Dr Fertility Reviews

4.71 Rating 1,319 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Dr Fertility
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Dr Fertility  Reviews
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 3rd March 2021
Anonymous
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 20th January 2021
Maria Ivanschi
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 20th December 2020
Anonymous
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 20th October 2020
Anonymous
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 20th October 2020
Anonymous
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 20th October 2020
Anonymous
Dr Fertility  5 star review on 20th October 2020
Anonymous
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Good price but took far too long to arrive. I paid for faster delivery and took over a week.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Abby, Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us. A member of the team will be in touch to resolve this for you. Best wishes, Anna
Posted 4 months ago
i paid for next day delivery and i received the product too late and therefore didn’t use it. i waited over 2 and 1/2 weeks.
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Isioma, Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us. We are very sorry to hear your order was delayed. We know this can be very frustrating. If you would like to return the product, please contact our customer service team at info@drfertility.co.uk and they will be very happy to help. Best wishes, Anna
Posted 10 months ago
1 test did not work it just stayed blank the other 2 tests I bought in the pack did work (negative but still they worked) thank you
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Dionne, Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We are very sorry you are not happy with your purchase. A member of the team will be in touch to discuss this further. Best wishes, Anna
Posted 10 months ago
Next day delivery took 8 days to arrive. I didn’t need the item by that point.
Posted 11 months ago
Hi, Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us. We are very sorry to hear your order was delayed, we understand that this can be very frustrating. We are working hard to keep fulfilling orders, however Royal Mail are experiencing delays due to staff shortage in certain parts of the country. A member of our customer service team will email you shortly to resolve this. Best wishes, Anna
Posted 11 months ago
Arrived fast- sent the sample back and haven’t heard since
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Nicole, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are sorry to hear you haven't had your results back as soon as you'd anticipated. Your test will now be with Lets Get Checked for processing and they will contact you with the results when they are ready. If you have any queries regarding the test please find a customer support tool on their website. The link is: https://www.letsgetchecked.com/gb/en/contact-us/ Best wishes, Anna
Posted 11 months ago
I did not receive my order
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Bethany, Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us. We are very sorry to hear your order was delayed, we understand that this can be very frustrating. We are working hard to keep fulfilling orders, however Royal Mail are experiencing some delays so orders placed may take slightly longer to arrive. This can depend on where you live and the Royal Mail staff shortages in those areas due to Covid-19. A member of our customer service team will email you shortly to resolve this. Best wishes, Anna
Posted 11 months ago
Paid extra for next day delivery got it a week later was told it was late due to Covid-19 why have the option to have it in 24 hrs knowing full well it won’t come
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us. We are very sorry to hear your order was delayed, we understand that this can be very frustrating. We are working hard to keep fulfilling orders, however Royal Mail are experiencing some delays so orders placed may take slightly longer to arrive. This can depend on where you live and the Royal Mail staff shortages in those areas due to Covid-19. A member of our customer service team will email you shortly to resolve this. Best wishes, Anna
Posted 1 year ago
The male fertility kit was poor. I followed the instructions to the letter but struggled with semen viscosity and the pipette. The fluids did not soak in as per the instructions and the result was difficult to read. All in all I feel a waste of 20 quid. Dr. Fertility did however deliver the product with no issues.
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your purchase. Please contact us at info@drfertility.co.uk if you would like to discuss this further. Best wishes, Lucy
Posted 1 year ago
2nd didn't work
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, We are very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your purchase. Please could you contact us at info@drfertility.co.uk so that we can help you. Best wishes, Lucy
Posted 1 year ago
The box was damaged. But it was worth the money
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear this. Please contact us at info@drfertility.co.uk and tell us more about the problem. Best wishes, Lucy
Posted 1 year ago
You give me 5% off on my first purchase but it wasn’t applicable, and couldn’t get any discount, I paid full amount of money. And I emailed you and you didn’t take any action :(
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Fatima, we are very sorry you have experienced an issue. We have checked our system and we haven't received an email. We will email you now to get this resolved as soon as possible. Best wishes x
Posted 1 year ago
I am very disappointed with the service I have received here. I have bought from this company once that went well despite a delayed delivery. This is the second time I am buying... I was informed I should get this product Friday which has now passed and the order has not been received. The second matter that I am really disgruntled about is that I got a 5% discount voucher when I bought the first time to use when buying again. On this second purchase I just assumed when I order the discount would be applied seeing my email address was taken. I emailed the company to explain the matter asking if I could still receive my discount and to my surprise I was informed by Lucy that I had already used my discount. I find that extremely dishonest and unfair as there is no evidence shown where I have used the discount... on both occasions I bought I paid full price. I believe if you have a discount scheme and the customer is unable to apply it there should be some grace in allowing for this and still allowing the customer to receive their discount. The next time I need to purchase this product I will be taking my money elsewhere!
Posted 1 year ago
The product came and it’s faulty. I emailed the Dr Fertility company and was told I need to call the manufacturer of the faulty product myself. The manufacturer Numer is a 0800 telephone number and it will cost me £1 per minute for the phone call. Not a very good service, unfortunately.
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, we are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service and we would like to try and resolve this for you. Please, could you contact us at info@drfertility.co.uk and we will do our very best to help you.
Posted 1 year ago
My products have not been delivered yet (order placed on 5th September), payment has been debited from my bank account. I have sent a message to ask when delivery is expected, please confirm as soon as possible. Unfortunately my experience of drfertility.co.uk is not great!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Laura, we are very sorry that you haven't received your order. We completely understand how time sensitive the products we sell are. We have checked with MyHermes and their system shows it as being delivered on 10th September. If it is lost we will repost with Royal Mail today and it should be with you tomorrow. Best wishes, Dr Fertility xx
Posted 2 years ago
Dr Fertility is rated 4.71 based on 1,319 reviews