Domestic & General Reviews

1.44 Rating 18 Reviews
6% of reviewers recommend Domestic & General
470 Review Views (past 24 hours)
7PM - 9PM
55 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
35 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
17 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
40 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
42 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
41 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
39 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
46 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
37 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
35 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
42 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
41 Review Views
7PM
7PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Domestic & General made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels
"worst company ever , dont go near them takes your money every month but when it comes to them fixing anything you got no chance been waiting 2 weeks still not fixed my washing machine and when you ring up they dont care."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Are you Domestic & General? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback Domestic & General receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"Have been covered for about 3 years, my washing machine has broken down twice in that time. first repair would have cost my over £400 and my second repair the washing machine was a write off. to replace my LG washing machine for a like for like it would have cost me £1199.99 so over the 3 years I spend with D&G £280, that's a saving of £1399.99 and on top of that D&G replaced my washing machine within 2 days! can not thank them enough"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Shocking customer service spent all day trying to get answers but got nowhere engineer is off sick so my repair has been cancelled they cannot reallocate the job god knows why cause I don’t!!! I’ve booked 2 days off work because I was told it would be done we’d/thurs and it got cancelled I can’t change my day off so have lost a days pay, by booking another morning off I pay about £120 a year for my policy/plan for what I thought would take the stress away from a broken washing machine once repair is done I’m cancelling the policy and putting what I spend in an account never am I purchising another extended warranty defo not worth the stress this mob creates!!!! I’ve spent all day pm’ing on phone and via live chat what a waste of time"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Reported what was wrong - washing machine repair man D&G use comes out beginning January 2018. Agrees it is the part I said but says he hasn't got part on van. Why send out repair man without that part? He says fixed but doesn't work for that long (same thing goes wrong |October 2018) Tell them again same part gone wrong again. They say I may have to wait for 2 weeks (they don't seem to care that last time they should have replaced the part completely.) Now been waiting 3 working days (really five days but they don't count weekend. They said may have to wait until 5 Nov! Will be cancelling insurance as soon as they do repair it (2 weeks absolutely a joke!)!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I would not use them again, after numerous engineer visits and repeated repairs to my dishwasher, they finally agreed to replace the item. I was advised a replacement would be delivered, installed and the old appliance removed. The item was delivered but no install and no collection of the old appliance. When contacting D&G , I was advised I need to deal with the disposal myself , and I also had to pay the get the dishwasher installed. Why offer a service you can not provide ?"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I have been waiting for a washing machine repair for three weeks I kept getting told they are waiting for the part which is the drum it’s coming from abroad. The customer service is diabolical they don’t care that I’m stressed have no washing machine. I have to keep ringing them to find out what is going on- no one contacts me. They show no empathy with you on the phone may as well be speaking to a robot. They are quick enough to take money each money but not to help you."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Its been over a month now I have not received quotation by post, as they do not send by email, due to not up to date with technology. I made several phone calls but they kept saying its in the post and customer service is not helpful at all, they want business handed on their plate, its shame as its such an old company going downhill. They gave me these reference numbers for DOMESTIC AND GENERAL APPLIANCE COVER QUOTE REF.NOS. 70877, 70879, 70881, 70884, 70885 & 70886, even they cannot recognise it"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I had quotation on all my home appliances over the phone and was given ref. nos. 70877, 70879, 70881, 70884, 70885 & 70886 and I was told that they will send quotation by post as they do not send it by email, in this day of technology, its has now been four weeks but I have not received quotation and every time I call them they kept saying its in the post, therefore I started sending emails and every time they response my email, they say that, just put quotations number & post code details, but it does not recognise their ref. nos. I cannot believe that, they do not care about new customers & denting their first impression with new customer, its shame, as it has been established company, but going down hill, and their customer service is second to none, going backwards"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Wish I had read comments here first, appalling service. Three weeks still waiting for washing machine repair, their customer service is a joke, never known any customer service to be so appalling. I am trying to get to senior management team as they need to be aware of level of service being delivered... which is zero DO NOT USE THEM!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Took out a policy on my oven. Over 3 weeks with no oven and still no further forward. Took an absolute age to get through to anyone in the phone. (27 mins on hold for 1 call). Was promised a call back by one guy, never heard back. Cancelled the policy."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"WAS OFFERED A REPAIR VISIT IN 12 DAYS TIME. LAUGHABLE! WHEN I COMPLAINED IT CHANGED TO 5 DAYS - STILL FAR LONGER THAN I WOULD EXPECT. IF THIS IS THE LEVEL OF SERVICE DURING FAIR WEATHER THEN LORD KNOWS WHAT WE'LL GET WHEN THE WINTER ARRIVES AND BOILERS BEGIN TO BREAK DOWN."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"boiler broke down on Thursday .phoned on the Friday morning I was told it would be next Tuesday before an engineer could call I explained that this would be over four days without hot water or heating.I explained that my wife and I are both elderly this did not seem to make any difference.I pay £250 a year for this type of service"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"First time I have used your service. You took over SSE boiler servicing. Boiler was serviced and needed a new part. Engineer rang D and G and explained the situation. I received an email from D and G organising an engineer visit for 31.12.2018.Today is Aug 29th !!!!! I rang and appointment was changed to today sometime between 08.00 and 17.00. I received no confirmation but assumed the engineer would arrive. Stayed at home for the day. Had to rearrange some issues in order to do this. At around 15.30 I am wondering if the engineer would arrive. I telephoned D and G to double check. The appointment was on the system but had not been passed to an engineer. I received an apology. However that was a day wasted. Now I have to wait in another day (Friday 31st) from 08.00 to 17.00 hoping that an engineer will arrive. I do not expect you will have heard of Fred Carno !!! Cant believe that I am paying for this incompetence."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Awful company. Filed a complaint, I have been promised a callback by three different people. No return call yet, three weeks later. Had the engineer out three times, problem still exists. Save your money & don’t use this company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"they kept calling and had other numbers calling saying they were from them"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Terrible service, every phone call you are left on hold for ages, always promised a phone call back never ever receive a call back. Will definitely not insure with domestic and general again a complete waste of money. After 2 weeks still waiting for engineer."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"well the washer packed upon a Wednesday the engineer came the next Wednesday said it wanted a new drum heater and 2 other parts the washer is 7 year old it will cost over 200 pound to fix it and they most properly renew it. we called them on Friday nobody new if it was going to be replaced or not we had to ring on the Monday still the same rang on Wednesday they said we will repair it and we are still waiting to get it repaired and it in its third week we have been paying for it for 7 years and its gone up to £10 a month. ringing them up is a nightmare press this button then press this button. then they put you on hold we have a cooker insured with them we did not know we still had they sent the renewal forms to wrong address because we moved but they still took money out the bank for over 4 years we only found out with looking at the direct debits and I had already bought a part for it. don't go near these people the rubbish"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"It seems many retailers that sell insurance cover use this company, Domestic & General, as their call-out engineers, especially in London. We had to suffer their horrendous service for 8 years with various appliances, the last a fridge where it was unrepairable & they took a month to send out the correct replacement voucher, which was for a much cheaper brand I might add. They don't care about customers & will do their utmost to make life as difficult as possible for you. We were without a fridge for a month & a half. Thats D&G service! Check with your insurer if they use D&G if so don't take insurance with them, take it from someone who knows."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Domestic & General is rated 1.44 based on 18 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support