Cornerstone Reviews

4.64 Rating 4,013 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Cornerstone
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.89 out of 5
Read Cornerstone Reviews
Visit Website

Email:

help@cornerstone.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Cornerstone made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I've used the Cornerstone razor and blades for about six weeks now. In short, they're Ok. The quality of shave is about the same as, well, most razors really, but, when pitched against the Gillette big boys, it's always been a cut-below - no pun intended - because it lacks the extra little trimmer-blade that's always useful when sorting-out above the top lip. In fact, whenever I use the Cornerstone, I've had to dig-out the Gillette to finish-up. Sad really. When you consider it for a moment (presumably if you're the type of person with nothing better to do), given that razors and blades don't have a best-before date, this whole 'Razors in the post' thing is a bit weird and it's more puzzling that I see more companies are now clambering aboard. If the product is amazing and if I'm going to need to shave most days of my life, wouldn't it just be easier to do what Gillette and the retailers are increasingly doing and simply sell you a job-lot of blades for one fixed price? After all, even if you live in a bedsit, razor-blades take up very little space, and even if, at the end of, say, a year, I had ten blades left, well, I'd wait till they ran out and then place a new order. Easy. And a little more eco-friendly. Instead, we get this mail-order thing which may be fine for, say, olive oil or bouquets of flowers (where regularities and types of orders can change and where you often can't viably keep them in storage for very long) but it makes no real sense or logic when it comes to shaving. Does it? Think about it for a moment. It really doesn't. It's weird. I suppose the odd person may get a kick out of saying: "Oh, do you buy your razor blades in Waitrose!?? OMG! How 2015 are you!?? Mail-order is the way forward!" but...well... That horrible tosser Kelvin Mackenzie has been attacking - amongst other things - the Gillette Mafia rather a lot recently in THE SUN, arguing that whilst the blades cost 5p to produce, they're flogging them out at a mark-up of about one million percent and it's utterly unacceptable. Indeed. But here's the puzzling thing: Cornerstone doesn't work out any cheaper. In fact, if you shop around, it's marginally more expensive. According to their site, six "German engineered" blades will set me back £14. But go to Websites like, 'Shavers' and eight Gillete Fusion razors will only cost £18.50 and will give my postman a little less work to do. So...there isn't really any cost-saving at all - perhaps enough to buy a tin of kidney beans or something, but that's it. In any case, the likes of Tesco and Superdrug are increasingly flogging-out 40 packs of blades for pretty-decent sums (as said); they well undercut Cornerstone's prices. So, if you're thinking it's cheaper, it ain't. Really. If you really love saving dollar, shop about and you'll find the Mafia-brands are actually rather cheaper.... If what-turns-you on is their being "German engineered," go buy a razorblade in ALDI (actually rather good) or LIDL (decent too). ....Then there's the fact that Cornerstone take the stress and hassle out of having to reach up onto the shelves of Tesco or Sainsbury's when you're next visiting aisle 9 (Hair and cosmetics) to pick-up a box of blades. I know. It's a nightmare moment no self-respecting bloke ever looks forward to. I've had many a sleepless night over it...reaching up above the KY Jellies and strange lubricants to slowly touch the corner of a Wilkinson's 6 pack, my mouth forming a polo mint-sized O shape as I gasp at the price ("£8.99 for 4...WTF!"). Cornerstone have solved this though: they deliver them straight to your door. Phew. But, of course, I still have to go to Sainsbury's or Tesco every week. I still have to visit aisle 9 for shampoo and Anadin Extras. So - the 'benefit' of having some blades drop through my door isn't very exciting or, well beneficial really. In fact, if anything, it's a bit of a hassle: there may be weeks or months where I do a Rasputin and opt not to shave and so don't need blades through my door. Yeah, yeah, I know I can amend my order with Cornerstone but...If I'm not a member, I don't have to worry about that do I?! Finally. The shave quality. I've used the lot over the years. Wilkinson's, Wilkos (yeah, their own brand), Gillette, Aldi, Lidl, Kwik Save (remember them?) etc. I've even used some really rubbish cheapo disposable jobs from Tesco and thus experienced some godawful shaves. The Cornerstone ones are...well, no better or worse than the standard big-names. In my view. You shave. You feel your face. Occasional bristles still on the skin. You shave again. The feel of the metal handle's rather plush and it's great if you have a tendency to forget your name from time to time as they stamp your initials onto it as a gentle reminder...but...that's all. Those people who appear to be getting their boxer shorts a little damp at the front in their Cornerstone reviews may need to think harder: did it really, truly do something that the Aldi treble, the Wilko blue or the Gillette Mach 3 didn't? Really? Really? I won't be extending my order - if it were a big cost saver or gave me some amazing shave that were making women (and men) fall at my feet, maybe. But, whilst the product is decent, it's no better than many of its competitors and the razors-in-the-mail thing is, well...pointless.
Posted 4 years ago
Thanks for the review - sorry to hear that our razors didn't quite meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently developing a new razor that will feature a trimming blade at the back and would love to welcome you back to Cornerstone when it's released.
Posted 4 years ago
Can't say I'm sold on the blades. I've waited for over a month with a a few shaves behind me now before leaving a review. Had irritation after every shave since using these, which compared to me using my usual razor is quite frustrating. I haven't used any different products as what I had was adequate enough to not give me irritation. The blades seem to drag even with a new blade in. And don't cut as close as I'd like. My only good point towards these is the personalised handle. Sadly I won't be using these again.
Posted 4 years ago
I'm really sorry to hear that Adam. Our blades are angled different to many of our competitors so may take a little getting used to - if you need any help please do feel free to get in touch with our care team at help@cornerstone.co.uk
Posted 4 years ago
The first shave with each blade is superb! But then it is clogged and I can't clear it. The second shave with each blade is probably worse than my usual Gillette Fusion blades. I think overall, I prefer the Gillette blades simply due to longetivity. Positives, first shave is brilliant, shave gel and balm are nice. Facial scrub is a bit gimmicky, but I'll still use it while I have it. But the fact remains, the long term cost I foresee with these blades is just too high as I get no longevity from them. I also should point out, I've had some of the blades rust if I haven't used them for a couple of days.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Neil, Thanks for your review and leaving us some feedback - we really appreciate it! I'm sorry that you've not been too impressed with the blades though. It's unusual that they have become blunt and rusted after such a short period of use. If you haven't already, I would recommend emailing our customer care team at help@cornerstone.co.uk as they will want to know about this and try to help you out. Thanks again for your review and best wishes.
Posted 4 years ago
I have just had the worst shave ever. The blades are rubbish they do not cut they drag & clog up even when you run them through water to try & clean them. It ripped my face to bits. I picked up my Gillet Mach 3 turbo instant smooth action with No Drag at all. £4 if I would have known I would not have had them even if they were free. It's a shame I had hi hopes being a new British company. Great idea but you need top quality blades for this to work. I could have had a better shave with a pack of cheap throw aways for less than £2. Do you want it back or bin it. Sorry but it's rubbish.
Posted 4 years ago
I'm so sorry to hear that you feel this way, Nigel. Our blades are angled differently to many of our competitors so may take some getting used to, but they definitely shouldn't cause cuts. If you're able to get in touch with our Customer Care Team at help@cornerstone.co.uk they'll be able to help out.
Posted 4 years ago
Just returned from a 10-day holiday from Corfu. Boy, was I raging that I didn’t bring extra Cornerstone shaving cream with me. Putting a little of my cream in a container, I ran out within 4 days. As I could not carry the 150ml through airport security (the allowed amount is only of 100ml). I think it would be a good idea if you were to consider producing a 100ml tube that would get us shavers out of this travelling problem.
Posted 4 years ago
So sorry about that, Michael. We have recently released a travel-size shave gel - you can purchase this by getting in touch with the team at help@cornerstone.co.uk so be sure to give us a shout before you next go away!
Posted 4 years ago
""hi the blades are good but the handle is very slippery
Posted 3 years ago
I'm so glad you think our blades gives you a clean shave, although I'm sorry to hear that you think the new handle is rather too slippery for you. We really do appreciate all our members' thoughts and feedback for any future developments so thank you for taking the time to write us an honest review. :-)
Posted 3 years ago
I was looking at cornerstone but the reviews are terrible so may as well stick to Gillette and carry on getting ripped off and I haven't even tried cornerstone after such negativity
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Richard, sorry to hear you're not impressed with our reviews. There are positive and negative reviews about us and we'd love for you to make your own mind up. We're so confident a Cornerstone shave can convert anyone, we offer a full, no-quibble refund on your first box, if you don't rate the shave - so no need to worry about being out of pocket.
Posted 3 years ago
Sorry but the new blades resemble more of a "Bic" than a "Cornerstone" I have cancelled my subscription now and have asked for a refund, especially after being told that I need to rinse the blade between each pass... Something I have done for over 25 years! As someone else has said if you put the "Original" and "New" blades side by side there is no comparison - the "Original Cornerstone" are far Superior ! Repackaged and ready to send back.... pity you can't give zero stars!
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Andy, Thanks for your review and sorry to hear that the changes we've made to the razor haven't been positive for you. We developed it based on feedback from our members and worked on spacing the blades better to prevent clogging. I'm sorry that it hasn't been helpful here. I hope that our care team have been able to help you out already but please do get back in touch with them if you have any questions or if there's anything else you need. Thanks again and all the best.
Posted 3 years ago
Sorry Guys - got to say it - but the new blades resemble more of a "Gillette" than a "Cornerstone" - it seems you've really allowed a commercial decision to influence the fantastic product you once had - I bet you've even factored in a percentage for loss of custom with the new blades ? We'll add me to the list of "never to re-order" please - along with my mate who I introduced. It's a typical example of standards being eroded ! - Sad ! I love to see all the substantiating information and research onto "why" you did it - as I suspect that where you say it was the membership who asked for it - is complete and absolute "poppycock" I wonder if the "power of social media" can bring back our old blades ? Or even better - I've just thought - track down the original supplier and start again ! Put the "Original" and "New" blades side by side - there is no comparison - the "Original Cornerstone" are far Superior ! Goodbye Cornetstone ! ( but "yes" - I will accept an offer of using the "Original" until the stock runs out - which I would imagine - there will now be a rush on ! ) Regards, Joe Birmingham
Posted 3 years ago
I have been using Cornerstone products for about three months now, and I very much like the automatic delivery schedule and their great customer service team, who are really good at communicating deliveries and so on. The Shave Gel is very different from the Nivea product I used before. Much less is needed, and when applied it is invisible. However, the shave is excellent, and after only a few days to get used to it, I liked it very much. Initially, I used too much and ran out of product before the six weeks were up (I shave every day). However, no problem, I sent Cornerstone an email and they were happy to mail me out a new tube next day and before the normal delivery date, so now I have a tube in hand. However, I think with experience I am now using less, and a tube will last six weeks. Face Scrub is not a product I have used before, but it really does seem to add something to the quality of the shave, and I am now very happy to use it every few days and for 'special occasion' shaves. I also enjoy the Face Balm, and again I made an initial mistake of using too much - a little does go a long way, and I enjoy the minty fresh sensation after shaving, but without the drying effects of alcohol after shave. I had no problem with the old style razor and blades, which only lacked an edge trimmer in my experience. I have to say that the new style razor and blades are a bit of a disappointment. The razor has a smooth chrome, slightly curvy finish, and it is very difficult to hold accurately as it is quite slippy and a bit like trying to hang on to a greasy pole. The blades too do not shave as closely as the previous ones, and my opinion on that has not changed after ten days or so of use. They also seem to need to be held at a particular angle, far more accurately than the previous ones. The addition of the edge trimmer is welcome, but unfortunately there seems to be more downside than upside as a result of the change. I would revert to the old style razor and blades if that were an option, and if the edge trimmer could be added to the old style blades, the product would be perfect.
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for your lovely review however I am sorry to hear that you are not a fan of the new blades. We developed it specifically with feedback from our members, who asked us to include a trimmer blade, better blade spacing and a more contoured handle. We even asked some members to help test our razor before its release, to be sure we got it just right. I’m sorry it hasn’t felt that way for you. If you pop an email across to the care team on help@cornerstone.co.uk they can revert you back to the original blades for future orders whilst we have them in stock.
Posted 3 years ago
I have just used my razor for the first time, the blades are excellent and give a nice close shave. The handle is awful, shaving uses water and water on the Chrome handle makes it very slippery. It is the worst handle I have used and is very inferior to your competitors . A rubberised handle would make your product truly excellent. I have also not received my aftershave balm which was on my order
Posted 4 years ago
Hi John - thanks for the review, I'm so sorry to hear you are not getting along with our handle. We developed our new razor based on feedback and suggestions from our members, and even asked some of them to test it out before it was released. In developing the handle, we designed it to be more contoured, to fit in the hand better - I’m sorry to hear that hasn’t done the trick for you. We would recommend rinsing any gels or creams from your hands and drying them throroughly, before going ahead with your shave.
Posted 4 years ago
The razor is difficult to hold when even slightly wet, style over practicality. The blades go off quickly and clog up. Could do with a single blade for shaving under nose. I also ended up with a sore red spotty neck. Not for me I'm afraid.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Rodney, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry that you've not gotten on too well with the handle and blades - I hope that the irritation wasn't too severe and that it calmed down quickly. If you haven't already, I'd recommend popping an email to our care team at help@cornerstone.co.uk as they'll want to hear about this and offer some assistance. We've made some changes to our handle and blades recently so it's quite possible that our updated razor might be a bit better for you. Thanks again and best wishes.
Posted 4 years ago
I found that the blades are too close together and have a tendency to clog up. Like others I found that they do not retain their edge for long. Branding is excellent but that's where it ends. It's all about slick marketing and creating a perception of excellence in the users mind. The fact is, that these are no better than high street bought blades. The assortment of creams are not very good either. The gel is odd and the post shave balm smells like a mint choc chip ice cream. Sorry.
Posted 4 years ago
Sorry that our goodies weren't for you - we are currently developing a new razor which will feature better blade spacing, more flexible head and a trimmer blade at the back for an even smoother shave.
Posted 4 years ago
Order on the 5th march payment was took then still waiting. Have emailed twice waiting for reply
Posted 4 years ago
I'm so sorry to hear that Sam, our customer care team are always on hand during office hours in the week and we have limited cover at the weekends. They do always respond to emails, have you had a response yet?
Posted 4 years ago
Hey us women are missing out ere.... I have to say I do "borrow" my husbands razor to de-muff the ole pins & it leave them beautifully smooth & never get any ingrown bits either. How about bringing out a "pink" version or a "glitter" one for us ladies pleeeeeeease xXx
Posted 4 years ago
Hey Mandy, thanks for the great review! We're focusing on just the one razor for the moment but we do have plenty of female members so feel free to set up your own subscription at any time!
Posted 4 years ago
This is not a review it is about my non delivery I should have received it on Wed or Thurs now Sat still not got could you help me please
Posted 4 years ago
Sorry to hear about that, David! If you haven't already, please pop an email to our care team at help@cornerstone.co.uk and they'll be able to look into this for you and find out what's happened.
Posted 4 years ago
I love the aluminium Handle of the Razor and the blades give an excellent first shave....BUT using the razor for the second shave and especially third is a different story. I find that the blades blunt very quickly and by the time you try and shave for a third time its very uncomfortable and drags. I therefore get throught the blades far quicker than I should and have to buy 'top up blades' whilst waiting for next delivery.
Posted 4 years ago
Thanks for leaving us some feedback, Tim! It's great to hear you're enjoying the shave. Sorry to hear you've encountered issues with the blades going blunt though. If you haven't already, check out our blog post for some tips on making your blades last as long as possible. http://blog.cornerstone.co.uk/three-easy-ways-to-keep-your-blades-sharp/ And if you think there could be something wrong with a particular batch of blades you received then please do contact our customer care team by email at help@cornerstone.co.uk and they'll want to look into this for you.
Posted 4 years ago
I used to use The Bearded Colonel, but changed to Cornerstone as they allow far more flexibility on blade delivery - which I very much like - and they use/source the same blades which are excellent. I have just one very small niggle that is the same for all of these multi-blade providers: the gaps between the blades are difficult to get completely clean so unless you shave every day (I don't) the gunk that collects there goes hard and makes for a very much less effective shave. I use an old toothbrush head to clean the blades each time but my wife constantly throws it away - yes, I keep telling her (she constantly forgets), and, yes, I have considered divorce (too expensive). Along with all the other products it would be useful if Cornerstone offered a small cleaning brush with their logo on it - I feel that this would not get thrown away and it would perfectly complement their range. If it wasn't for this, I would have given them 5 stars.
Posted 4 years ago
Thanks for the review David! Sorry to hear you are having trouble with gunk on your razor, we find that if you rinse the blade under hot water between strokes and after shaving that should minimize this.You may also be pleased to know that we are currently working on a new razor with better blades spacing which should rectify this issue. We don't have any plans to introduce a cleaning brush at the moment however we may look into this again in the future. :-)
Posted 4 years ago
The blade handle looks cool but I found after a week of using it the shine from the blade handle disappeared. The blade handle after a 2 weeks of use has dark grey patches all over it, I find the blade for me does not last more than one shave before they go blunt compare this to other well known brands it is poor. They say "Our products are seriously good: German-engineered " maybe they got lost on the way to Germany and ended up in Romania. Really disappointed as I really like to support local business.
Posted 4 years ago
Great razor & shaving products give a fantastic close shave. Definitely worth buying the complete shave system.
Posted 5 years ago
Thanks for the review, Jon! So happy to hear you're enjoying the complete Cornerstone experience :-)
Posted 4 years ago
Cornerstone is rated 4.64 based on 4,013 reviews