About Shire Doors Ltd:
Shire Doors Ltd supply and install Premium Entrance Doors, Aluminium Roof Systems, Aluminium Bifold Doors and Aluminium Sliding Doors all produced By Quality Manufacturers, installed by our fully employed in house fitting teams and include extensive industry leading guarantees.
"From start to finish, the process was remarkable. The product is outstanding and the communication along the way to get it installed is stellar. Everyone was friendly and helpful -- from reception, booking, to installers. We had 2 or 3 minor hiccups along the way, as is expected on any construction project, but nothing was a problem for the team and everything ended up going to plan.
Really happy with the knowledgeable install team who really focussed on ensuring our after work on the floor and thresholds was going to end up as we desired. And the top tips from them to avoid problems during the rest of our construction project were super helpful.
We are thrilled with our new bifold doors and happy to say Shire Doors have made the entire experience stress free. We'll be getting our doors for Phase 2 of our project from them."
"We paid almost £4k for bi-fold doors, the fitters scratched both the frame and the glass
we informed them immediately
their customer service response is terrible
they now want to charge us to put their damage right
would never recommend this company
should have checked their reviews as they are not good
be warned stay away from this company use some one reputable who cares about their customers"
Dear Mr Taylor - We are sorry to read your review.
I have investigated your claims and found the following;
We installed your doors and as per our installation process, you thoroughly checked them and signed the satisfaction form to confirm you were happy, you then paid your balance.
At the time of installation you still had an active building site and your doors which you signed for as perfect could have been scratched by any of your builders after we left.
That said we did agree to return and inspect your doors and we also agreed to replace the scratched glass. We agreed we would credit you subject to confirmation after inspection by quality control that it was a internal scratch.
You mentioned to our Operations Manager that you would be happy to live with the scratch if we gave you a discount, we refused to do this and hey presto you then write your negative review. Thank you.
"Speedy turn around once door was chosen helpful advice given, survey and fitters friendly and informative. Date of fitting changed twice but that was okay for us. The door looks great very pleased thank you."
"We were looking for large 2-panel sliding doors and a large fixed pane for a new extension, and enquired with Shire Doors. They were very good in the pre-sales period, after we'd made an enquiry but before we;d placed an order. They called every couple of weeks to see if we'd chosen a supplier yet, and to offer help & advice. They were also really good at explaining why their product was better than other similar ones in the local area. And, they opened a showroom for us to visit on a Sunday which was excellent; the person we saw in there was really helpful, non-pressuring and informative. We chose to go with Shire Doors because, whilst their price for a quality product was comparable to other competitors, their customer service and attentiveness had been excellent to that point, where their competitors had left us to it. Shire Doors also made a big deal of their 5-star customer feedback which they said "we work very hard to maintain". A compelling point, we thought...
That changed after we'd made an order though (and at around £5,000 it wasn't a small amount). They were slow to respond to my queries, on one occasion taking 11 days to get one new design drawing done, despite me chasing every few days - this delay nearly threw our whole building schedule off-track. I also ended up dealing with 3 different people - the original salesperson, a guy who was 'managing my order end-to-end' (we had 2 conversations before he dropped out of the picture totally), and a lady in the office - none of whom seemed to really 'own' my queries or my order, or to know fully what the others had said.
When we'd finalised the details of our order, the delivery date given was later than originally quoted and would have been after our other building work had finished. To be fair, they did bring that back in by a week to get it closer to the end of our build.
I was also chased for payment quite robustly, especially for the final payment during the week of install; when I said I would only pay that amount once install had started, there was quite a bit of pressure to pay up or not have the job done at all - which was a poor experience given the other issues we'd had before that.
The install was ok, though the guys built the doors the wrong way round at first so had to dismantle it and start again - which delayed it a bit. And there were some missing parts, which Shire Doors sorted within a week - after which I paid the final settlement amount.
Also, despite them taking measurements on-site and lots of emails to confirm what we were after, Shire Doors managed to build the fixed pane at a different thickness than ordered, and than the sliding doors (24mm rather than 28mm). They fixed that not by replacing the whole pane as I asked, but by installing a wider gasket - they said the 24mm worked just as well as 28mm, and it wasn't economical to remake the whole window. They didn't offer any reduction in the final bill for that...
One last thing - once the bill was paid I've had no more follow up from them at all to check if all is still ok, or to ask about how we're finding them. The install was on 17th December and we didn't get the guarantee until 30th January.
So in summary, a great customer experience before we bought; a confused, lacklustre and frustrating experience once we'd ordered; and a total lack of follow up once the job was done. The windows are great and look brilliant in our space, but I simply couldn't recommend Shire Doors to anyone based on our experience. A real shame, as it was their 5-star rating of which they were very proud that swayed us to them in the first place. We saw very little evidence of that once the money was handed over."
Dear Andrew, a 3 star review was a surprise as we felt we had gone above and beyond to keep you happy. Apologies you too did not feel we did, I have addressed your review below
We opened on a Sunday for you because you could not do any other day - a day normally strictly reserved for our families to ensure we could serve you.
We came to survey 3 times - (we normally charge £150/survey) the first 2 times you had not built the walls even though you advised you were ready for a measure, in the interests of good relations and service we did not charge you as we could have.
We do not offer a free CAD service - you did not want to pay for CAD drawings - It was a simple sliding door, usually clients only need section drawings which we provided promptly - rarely would such an installation require CAD drawings but in the end we paid for and supplied some at no cost to you to keep you happy.
It is a shame you could not recommend us - We work mainly on referrals and recommendations - Often we deal with people who have had terrible experiences with others in the construction industry and we always recommend they talk directly to the parties before making rash decisions, have disputes and write poor reviews which may effect others ability to service their clients in the future.
We hope you are happy with the doors it is easy for someone to write negative reviews as we all know we want to end and concentrate on the positive - I am sure your doors will provide a lifetime of service and just in case you have an issue you can call us and our in house installation team will be on hand to come and help you.
"my husband and I are more than satisfied with service both with the workmen who both fitted and measured the window. Also your office staff have been extremely helpful to us whenever we have needed help or advice. Thankyou."
"A pleasure to deal with from when we went into the showroom through to our installation date - 2 sets of bi-folds installed with minimum disruption by a great team .... all in all Shire Doors did exactly as promised on the day they said they would"
"Just had some lovely patio doors installed. The service throughout was excellent and the installation professionally and expertly completed.
Highly recommend these doors and the Company and its employees
Very helpful throughout"
"I am more than happy to take part in your review. However and for the sake of clarity my I simply mention that the last time I was addressed as Hannah M., was when I attended junior school. Having advanced somewhat in years my prefence would to be addressed as, M. W. Hannah.
Moving onto the review I cannot speak to highly of Tony and Nick's skill, expertise and dedication. Whilst not forgetting that they both continued the installation in absolutely atrocious weather conditions, including gusts of potentially dangerous high winds and virtually continuous driving rain.
Continuing, the Origin Windows, French and Bi-Fold doors are unquestionably superbly engineered and even better than I was led to believe. Added to which opening and closing the Windows, French and Bi-Fold Doors are a delight, easy are wonderfully smooth.
With reference to the Atlas Lantern Light one can only unashamedly say that both the design, construction and functionality have indeed been well thought out and executed. Thus providing a very pleasing internal and external appearence together with exciting experiences for star gazers.
In conclusion, I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Shire Doors. Moreover my experience has been that the few questions or queries raised were answered both quickly and accurately.
Please therefore accept my most gratefull thanks to all at Shire Doors who have been involved, more especially Russel, Tony and Nick.
Many and grateful thanks.
We are trying to change the way people buy windows and doors - we work with high end factories with audited production lines to ensure the product is great every time - combined with our trained and employed fitting teams we feel we can offer the best overall service around - Thank you for the review we really appreciate it.
"Our new front door is of the highest quality. We had a spitfire door installed, which looks amazing, the workmen were friendly, thorough and did an excellent job on the day. Couldn’t recommend enough!"
"Excellent Quality doors and lanterns installed in our new extension. Very compteteive prices for the best quality doors we saw and we went to the big and small vendors. Doors really were the cherry on the cake in terms of the final finish and I’m glad we went for quality. Some sourcing issues meant there were minor delays to the lantern and doors install but they came on specified date and installed in a day. Great finish on doors and the lanterns look awesome. A few teething issues with the lock and alingment which were very quickly resolved (day following reporting). Lock works very smoothly now and we are really pleased with the doors and lanterns and can’t wait for the summer to return!"
"This is the first time I have used Shire doors and I have to say the service has been outstanding.
They are not “high pressure sales people” but they have been very helpful in making sure we ordered exactly what we were looking for.
I shopped around for quotations before placing my order and their pricing was second to none.
They fitted the three sets of doors last week and they all fit and work perfectly.
The fitting team were pleasant and courteous and most importantly for my wife “they cleaned up after then selves” which is the first time this has happened without us having to ask on our new build."
Thanks for your review - We are happy to hear we exceeded expectations - We hope you finish your build soon and cannot wait to see the finished product - one of the nicest builds we have ever had the pleasure to work on.
"Poor fitting and shocking after service. Owner threading and a bully, filmed us on our property, why? how dare we expect a product fit for purpose? Miss allined, drafts, dint in sill, throw back to the bad old days of traders. A company truely fit for Dom, ‘cowboy traders’ origin is a good product just go else where. I warn you not to let these people into your home. Note any negative reviews he will aim to discredit you and others to save face, a tactic he used with other negative reviews. How low can you go!!!!!!!!!"
"Due to mobility difficulties a low threshold was clearly requested at sales/requirement definition stage. However, this requirement was not captured and was subsequently missed resulting in bi-fold doors being fitted that were not as originally requested. This was disappointing enough but a heated discussion with the MD made matters far worse with his unprofessional attitude towards a customer. I am therefore marking the installation as 3. That being said, the Origin bi-fold doors are very good quality and the installation team were excellent."
"Shire Doors were professional and courteous at all times, and have very experienced fitters who did the job very well. Service was incredible and the pricing was transparent. We felt looked after at all times and would highly recommend Shire Doors to everyone. Thank you all so much!"
When a review is marked
it means Reviews.io has the additional trust signal necessary to ensure that the review is genuine. Customers reading the reviews can then use this information to help them decide which reviews are more relevant and steer them in their purchasing decisions.
If a review does not have the
label next to it, we do not have the additional information from the customer/company to verify that the review was written from the privileged user position.
Even though some reviews do not carry the
badge, it does not mean that the reviewer has no experience with the company - it just means that we could not confirm a specific purchase.
badge offers one more way to help gauge the quality and relevance of a company review.
How can I make my review "Verified"?
If we are unable to automatically verify you as a
you can email supporting documents to
so we can investigate and mark your review as
We prefer an invoice, delivery note or receipt.
When a review is marked
it means Reviews.io has NOT had the trust signals necessary to ensure that the review is genuine. Customers reading the reviews can then use this information to help them decide which reviews are more relevant and steer them in their purchasing decisions.
How can I make my review "Verified"?
If we are unable to automatically verify you as a
you can enter your email address below and we'll be in touch to verify your review.