Shire Doors Ltd Reviews

4.68 Rating 210 Reviews
93% of reviewers recommend Shire Doors Ltd

About Shire Doors Ltd: Shire Doors Ltd supply and install Premium Entrance Doors, Aluminium Roof Systems, Aluminium Bifold Doors and Aluminium Sliding Doors all produced By Quality Manufacturers, installed by our fully employed in house fitting teams and include extensive industry leading guarantees.

Visit Website

Phone:
01274 888180

Email:
info@shiredoors.com

Location:
3-5 Wharf Street

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Shire Doors Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver
delivery methods
96%
on-time delivery
Customer Service
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
communication channels
5
Allon D
"Fitters turned up on time, very polite, informative and seemed very efficient. Job completed in 2 hours, no complaints."
5
Ensor G
"Origin bifolds and korniche roof lights all v good quality and look great. Fitters very competent and pleasant, leaving site clean and tidy. Would recommend without reservation"
Hannula T
"From start to finish, the process was remarkable. The product is outstanding and the communication along the way to get it installed is stellar. Everyone was friendly and helpful -- from reception, booking, to installers. We had 2 or 3 minor hiccups along the way, as is expected on any construction project, but nothing was a problem for the team and everything ended up going to plan. Really happy with the knowledgeable install team who really focussed on ensuring our after work on the floor and thresholds was going to end up as we desired. And the top tips from them to avoid problems during the rest of our construction project were super helpful. We are thrilled with our new bifold doors and happy to say Shire Doors have made the entire experience stress free. We'll be getting our doors for Phase 2 of our project from them."
"Fitters turned up on time, very polite, informative and seemed very efficient. Job completed in 2 hours, no complaints."
Visit Website
"Initially things looked good, however while doing some internal renovation work we discovered that the windows fitted by Shire Doors hadn’t been insulated and sealed at all. In fact we could see daylight around the edges. The door fitted by Shire Doors was not securely fixed and the frame moved if pushed against. A bow window fitted by Shire Doors has not been fitted correctly. They had to return to put some insulation in and add a support underneath. Also, the lead work on the roof of the bow window has not been sealed against the existing building fabric and leaks. Shire Doors have refused to rectify this, leaving me to foot the bill for this repair...!"
"Origin bifolds and korniche roof lights all v good quality and look great. Fitters very competent and pleasant, leaving site clean and tidy. Would recommend without reservation"
"We ordered 2 doors, 1 a composite and the other a UPVC. From start to finish we were provided with friendly and professional service, the fitters were brilliant, they left everything spotless, and the price we paid was very competitive. A great local company, thank you Simon and team. Phil. K. Hannam."
"Very reliable and very professional! Trustworthy! Great door ! Simply loving the Aluminium front door ! Well done to the team!"
"We have just had 10 windows and a new door fitted, work was completed to a very high standard in two days The two fitters were excellent,left inside and out spotlesss, the windows look great as does the door even fit a new catflap i would not hesitate to reccomend Shire doors 1st class service from start to finish and all at a very reasonable price."
"Very pleased with my new doors complete with cat flap. The fitters were very efficient and coped well with everything an old house comes up with. The only problem I think was the length of screws that came with the cat flap but in true fitter style they had some in their box and sorted the problem. I'm left with a lovely clean looking finish and feel the benefit of my new doors already."
"Very pleased with our new composite door! Happy with whole process from initial conversations, booking the installation, and the installation itself."
"Had upvc windows and a composite door installed. Superb quality materials fitted by a highly professional and very friendly team."
"Very professional first class job! Highly recommended."
"A very slick joined up operation from start to finish. Sales process very reassuring and the bi-fold doors are an excellent product. Every person involved throughout the process was professional and a pleasure to deal with. The men who fitted the doors worked hard and produced an excellent finish. They were very friendly and cheerful and returned promptly to complete one small snag - a replacement handle for a set supplied by Origin that was the wrong hand. The office staff were very pleasant and efficient and were keen to ensure the job was satisfactorily completed before asking for the final payment. Overall, a great company to deal with."
"Great door. Great service from the fitting team good attention to detail very tidy love my purchase would recommend shire doors to every one thanks very much."
"From start to finish, the process was remarkable. The product is outstanding and the communication along the way to get it installed is stellar. Everyone was friendly and helpful -- from reception, booking, to installers. We had 2 or 3 minor hiccups along the way, as is expected on any construction project, but nothing was a problem for the team and everything ended up going to plan. Really happy with the knowledgeable install team who really focussed on ensuring our after work on the floor and thresholds was going to end up as we desired. And the top tips from them to avoid problems during the rest of our construction project were super helpful. We are thrilled with our new bifold doors and happy to say Shire Doors have made the entire experience stress free. We'll be getting our doors for Phase 2 of our project from them."
"Would highly recommend shire doors very helpful polite staff amazing fitters and all round great doors!"
"We paid almost £4k for bi-fold doors, the fitters scratched both the frame and the glass we informed them immediately their customer service response is terrible they now want to charge us to put their damage right would never recommend this company should have checked their reviews as they are not good be warned stay away from this company use some one reputable who cares about their customers"
Dear Mr Taylor - We are sorry to read your review.

I have investigated your claims and found the following;

We installed your doors and as per our installation process, you thoroughly checked them and signed the satisfaction form to confirm you were happy, you then paid your balance.

At the time of installation you still had an active building site and your doors which you signed for as perfect could have been scratched by any of your builders after we left.

That said we did agree to return and inspect your doors and we also agreed to replace the scratched glass. We agreed we would credit you subject to confirmation after inspection by quality control that it was a internal scratch.

You mentioned to our Operations Manager that you would be happy to live with the scratch if we gave you a discount, we refused to do this and hey presto you then write your negative review. Thank you.

I feel your review is one sided and untrue.
"Speedy turn around once door was chosen helpful advice given, survey and fitters friendly and informative. Date of fitting changed twice but that was okay for us. The door looks great very pleased thank you."
Thank you for your great review - We look forward to helping you again in the future.
"We were looking for large 2-panel sliding doors and a large fixed pane for a new extension, and enquired with Shire Doors. They were very good in the pre-sales period, after we'd made an enquiry but before we;d placed an order. They called every couple of weeks to see if we'd chosen a supplier yet, and to offer help & advice. They were also really good at explaining why their product was better than other similar ones in the local area. And, they opened a showroom for us to visit on a Sunday which was excellent; the person we saw in there was really helpful, non-pressuring and informative. We chose to go with Shire Doors because, whilst their price for a quality product was comparable to other competitors, their customer service and attentiveness had been excellent to that point, where their competitors had left us to it. Shire Doors also made a big deal of their 5-star customer feedback which they said "we work very hard to maintain". A compelling point, we thought... That changed after we'd made an order though (and at around £5,000 it wasn't a small amount). They were slow to respond to my queries, on one occasion taking 11 days to get one new design drawing done, despite me chasing every few days - this delay nearly threw our whole building schedule off-track. I also ended up dealing with 3 different people - the original salesperson, a guy who was 'managing my order end-to-end' (we had 2 conversations before he dropped out of the picture totally), and a lady in the office - none of whom seemed to really 'own' my queries or my order, or to know fully what the others had said. When we'd finalised the details of our order, the delivery date given was later than originally quoted and would have been after our other building work had finished. To be fair, they did bring that back in by a week to get it closer to the end of our build. I was also chased for payment quite robustly, especially for the final payment during the week of install; when I said I would only pay that amount once install had started, there was quite a bit of pressure to pay up or not have the job done at all - which was a poor experience given the other issues we'd had before that. The install was ok, though the guys built the doors the wrong way round at first so had to dismantle it and start again - which delayed it a bit. And there were some missing parts, which Shire Doors sorted within a week - after which I paid the final settlement amount. Also, despite them taking measurements on-site and lots of emails to confirm what we were after, Shire Doors managed to build the fixed pane at a different thickness than ordered, and than the sliding doors (24mm rather than 28mm). They fixed that not by replacing the whole pane as I asked, but by installing a wider gasket - they said the 24mm worked just as well as 28mm, and it wasn't economical to remake the whole window. They didn't offer any reduction in the final bill for that... One last thing - once the bill was paid I've had no more follow up from them at all to check if all is still ok, or to ask about how we're finding them. The install was on 17th December and we didn't get the guarantee until 30th January. So in summary, a great customer experience before we bought; a confused, lacklustre and frustrating experience once we'd ordered; and a total lack of follow up once the job was done. The windows are great and look brilliant in our space, but I simply couldn't recommend Shire Doors to anyone based on our experience. A real shame, as it was their 5-star rating of which they were very proud that swayed us to them in the first place. We saw very little evidence of that once the money was handed over."
Dear Andrew, a 3 star review was a surprise as we felt we had gone above and beyond to keep you happy. Apologies you too did not feel we did, I have addressed your review below

We opened on a Sunday for you because you could not do any other day - a day normally strictly reserved for our families to ensure we could serve you.

We came to survey 3 times - (we normally charge £150/survey) the first 2 times you had not built the walls even though you advised you were ready for a measure, in the interests of good relations and service we did not charge you as we could have.

We do not offer a free CAD service - you did not want to pay for CAD drawings - It was a simple sliding door, usually clients only need section drawings which we provided promptly - rarely would such an installation require CAD drawings but in the end we paid for and supplied some at no cost to you to keep you happy.

It is a shame you could not recommend us - We work mainly on referrals and recommendations - Often we deal with people who have had terrible experiences with others in the construction industry and we always recommend they talk directly to the parties before making rash decisions, have disputes and write poor reviews which may effect others ability to service their clients in the future.

We hope you are happy with the doors it is easy for someone to write negative reviews as we all know we want to end and concentrate on the positive - I am sure your doors will provide a lifetime of service and just in case you have an issue you can call us and our in house installation team will be on hand to come and help you.
"my husband and I are more than satisfied with service both with the workmen who both fitted and measured the window. Also your office staff have been extremely helpful to us whenever we have needed help or advice. Thankyou."
Thank you for your great review helping others make good decisions. We really appreciate it.
"A pleasure to deal with from when we went into the showroom through to our installation date - 2 sets of bi-folds installed with minimum disruption by a great team .... all in all Shire Doors did exactly as promised on the day they said they would"
Thank you - I will pass on to our fitting teams.
Shire Doors Ltd is rated 4.68 based on 210 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support