DFS Reviews

DFS have a Customer Happiness Grade of B. Customers love their customer service and are happy with their delivery and refunds. Full Insights

2.02 Rating 54 Reviews
24% of reviewers recommend DFS
1040 Review Views (past 24 hours)
5PM - 7PM
131 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
144 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
141 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
22 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
131 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
36 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
59 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
59 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
135 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
82 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
38 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
62 Review Views
5PM
5PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver, Courier
delivery methods
Over a month
average delivery time
Greater than 69%
on-time delivery
Greater than 50%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels

How would you rate DFS ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"We purchased a sofa and two armchairs from DFS Oldham in November 2017 and took delivery in December 2017(10 months ago). Shortly afterwards the seating area of one of the armchair was so uncomfortablethat you could feel the frame when sitting on it. I telephoned the Oldham branch and a person from the service department attended, he was quite adamant that this was normal and he would not make any attempt to rectify the problem. We persevered with this for a few months and then made a further request for them to inspect the chair. This time a different member of the service department attended and replaced some of the foam in the seating area, which was an improvement. Over recent months the seating has deteriorated to such an extent that I requested another visit from the service department. On the 18th October a person from the service department visited (the same person who visited the first time), again he was quite adamant that he was going to do nothing as he considered that this was normal. I asked him why this particular chair differed from the other chair and indeed the one in the showroom, his reply was that it is probably sat on more, I assume from that remark that the only way to ensure the quality is maintained is not to sit on the chair. To say that I am very disappointed with DFS and the quality of their furniture is an understatement, we are now left with little option but to buy more furniture from a more reputable company that sells quality furniture."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Would not recommend buying from DFS - have a read of BBC Watchdog's article and you will understand. Our contract was changed - we were not privy to this information till 15 days after. Customer service have said that my order cannot be cancelled because the contract has been "re written not cancelled". This is apparently how they do business - rewriting contracts without agreement. Customer service claim I have no evidence when I have the original contract with alterations that the salesperson made with his handwriting to reflect what was right. So I soon learned that no evidence was ever going to be sufficient evidence. Aside from this, the salesperson had lied to us to get us to sign the contract. Recommendation: if you find yourself emailing customer service, don't bother. Customer service will just tell you it never happened because it is against DFS' policy - again, have a read of other reviews or even some of the comments on their social media pages. Follow the procedures - write an official letter of complaint and go straight to the Small Claims Court. Don't waste your time emailing back and forth. Time is better spent filling in the application form."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"I don’t understand the bad reviews?! I have to say I found them quite amazing, from start to finish! Found the whole thing stress free and super speedy, The staff are lovely and so on top of things! They where on it all the way! The finance excellent and interest free, the delivery not only super quick, the delivery drivers wonderful, they didn’t even ask about access, they didn’t quibble or moan like other delivery drivers I’ve had, got in with it, very professional. I didn’t really have a good impression of Dfs at first and I don’t know why, but they are truly not short of fantastic!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Was led to believe I was purchasing a leather three piece only to realise it's two thirds leather look one third leather didn't realise till after it was delivered .the salesman DID NOT POINT THIS OUT TUs"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Buying the leather sofa from DFS was one of the biggest financial mistakes I have made. Purchased one of their TOP sofas from the ICONICA range (Salone) with the chair, we have spend ~ £3.5k and were led to believe this is their superior range. But it has proven to be total rubbish. We have had the sofa for just over a year, it is in our 'second' living room and is only used twice per month (no children), so in total it has been sat on around 50 times. That's ALL. Within two weeks of delivery we had to call out DFS as the sofa was making awful loud squeaky sounds and was a great embarrassment to anyone sitting on it. Also one of the corners has sagged and dropped by couple of inches (it was re stuffed but subsequently dropped again and now 'hangs' on the edge). I also showed a huge scar on the leather (15 cm long) on one of the seats in most visible place. The scar looks like a cut underneath and looks like it could rip any time. DFS said leather is a natural material and this happens. But this is clearly a rip or damage during manufacturing process. We can not now sit on one of the seats as it is starting to rip. The sofa is made up of sectionals which are of different heights, we have 4cm height difference between two seats, but again DFS said it is the 'beauty' of their product. Looks cheap and nasty. One year later, which is after approx 50 uses the sofa looks shabby and sagged. The leather is marking each time you sit on it and it already looks 10 years old. It is disgusting quality, should not be allowed to sell. I will not be able to keep the sofa, even before the repayments are finished. I wish I have spend a little bit more and bought from a reputable retailer. Never again. It is completely wasted money. The identical sofa (Salone) on their website or in store looks great, crisp lines, no saggy dropping corners. Beware the delivered product is not the same quality as in store."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"In dispute with DFS, as ordered 2 sofas before we moved, they tried to deliver them to our new address even though we told them we did not have a moving date yet. Then DFS phoned and told us they had no where to store the sofas so they could be sold on or delivered to our old address, it was agreed the sofas could be delivered to our old address, but couldn’t fit them through the front door so taken back. Finally delivered to our new home, but scuffs at the back of sofa where they tried to get it through door. Somebody came out to deal with the scuffs, and then Guardsman was called out as marks on the arms, he stated that he was not going to touch the sofas as all the hard wearing areas, on the seats and arms, the colour was coming off. The sofas were not sealed properly, no fire ticket or batch number labels attached. We called DFS and they asked for photos, sent these and still in dispute when/if replacement sofas will be ordered. DFS at Eastbourne are sending out somebody next Tuesday, but situation is getting worse, all the colour is coming off both sofas"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Good designed sofa totally let down by cheap foam in cushions. They con you . Don't buy until they start using reflex quality foam, simple!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Everything went wrong! 1. Delivered in a wrong address! 1 day off gone. 2. Forgot to deliver our foot stool! 2. day off! 3. Delivered a wrong foot stool! 3. day off! No money back!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Ordered country patch sofa and wing chair at the Huddersfield store 18/8/2018 . Almost £1300 taken from bank account immediately!! Could not track progress of the order but had email from delivery firm HDS confirming delivery 31/8/18 and also said driver would make contact with a time slot day before . No contact made yesterday so I rang HDS 9am this morning when they opened to be told they had tried to collect furniture on Tuesday 28/8/18 to be told no furniture there . Called GHOST furniture. They immediately emailed dfs to inform them but they couldn’t be bothered to let a couple of 75 year olds know . I rang dfs who informed me they were aware but was up to the Huddersfield store to let me know . Unfortunately the poor store manager’s assistant was on holiday this week which I strongly advised him was not our problem . Having received the most insincere apology from him ever I requested an immediate refund of our money which they had taken fraudulently - we have paid for furniture that doesn’t exist !! We are outraged that we have to wait 10- 14 days to get our money back so we then can purchase some new furniture . In the meantime we have to sit on garden chairs . Well done DFS AVOID AT ALL COSTS . Will wait and see how long the refund takes and if any sort of compensation is offered . Won’t hold my breath ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Really happy with the service I got. From Beverley ward who I purchased from. The delivery men that put it together nice too see happy guys that take pride in their work. Well done mark and dean braintree area."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Ordered the sofa in new Malden store three weeks before moving in to new address. Agreed with salesman that sofa would be delivered on the 28/07/2018. Received an email from DFS the day before advising that issue with part of the sofa and would be unable to deliver on the 28/07/2018 as agreed. Waited a further three weeks with me having to chase DFS at least four times via phone each time I was advised that the sofa would be delivered shortly. Sofa was finally delivered 3 weeks after agreed date , when delivered the delivery man asked if the sofa was ex - display as the feet were scuffed and was not factory wrapped I advised that the sofa was brought brand new and was advised to contact complaints team. spoke to a lady called Laura Midgeley and Becky in the complaints department at head office and New Malden Branch manager Tahira was offered my delivery fee back and was told in no uncertain terms there is nothing further they could do for me. Overall being the first time using DFS I would never use them again and suggest anyone looking for a sofa to look elsewhere. The customer service was extremely poor, they do not call customers back when they say they will. An all round really poor experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Great service when spending money but bad attitudes all round when complaining about a fault, argumentative and not helpful at all."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Just disgusted with the sofa I have just bought 'Crosby' keep having to push seat cushions back as I feel I am falling over edge. Spoken to Dfs and they say nothing wrong with it and that they have not had any complaints about this sofa. It has no substance or strength to it thus no support. Would love to hear from anyone who has purchased this Crosby sofa and get their views. Also supposed to be 4 seater but you would be lucky to get 3 people on it."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Bought a sofa which took nearly 9 weeks was damaged by dfs when stored in their delivery van, service manager comes out to inspect the sofa and the whole of the middle part of the sofa and the back of one side of the sofa will be replaced, another 9 weeks!! We was also told the Porto sofa was made in Italy on purchase, when in fact the sofas are from China!!! Very disappointed with our first new sofa!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"12 months from 1st complaint to sofas taken back and getting a full refund.DFS they will fight like tigers lie through their teeth not return your calls try to patronize you they know every trick in the book and more.After 4 visits plus sofas returned twice many letters/emails, photos, visits to stores, phone calls and sofas returned twice for repair after only 4 months after purchase. Finally after a visit and inspection by the furniture onbudsman they had to admit defeat and we were right all along. All this took from the 1st compaint to getting every penny back 11months 3weeks and 4days. They will try to grind you down dont let them, keep at them you can win.DFS LINOLN STORE 08-08-2017 to 05-08-2018.They arnt like this when you go in the store with money to spend they are very nice and friendly people then very JEKLE & HYDE. So may I sugest befofe you write a review wait till you have had your goods for a while. END OF A VERY TRUE STORY but a yery shortened version."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Yes 365 days from our first complaint to our sofas being returned and getting a FULL refund. DFS tried every trick in the book, but with the help and a visit from an independent furniture ombudsman, DFS finally had to admit they were wrong and our sofas were not fit for purpose. 7-4-17. We took delivery of 2 DFS three seater Peyton sofas in nubuck brushed leather. After a few weeks(especially on one sofa) the leather had gone all shiny, the foam in the seating had started to collapse and you sank right down in the middle or could not sit straight up at either end. On 8-8-17 we went into the Lincoln store where we had purchased the sofas and reported the condition. HERE IS A VERY BRIEF OUTLINE OF THE NEXT 12 MONTHS OF HELL. !!! 14-08-17. A visit from DFS service manager who stated he had more than 30yrs experience as a upholstery and all issues were normal and down to usage. 1-9-17. A visit from DFS sales manager who also said it was normal natural wear. 25-9-17. Went in to Lincoln store to see the manager, who was very rude, arrogant and did his best to patronize me saying his staff were right and I would have to accept it. 1-12-17. A visit from Top manager of Brigg and Lincoln stores, at last someone prepared to listen, he admitted the foam had collapsed, leather had gone shiny, and some stitching needed redoing. He would arrange for both sofas to be collected and re-foamed, leather to be treated and the stitching redone. 18-1-18. Sofas collected for repair. 31-1-18. Sofas returned, FOAM not replaced, just bodged. 1hr later sofas picked up again for further work. 15-2-18. Sofas returned again, cushions had lost all dome shape, they looked awful, they were solid and uncomfortable, leather looked the same,but the stitching had be repaired. 4-4-18. 2nd visit from DFS service manager, once again said sofas were ok, there was no problem with them, nothing more could be done. We then went back to the furniture ombudsman, sent photos, and information. 31-5-18. An independent furniture ombudsman came and the sofas, were given a full inspection. 19-7-18 Received Ombudsmans report agreeing with us, stating it would cost more to repair than it would to replace them, therefore DFS should take the sofas away and give us a full refund, all monies spent including delivery and cleaning kit. 25-7-18. Sofas taken back.!! 1-8-18. Money repaid, only to be £150 short. !!!! 6-8-18. £150 repaid. END OF SAGA. !!!!! We have not received any form of apology from DFS. If anyone has any problems similar keep records of, times, day, dates, names, take photos, write everything down. They will try to undermine you in every way they can to make you give up. BUY FROM DFS AT YOUR PERIL. Quality of service Value For Money"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"DFS basildon"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Bought 3+2 Maxx leather sofa, delivered to us on 5th July 2018. After 4-5 days we found out the it gets puddles and badly creased. We called and emailed customer service help desk and they sent an engineer to solve our problem. He came after a week and looking at the sofas he said it’s normal, you need to redress sofas everyday before going to bed. Come on that’s not normal, it’s not the first time we got sofas. We have been using leather sofas for ages. We are pensioners and saved money to buy good sofas from a big company like dfs. Now we been sending reminders and online chat also but no solution has been given. Is there anyone who can help us to know what should we do to our sofas look new as it’s only one month old and looks like 2-3 years old."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"In a nutshell, they do not do what they say they are going to. We ordered and paid for a coffee table at he beginning of Jan 18, using the store model as our quality guide. The first 3 all had different quality concerns, on each occasion, the fault was very noticeable and should not have been allowed out of the factory, this says al it about their supplier base. We finally accepted the 4th table in July, which was still not to the shop floor model standard and we only give them a 4th opportunity because we were told that we would receive a rebate, which as of yet we have not and the communication has stopped. The local store where we bought from is at Teesside Park, Thornaby, Stockton-on-Tees, however, we have also been dealing with Sunderland branch and have been told this is the regional centre that deals with problems. Generally, the communication has been ok at best until we accepted the table, then dried up all together. In the end we went into the store and spoke to our contact who said he would ring back later that day, here I am 2 weeks later still waiting, very disappointing from a market leader and a company that should take customer service very seriously."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"This is our 5th sofa from DFS and I'd never had a problem,but with our new sofa there were a couple of marks,I phoned customer service and they sent a service manager out to view,he agreed with the problems and has arranged replacement parts straight away,can't fault there service"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
DFS is rated 2.02 based on 54 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This