Debenhams Plus Reviews

1.48 Rating 221 Reviews
11% of reviewers recommend Debenhams Plus

How would you rate Debenhams Plus?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

221 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
Sofa hasn't been delivered, we've been chasing them up for weeks, manufacture and delivery is subcontracted and they use a courier called Furdeco who are a disgrace. Debenhams customer service seem to be incapable of resolving issues and are contradictory with excuses. I wish I'd read reviews before purchasing as I would have shopped elsewhere. Also, they won't refund until delivery has been refused. But they seem to be unable to deliver either. Don't expect the same service you'd get in a Debenhams store, I'd suggest avoid buying furniture from them.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Debenhams Plus in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"Sofa hasn't been delivered, we've been chasing them up for weeks, manufacture and delivery is subcontracted and they use a courier called Furdeco who are a disgrace. Debenhams customer service seem to be incapable of resolving issues and are contradictory with excuses. I wish I'd read reviews before purchasing as I would have shopped elsewhere. Also, they won't refund until delivery has been refused. But they seem to be unable to deliver either. Don't expect the same service you'd get in a Debenhams store, I'd suggest avoid buying furniture from them."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"I wished to purchase a laptop from their website and to discuss a price match promise on an identical laptop I saw elsewhere for only £10 less. I was advised on their web chat that they would not match it! I made a complaint online a week before Christmas and I am still waiting for a response. Passed from pillar to post. Promises promises promises. I work in local government and had I handled a customers complaint like this I would be dragged off to the Local Government Ombudsman."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"No Customer Service, don't exsist,"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Got a Samsung Galaxy S7. It was delivered after two days by DPD. Good communication and great service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dorothy Oneill
Unverified Reviewer
"Wish I could give negative stars! A shambles from start to finish. Ordered washing machine to be delivered to my third floor flat and paid for old one to be removed! Delivery man arrives and informs me he will only deliver 1.5 flights of stairs so I can cancel or get someone to carry rest of way!! Same for removing old machine. My partner and son had to carry the new one up and the old one down - both injured their backs in process. On unwrapping machine was damaged in three places - but not in obvious areas so I called and they discounted £55. But - when I used it it leaked all over floor - there was a huge crater in the casing unit holding dispenser drawer. I called to arrange return and refund - £100 of payment was on gift card - they said they would refund the cash to my account but the gift card £100 would take up to 28 days to get to me!!!! Raging! But kept checking account for cash part of refund ...... days go by and nothing. I call again - they have mistakenly put ALL of refund on the gift card!!!!! They won’t be able to rectify till I get the gift card and call them AGAIN with the number on it! They have over £400 of my money and I had the machine for 2 days - and the CUSTOMER SERVICES manager says it’s not their fault!! Don’t buy from them under any circumstances!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing a faulty Indesit tumble dryer from Debenhams Plus and am not able to get a reply from customer services. The machine was delivered yesterday and smells of burning plastic when switched on and doesn't work. Trying to get it collected and a refund. I have spent well over an hour now waiting for a reply and am still hanging on."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Ordered a PC monitor for my son for Christmas. Order was accepted and showing as dispatched the next day. Money was taken out of my account. 2 days later, no further emails. Checked order online and it states out of stock! So I emailed customer service team who confirmed it was out of stock and they would advise what date it would be delivered. At this point it was due to be delivered 18th December so I asked if that would still be the case, they confirmed it would be unlikely! So I cancelled the order. Ordered from elsewhere and received it on 18th as originally expected. Won’t be using these again. Should always, always read the reviews first!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Do not expect the same service as a Debenhams store although they use their name especially to return goods that are faulty when delivered to you. Standard email from customer services to say that they will get back to you in up to 8 hours. Delivery on 1.12.17. Return of payment on 20.12.17 after many phone calls and emails. only got that when I went to chat room. Never ever use them again. I would rather pay a couple of pounds more and by from Argos, Currys etc that has good customer after care services."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Ordered 2 in stock items at the end of November and the following day was told that they'd been dispatched. Waited at home on the the delivery day and when no items arrived had to get in touch with DebenhamsPlus, after a few emails it turned out that the items were out of stock and wouldn't be delivered until 2 weeks later on December 12th. Again had to get in touch when the items didn't arrive and was told that there had been a delay but the delivery would happen on the 15th. The items didn't arrive on the 15th so again had to chase DebenhamsPlus on the 18th and was finally told that the items were discontinued and that I wouldn't be getting a delivery, at this point the website still showed the same items as being in stock and ready for next day delivery ! I spoke to someone in customer services about an alternative product but was told that although I had purchased my items during a sale they weren't willing to apply the same discount to any alternative items that I wanted to order today so it would cost me an additional £120. The current price difference on the website is £22 for each of the 2 items! It appears that the company advertises items that it doesn't stock, ignores emails, doesn't follow up on customer questions and is unwilling to honour discounts on items that it shouldn't be selling. Debenhams should take a long, hard look at their arrangement with this company as it is damaging their brand. AVOID AT ALL COSTS !"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Poooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop
Unverified Reviewer
"poooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Disatisfied Customer In Northants
Unverified Reviewer
"READ THIS AND YOU WILL SEE WHY YOU SHOULD NOT USE DEBENHAM PLUS. This was such a debacle that I give you just an outline and spare the details. I tried to buy a fridge for my 84 year old mother who has dementia and is living on her own 3 hours drive from me. Wednesday: Bought and paid online for next day delivery on a Hotpoint fridge explaining the circumstances of my purchase and my mother's condition. Despite their earlier advice Debenhams then told me fridge not available for delivery. So in consultation with Debenhams paid and ordered another next day delivery fridge. Thursday: Next day fridge did not arrive. Told at last moment it had not arrived at depot on time. Delivery company (thepanthergroup) said could not ensure delivery until following week. Several conversations with Debenhams but no offer to reimburse next day delivery charge. Several emails and conversations later was told it would arrive on Saturday morning. Bombarded with emails telling me that fridge would be delivered at 11.30 and to make sure mother was at home and all prepared for the delivery. 10 minutes before delivery time received an email to inform me it would not be delivered. They had forgotten to put fridge on the delivery lorry! Was left waiting for 2 hours on Debenhams Plus customer service helpline. No proper service or solution. Debenhams and courier seem to want to blame each other. Helpful advisor on Debenhams' chatline reimbursed my next day delivery charge and advised the courier to contact me for yet another delivery date. Hours later still waiting for communication from delivery group. So 3 days after my next day delivery order mother still has no fridge Particularly confusing and upsetting for elderly person with a condition. I have since read other comments about Debenhams plus and am surprised that they are still in business"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We purchased a television from DebenhamsPlus believing we were ordering from the Debenhams technologhy and appliances division - turns out we were buying from Buy It Direct who have appalling customer service and appear to be in business to give customers as much grief as they possibly can. Ordering and delivery went great but the television developed a fault within days. To get any kind of half decent response I had to put in a formal complaint copied to Debenhams (after all it is the Debenhams name and logo being used and their reputation at stake). We eventually managed to book in a return but they expected us to wait 15 days for the TV to get back to them and be tested. More complaints and emails and quoting from the Consumer Act 2015 and we finally get them down to collecting on a Friday, testing on Monday with result the same day. We have dated photographic evidence of the fault and have requested a full refund - not the repair or replacement they said we could have. In accordance with the Consumer Rights Act we have made it clear that as it's less than 30 days since we bought the thing we are within our right to reject the item and get a full refund. How this company is not being investigated by Trading Standards is beyond us. Do yourself (and your mental wellbeing) a favour and avoid DebenhamsPlus"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Purchased a £1,600 fridge/freezer which developed a fault within 2 weeks. they are trying to wriggle out of their contract and my protection under consumer law and push me to the retailer. I;m ready for a lengthy fight I'd rather not have to have with a national, high street retailer who should know better than to flout consumer law"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I ordered this item in the middle of last week and they haven’t even processed the payment 5 days later."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I ordered a Samsung Galaxy S8, at probably the lowest UK price available, on Thursday and it was delivered via DPD on the Monday. Just two working days after. So full marks for speedy delivery. Their e-mail messaging service is very good too as they are prompt in replying to queries."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
A First And Last Time User Of Debenhams Plus
Unverified Reviewer
"At no point in time on the Debenhams website are you made clearly aware that Debenhams Plus is a different entity to Debenhams. Therefore you cannot return items to Debenhams stores. You have to ASK permission for a return and then you have to pay for the returns postage yourself."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Poor customer service experience. We purchased a microwave from Debenhams Plus which turned out to be the incorrect size. Debenhams wanted a 25% restock fee and customer also pays the returns post charges. There is no local drop off point for returns. After they take the restock fee and delivery charges Debenhams Plus would issue us with a voucher which would be less than the value needed to purchase the replacement microwave. In the end we decided to resell the microwave at a loss but meant we could take our business elsewhere. Bit of a learning experience but proves that price isn't everything and always a good idea to read over terms and conditions before purchasing anything. We thought that we were purchasing from Debenhams but the microwave was delivered by Hotpoint and when we contacted Debenhams to return it we were then transferred to Appliances Direct. The whole operation is a bit unclear to us and we will never purchase from any of these companies again. Stick to companies which offer local drop off services like Curry's and John Lewis. They also offer 30day returns policy on purchases."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Mr I A M Unhappy
Unverified Reviewer
"I placed an order using my debit card. The order was for a laptop for my business. They invoiced me personally and would not change the invoice to that of my business. This meant that I was unable to reclaim the VAT element. Poor show!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Stefan Resner
Unverified Reviewer
"I purchased a Samsung Note 8 at £69 lower than available on the high street or reputable dealers online. I chose next day delivery for an extra £5 but as that was a Sunday I new it would be a Monday delivery. I trust Debenhams but thought I would do a search on Debenhams Plus rating. I was worried by all the bad comments and worried I had made a mistake and thought I should cancel my order. At their opening time on Sunday I called and was careful to choose the options to get through to the correct department. I got through first time to a very helpful lady who reassured me Debenhams Plus was associated with Debenhams and was surprised I had reservations. I decided not to cancel. Sunday evening I received a confirmation the parcel was dispatched and would arrive next day at about 11:00. Monday I received notification it would arrive between 11:28 and 12:28. It arrived at 11:32 by DPD. The mobile phone was sealed as new from Samsung. Very pleased with the efficiency and low price and I cannot understand why Debenhams Plus star rating is so low. Very pleased with service, price, delivery and the product was as described."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Not a complaint more general observation. Went into Foreign Exchange in Exeter to purchase Thai Baht as easily the best rate. Only wanted £500 worth, told by the 3 members of staff sat with no customers can only purchase Dollars or Euros. Seems everything else has to be ordered and picked up 5 Days later ! Went to Marks and Spencer’s lower rate but told over 40 different Currencies in Stock. Need to provide a better and wider service Debenhams."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Debenhams Plus is rated 1.48 based on 221 reviews