forthcoming. Just received an email to say that they are sending a replacement! I want a REFUND not a replacement. Dreadful customer service!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Eckman is rated 1.62 based on 468 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support