DFS Reviews

2.21 Rating 38 Reviews
29% of reviewers recommend DFS
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver, Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate DFS ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"DFS basildon"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Bought 3+2 Maxx leather sofa, delivered to us on 5th July 2018. After 4-5 days we found out the it gets puddles and badly creased. We called and emailed customer service help desk and they sent an engineer to solve our problem. He came after a week and looking at the sofas he said it’s normal, you need to redress sofas everyday before going to bed. Come on that’s not normal, it’s not the first time we got sofas. We have been using leather sofas for ages. We are pensioners and saved money to buy good sofas from a big company like dfs. Now we been sending reminders and online chat also but no solution has been given. Is there anyone who can help us to know what should we do to our sofas look new as it’s only one month old and looks like 2-3 years old."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"In a nutshell, they do not do what they say they are going to. We ordered and paid for a coffee table at he beginning of Jan 18, using the store model as our quality guide. The first 3 all had different quality concerns, on each occasion, the fault was very noticeable and should not have been allowed out of the factory, this says al it about their supplier base. We finally accepted the 4th table in July, which was still not to the shop floor model standard and we only give them a 4th opportunity because we were told that we would receive a rebate, which as of yet we have not and the communication has stopped. The local store where we bought from is at Teesside Park, Thornaby, Stockton-on-Tees, however, we have also been dealing with Sunderland branch and have been told this is the regional centre that deals with problems. Generally, the communication has been ok at best until we accepted the table, then dried up all together. In the end we went into the store and spoke to our contact who said he would ring back later that day, here I am 2 weeks later still waiting, very disappointing from a market leader and a company that should take customer service very seriously."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"This is our 5th sofa from DFS and I'd never had a problem,but with our new sofa there were a couple of marks,I phoned customer service and they sent a service manager out to view,he agreed with the problems and has arranged replacement parts straight away,can't fault there service"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely disgraceful service. Shocking delivery team who were too busy complaining about being late and the lorry being loaded incorrectly. Couldn't get the sofa through the door and in their haste damaged it. They were then advised to cut it open at the bottom and dismantle it - when it was ripped open with a blunt Stanley knife it was clear that it didn't unbolt. Customer Service, or lack of, weren't interested at all and even their complaints team weren't interested. I wouldn't recommend DFS to anyone - don't waste your time and money on such abysmal service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Customer service is extremely pathetic, appalling. They do not value the custom and more interested in making complaints worse instead of resolving it for customers. Bought sofa that did not arrive in agreed time frame. Called customer service to find out whereabouts and was said “ I DONT KNOW”. I was then told that I will get a call from HDS NEXT WEEK AND DELIVERY OF FURNITURE. Waited again and called after 3 days. I was told that no calls were promised and sofa can only be delivered next week. I refused to that and asked for manager. I was told that manager cannot come on phone and the phone cannot be transferred. Asked to be transferred to customer services and was told “ THERE IS NOT ONE”. That was a shock. Manager called Tony calls later backing up his staff in extremely rude manner and asks, you can cancel your order and you have to let me know now. This is how DFS treats customers and finds easy way out by cancelling orders and simply walks away after giving inconvenience to the customers. I need to know that I booked time off at work after spenking to call centre, who is responsible for the waste of time and holiday that was not required and on top inconvenience. In the evening I received email from delivery company informing me of delivery date that DFS fixed on my behalf without even consulting me and asking if that was convenient or if anyone will be available to accept that delivery. So imposed delivery and who is going to pay for the time off that I will have to take as I wasted day off already. This is utter disgrace and DFS should be proud of so called customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Worst Customer Service & Worst at delivery of your furniture on time Customer Service and delivery of your products is the points that DFS is very weak at. I have been promised my sofa and coffee tables would be delivered in 5 weeks , now its past 5 weeks , they tell me half of my furniture is ready in another week and also finance company (Barclays) needed extra document from them and they just sent and waiting for authorisation code. After ordering for so many customers , how can DFS not know what documents to send over and when to ask finance company for authorisation code, shouldn't be that hard to arrange, only reminders on the system 10 days before delivery of product to distribution center, to remind them to ask for authorisation code! I am completely disappointed at their service and how they can't be on time !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I bought bed electric ottoman delivery came and they don't know how to put it together electric thing not working and mattress is dirty and delivery man left bed half finish and I am sleeping on sofa 1 week since delivary nothung done yet I had bad experience very unprofessional delivery guy said they never put bed together before"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We are very pleased with our new sofa purchase. The ordering was easy and delivery prompt with polite drivers. The only gripe would be the floor protectors they charge you £30 for. Total rubbish and fell off after 2 weeks. We brought some from a diy shop in the end for £5 and they are still on 5 months later."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Appalling customer service and incompetent staff! Avoid the Tottenham Court Road store and DFS at all costs. Conflicting site survey, delayed delivery, poor communication all round, and finally wrong order delivered. When complaining to the store manager he was agressive and patronising. He told me it was “pointless” and a “waste (of) my time” to complain to head office, it turns out that he was right!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Insurance is a waste of money. Called Guardsman, their insurers out and fresh pet scratches are not covered. This was not explained to me when I was sold the insurance. Also pretty shoddy leather. Will not be fooled by this lot again but £1000 out of pocket. Grrr!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Ordered sofa on a 14 day delivery to be more than 2 weeks from ordering still no sofa and 4 different delivery dates given and changed!!! To be told there is nothing they can do but wait untill it is made. Not acceptable"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Very poor tracking, over a week late in arriving."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Awful company. We bought sofas in September 2017. We paid to have the sofas treated against stains. We paid for Guardsman cover, which we were told would cover us for any accidents or stains. In December, we realised that there had been some dye transfer from cushions on the sofas. We contacted Guardsman, only to be told that we weren't covered. We contacted DFS and they don't want to know. We don't believe that the sofas were treated against stains, or why would they stain so easily. We were also missold the Guardsman protection, as we were told we were covered for stains and we aren't. Awful, awful. New sofas that are completely ruined. Even though we paid for things to cover against these problems, DFS say that won't do anything (apart from to replace the affected fabric, at only a fraction less than we paid for the two sofas in total)."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Terrible,terrible experience.I placed my order in October2017 and promised to deliver by Christmas2017.They also advertised if you buy now it is guranteed delivery before christmas.Guess what,when i got my delivery? End of February2018 after lot of phone calls.My question is that,why customer has to go through that,when he or she paying for it.Their system & service is DISGUSTING.NEVER will buy anythig again. By the way i was given £50.00 as a goodwill gesture which is peanuts compare to £2500.00 and three months later delivery."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Received a text about my order and a telephone number to call back on. But I didn’t have any missed calls... I rang them after work and was on hold for quite some time, only to eventually be told their offices are now closed. Bravo! If your closed don’t let people into the queuing system and answer all calls that make it in before heading home."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Terrible experience with DFS that still hasn't been resolved 2 months later. I ordered a sofa bed, armchair and footstool and a king size bed frame with a mattress. I had problems with both the sofa bed and the bed frame. The sofa bed had stained cushions covered in watermarks. Turns out there was a leak on the delivery van and many items of furniture got wet, still after their 4 point inspection they still delivered me filthy goods. Ive had a sofa bed here for over 2 months that I've not been able to use because it hasn't got the cushions and DFS have still after 2 months failed to replace them for me. My bed frame arrived and was put together so shoddily that i could move the frame back and fourth with one finger (the bed should be solid). Service manager came out twice, on the second visit he was shocked at how this item was put together. Vital parts hadn't even been tightened, the bed could have collapsed and the safety of it was completely compromised. The service manager tried his best and had to use his OWN parts to repair a brand new bed. Needless to say it doesn't feel brand new, especially because parts were added that are not manufacturer parts. I had the displeasure of dealing with one of the rudest, arrogant, unprofessional and ignorant store managers I've ever had to deal with in my life called Chris from the Morden branch that after 5 weeks of dealing with me still didn't have a clue regarding my issues (i had sent photographic evidence to him 5 weeks earlier and called the store every week). This ultimately resulting in me insisting on dealing with an area manager from head office, only to be contacted by the same rude manager and told "area managers don't deal with customers and they are not going to do anything that i can do better" (this is after 5 weeks of having to deal with his terrible team and STILL not getting anything resolved). But he had a point because i was contacted by an area manager called Isaac who sounded very sympathetic and said he would get the issue resolved. This was over 3 weeks ago and i haven't heard from him or anyone else since. I am now going to have to get some legal advice. DFS have caused me a great deal of distress and they don't care. They do not have a dedicated team to del with customer complaints, you will always be passed from pillar to post. The only genuine help and concern I received was from a weekend member of staff at the Morden branch called Jade who is an asset to this shoddy company. Avoid DFS like the plague, after years of loyal custom they have treated me like rubbish and goodness knows when my issues with be resolves. All that excitement of buying new furniture has gone out the window and I'm just filled with regret."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Promise delivery then keep changing the delivery date and not just by a day or two but weeks."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Wanted to deliver the furniture in march when bought in december - was assured can be accomodated around our planned holiday in march - only to find out that it wont be. Disappointed"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I purchased a corner sofa and arm chair from DFS. The end cushion on the corner sofa does not fit the frame of the sofa and the cushion overhangs by about a hands width. I got someone out to look at it and was informed that it will take 6 months or so to settle, can't believe I fell for that. 6 months later the cushion is still overhanging and has not 'settled'. I sent an email to DFS with pictures of the sofa and I have a written response from DFS stating that 'the cushion is overhanging by quite a lot'. So, I got DFS out again to look at it. They told me in person that he could re-size it but would need to to check with a supervisor. This was 2 weeks ago and after 2 emails asking for an update I have had no response. After doing a bit of research I can see they have a lot of complaints to respond too which may explain the delay."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
DFS is rated 2.21 based on 38 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This