Domestic & General Reviews

1.62 Rating 26 Reviews
12% of reviewers recommend Domestic & General
628 Review Views (past 24 hours)
2PM - 4PM
82 Review Views
4PM - 6PM
62 Review Views
6PM - 8PM
43 Review Views
8PM - 10PM
42 Review Views
10PM - 12AM
41 Review Views
12AM - 2AM
41 Review Views
2AM - 4AM
38 Review Views
4AM - 6AM
44 Review Views
6AM - 8AM
56 Review Views
8AM - 10AM
40 Review Views
10AM - 12PM
79 Review Views
12PM - 2PM
60 Review Views
2PM
2PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Domestic & General made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels
"Had insurance for seveeàl products and when a appliance has to be fixed I receive rewards for the inconvenience, recently brought two brand new appliances using there smart care rewards scheme. Love my new hob and double oven"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Are you Domestic & General? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"I've been paying Domestic & General Insurance for at least 5 years to cover my oven in case of a break down. The bulb recently failed in the oven so I called them to arrange a repair. It took some time to book the repair as they needed more details about the oven, even though they knew what oven they were covering. I gave all the info they requested but when the engineer arrived he had the incorrect part. No problem as these things happen but they didn't call back so I called again to ask when an engineer would visit. They explain I would receive a call back but that never happened so I called again and again and again but was always told that somebody would call back which they never did. I even spoke to their complaints department but they could never resolve the issue either. On the last call I immediately cancelled my the "insurance" as they are clearly incapable of fixing anything. I will never take out any D&G cover again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"🚨BE WARNED 🚨 🚨🚨Renewed a Boiler plan insurance on the 15th February 2018 for £18.90 per month with Scottish power, this was then taken over by Domestic and General in March 2018, I was NOT informed of the changes! They continued to take the same payments from me right up to now when they turned up last Saturday and condemned and turned off my combi boiler leaving us with no heating or Domestic hot water. That’s all we can do for you sorry. You’re plan will be terminated in 48 hours or so. No offer to replace parts, no offer to help with replacement boiler etc. Me and my Disabled wife are sat here in the Cold with no hot water and no offers of help. IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE DO NOT TOUCH THIS COMPANY EVER STAY WELL CLEAR COMPLETE RIP OFF 🚨🚨SHOULD BE ON WATCHDOG 🚨🚨"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I don't normally write reviews, but felt compelled to do so following the appalling Customer Service from D & G. I have been paying £24.24 every month,for nearly 2.5 years,for a protection plan that covers my Vaillant Boiler, for any repairs etc. Initially Vaillant sent out an engineer, to evaluate the Boiler and ensure it was in good working order - it was and I duly paid £24.24 per month. I had the boiler serviced twice during that time - no issues! In July of this year I was told that there was a crack on the outside of the flue (It had always been there but was not an issue before!) and that I either needed a new flue OR a guard to cover the flue (This was also put in writing). The engineer was very helpful, and even told me that it was cheaper to buy a guard and fit it myself. He even told me where I could buy it from - problem solved! Imagine my surprise when I called out an engineer today to fix my boiler, only to be told that he wouldn't fix the Boiler until the flue was replaced! I had followed the instructions of the last engineer to the letter, and at no point was I told that my Boiler was not covered unless I replaced the flue. I spoke to D & G complaints department, who informed me that the Boiler WAS covered, BUT they would not do any work on it until the Flue was replaced. So whats the point of me paying for a protection plan? The Boilers covered but they refuse to fix it ! I asked to be paid back my installments from July as I have clearly been mislead, but was told no! So I have cancelled my plan immediately and will certainly not trust or take out a D & G policy again. I have now escalated the complaint and will be looking for compensation. I will update this review with the outcome."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I don't normally write reviews, but felt compelled to do so following the appalling Customer Service from D & G. I have been paying £24.24 every month,for nearly 2.5 years,for a protection plan that covers my Vaillant Boiler, for any repairs etc. Initially Vaillant sent out an engineer, to evaluate the Boiler and ensure it was in good working order - it was and I duly paid £24.24 per month. I had the boiler serviced twice during that time - no issues! In July of this year I was told that there was a crack on the outside of the flue (It had always been there but was not an issue before!) and that I either needed a new flue OR a guard to cover the flue (This was also put in writing). The engineer was very helpful, and even told me that it was cheaper to buy a guard and fit it myself. He even told me where I could buy it from - problem solved! Imagine my surprise when I called out an engineer today to fix my boiler, only to be told that he wouldn't fix the Boiler until the flue was replaced! I had followed the instructions of the last engineer to the letter, and at no point was I told that my Boiler was not covered unless I replaced the flue. I spoke to D & G complaints department, who informed me that the Boiler WAS covered, BUT they would not do any work on it until the Flue was replaced. So whats the point of me paying for a protection plan? The Boilers covered but they refuse to fix it ! I asked to be paid back my installments from July as I have clearly been mislead, but was told no! So I have cancelled my plan immediately and will certainly not trust or take out a D & G policy again. I have now escalated the complaint and will be looking for compensation. I will update this review with the outcome."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been with domestic & general for quite a number of year and found that they had taken a payment out of my account to early. When I originally rang them about this they told me that this would not happen. And the new payment plan won't be taken out until the beginning of December. Guess what they took the payment out too early and when I rang them he told me that the payment has been set up to be taken out of my account in December and then the end of December. This is under the new payment care plan - so much for that. So I have cancelled all my policies as I am not satisfied with the service that I have received. Please stop sending me emails, as I do not want to receive anything from you from now on..."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been with D & G for many years for various items, but my boiler which had the top cover which included a yearly service. Last week it would not work so after many phone calls backwards & forwards to D & g because the repair agent Right Gas would not answer the phone I got a visit from the repair agent. He was here 5 mins & really did not want to be here, very abrupt said there was sludge in the pipes & really needed to be replaced. Today I rang D & G for a repair & they said the Right Gas would not come out because they could not fix it. Fair enough if I have to have a new boiler at least I would get £750 towards as stated in my policy, but no D & G said I was not covered for sludge in pipes. My argument is my boiler was serviced by Ace Plumbing through D & G annually why did they not mention sludge, in fact they said it was in good condition. D & G have now suggested that I pay for someone to fix it. Never again will I go with D & G."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"No complaints whatsoever. Customer service - you were all brilliant! Had our kitchen multiplan for years and wouldn't be without it!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"worst company ever , dont go near them takes your money every month but when it comes to them fixing anything you got no chance been waiting 2 weeks still not fixed my washing machine and when you ring up they dont care."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Have been covered for about 3 years, my washing machine has broken down twice in that time. first repair would have cost my over £400 and my second repair the washing machine was a write off. to replace my LG washing machine for a like for like it would have cost me £1199.99 so over the 3 years I spend with D&G £280, that's a saving of £1399.99 and on top of that D&G replaced my washing machine within 2 days! can not thank them enough"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Shocking customer service spent all day trying to get answers but got nowhere engineer is off sick so my repair has been cancelled they cannot reallocate the job god knows why cause I don’t!!! I’ve booked 2 days off work because I was told it would be done we’d/thurs and it got cancelled I can’t change my day off so have lost a days pay, by booking another morning off I pay about £120 a year for my policy/plan for what I thought would take the stress away from a broken washing machine once repair is done I’m cancelling the policy and putting what I spend in an account never am I purchising another extended warranty defo not worth the stress this mob creates!!!! I’ve spent all day pm’ing on phone and via live chat what a waste of time"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Reported what was wrong - washing machine repair man D&G use comes out beginning January 2018. Agrees it is the part I said but says he hasn't got part on van. Why send out repair man without that part? He says fixed but doesn't work for that long (same thing goes wrong |October 2018) Tell them again same part gone wrong again. They say I may have to wait for 2 weeks (they don't seem to care that last time they should have replaced the part completely.) Now been waiting 3 working days (really five days but they don't count weekend. They said may have to wait until 5 Nov! Will be cancelling insurance as soon as they do repair it (2 weeks absolutely a joke!)!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I would not use them again, after numerous engineer visits and repeated repairs to my dishwasher, they finally agreed to replace the item. I was advised a replacement would be delivered, installed and the old appliance removed. The item was delivered but no install and no collection of the old appliance. When contacting D&G , I was advised I need to deal with the disposal myself , and I also had to pay the get the dishwasher installed. Why offer a service you can not provide ?"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I have been waiting for a washing machine repair for three weeks I kept getting told they are waiting for the part which is the drum it’s coming from abroad. The customer service is diabolical they don’t care that I’m stressed have no washing machine. I have to keep ringing them to find out what is going on- no one contacts me. They show no empathy with you on the phone may as well be speaking to a robot. They are quick enough to take money each money but not to help you."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Its been over a month now I have not received quotation by post, as they do not send by email, due to not up to date with technology. I made several phone calls but they kept saying its in the post and customer service is not helpful at all, they want business handed on their plate, its shame as its such an old company going downhill. They gave me these reference numbers for DOMESTIC AND GENERAL APPLIANCE COVER QUOTE REF.NOS. 70877, 70879, 70881, 70884, 70885 & 70886, even they cannot recognise it"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I had quotation on all my home appliances over the phone and was given ref. nos. 70877, 70879, 70881, 70884, 70885 & 70886 and I was told that they will send quotation by post as they do not send it by email, in this day of technology, its has now been four weeks but I have not received quotation and every time I call them they kept saying its in the post, therefore I started sending emails and every time they response my email, they say that, just put quotations number & post code details, but it does not recognise their ref. nos. I cannot believe that, they do not care about new customers & denting their first impression with new customer, its shame, as it has been established company, but going down hill, and their customer service is second to none, going backwards"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Wish I had read comments here first, appalling service. Three weeks still waiting for washing machine repair, their customer service is a joke, never known any customer service to be so appalling. I am trying to get to senior management team as they need to be aware of level of service being delivered... which is zero DO NOT USE THEM!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Took out a policy on my oven. Over 3 weeks with no oven and still no further forward. Took an absolute age to get through to anyone in the phone. (27 mins on hold for 1 call). Was promised a call back by one guy, never heard back. Cancelled the policy."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"WAS OFFERED A REPAIR VISIT IN 12 DAYS TIME. LAUGHABLE! WHEN I COMPLAINED IT CHANGED TO 5 DAYS - STILL FAR LONGER THAN I WOULD EXPECT. IF THIS IS THE LEVEL OF SERVICE DURING FAIR WEATHER THEN LORD KNOWS WHAT WE'LL GET WHEN THE WINTER ARRIVES AND BOILERS BEGIN TO BREAK DOWN."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"boiler broke down on Thursday .phoned on the Friday morning I was told it would be next Tuesday before an engineer could call I explained that this would be over four days without hot water or heating.I explained that my wife and I are both elderly this did not seem to make any difference.I pay £250 a year for this type of service"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Domestic & General is rated 1.62 based on 26 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support