CORGI HomePlan Reviews

1.40 Rating 10 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend CORGI HomePlan
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how CORGI HomePlan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Had a hot water problem and still have it 10 days later! – I’ve chronicled my experience below. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE save yourselves similar issues and go elsewhere for boiler cover!! Sunday 2nd February – No hot water for morning shower, heating working ok. Rang Corgi Homeplan at approx. 12.30. Was asked about boiler pressure etc and then told that the fault ‘should be fixed within 24 hours unless we have to order parts’ Monday 3rd February – rang again after 24 hours as we hadn’t heard anything. Said they would get someone there next day. Asked if it could be quicker and someone came round late that afternoon – diagnosed fault and said that part would need to be ordered Tuesday 4th Feb – contacted Corgi again and asked when part would be available – told that it was coming from the manufacturer (Vaillant) and would be ready tomorrow. Checked that it would be a genuine part and was told it would be as it was coming from the manufacturer. Gas fitter texted to say part would be ready Thursday and he would be in touch to arrange fitting – asked where he was getting it as local suppliers had it in stock. Was told it was coming from Newcastle and that he would pick it up Wednesday and fit it in the afternoon Wednesday 5th Feb – contacted gas fitter and asked when he would be with us. Told us he was still in Newcastle and it would be Thursday morning – he would be with us by 10.30 Thursday 6th February – Fitter arrived with part but couldn’t drain boiler (!). Said he had someone in his car he had to drop off in Galashiels so he would come back at 3.30. Checked part and it was a pattern part not a Vaillant part so delay was to source a cheaper option (as correct part was in stock locally) – Just the sort of customer service I now see as their norm! No one arrived Phoned corgi – they told me the Pressure relief valve was faulty (it wasn’t) and that the boiler was sludged so they wouldn’t progress the claim (this is a boiler that has been on a maintenance contract with British Gas for seven years and was cleaned a year ago)* – I protested and they agreed to send out someone else to double check. Appointment made for 10am Friday Checked boiler – PRV was working but pressure gauge (which was working on Sunday) wasn’t showing any drop in pressure – now not working! Friday 7th February – 10am nobody arrived, 11am phoned corgi – they said the fitter was delayed on a job and apologised – he would ring me in half an hour and be with me that afternoon. No one arrived Saturday 8th February – No contact and no fitter Sunday 9th February – Same Monday 10th – fitter rang and we arranged 11.30am appointment. He arrived early, drained down boiler (no sludge and working pressure relief valve!) fitted part which did not solve the problem. Left to get an extra part which also did not solve the problem. Told me I needed a new boiler or that Vaillant could fix it if I paid a £90 callout charge. Left the heating not working! (was ok before) Rang a plumber friend who came round and fixed it in 2 minutes! Still have no constant hot water. Tuesday 11th February - Rang to cancel my Contract with them given the issues ( I’ve decided to replace the Boiler as you simply cannot trust this sort of company to repair them) and was told that I would have to pay the full year in order to cancel. Asked to lodge a complaint and spoke to customer services who investigated. They are paying compensation for the inconvenience which covers the year I have to pay but I still have to pay a £60 callout charge! Absolutely useless rabble – totally and utterly inept. 10 days without working hot water which they view as acceptable. Tried to wriggle out of fixing it by claiming sludge in system and when that failed just washed their hands of it (making sure of course they got their £60) *Worth noting that the who fitted our new boiler commented on how clean the system water was and used the 'broken’ PRV to drain the system - AVOID THEM!!!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Boiler failure. Worcester Greenstar 37CDi boiler with Digistat controller sometimes fails to cut in or out on the Digistat thermostat, A faulty Digistat controller was diagnosed by a Corgi heating contractor, the controller was renewed, this was not the cause of the malfunction, as the boiler has failed on many occasions since. Despite the initial diagnosis, and my video evidence of failures, Corgi will not rectify the fault, as several heating contractor visits since have failed to diagnose the fault So I can’t leave the home, in case it freezes or overheats as no reliable control. Photo - controller receives signal to switch on, boiler fails to cut in (no flame light).
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I can’t begin to tell you how awful this company is. Avoid at all costs; they take your money and never resolve issues. Complaints not upheld, despite subcontracting to incompetent racists in my case.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Paid my £15/month; was then charged £60 excess for an engineer callout to be told that a defunct hot water heat exchanger would not be replaced because the engineer assessed that the problem had been caused by sludge in my system - all my radiators work perfectly from top to very bottom and the system was last fully drained and reprotected 4 years ago but Corgi wouldn't budge on their refusal to cover me. Scheisters - expect them to seek a wriggle-out clause for any claim that you might make. Having read Corgi's reply I can only state that my system does not have a sludge problem - their engineer did not examine my system beyond taking a sample of water from the front of the pump with his fingertip and finding it to be discoloured - he did not examine any of the radiators or pipework to seek substantive evidence of sludge buildup (which he would not have found) - that is insufficient examination to make any professional assessment. But, on the basis of this inadequate assessment, Corgi have sent me an email stating that they will not give me further full cover unless I provide documentary proof of a professional powerflush - such a powerflush would cost several hundred pounds and could easily cause damage to my system that would cost a great deal of money to repair, beyond being completely unnecessary. This is a shameful and indefensible stance for Corgi to take, and to be charged £60 for an engineer callout only to be told that the engineer will not carry out the required work is thoroughly disreputable - furthermore, when I told them that the policy is now worthless to me they stated that, should I wish to cancel it, there will be an "administration" charge approximately equal to the remainder of the 12 months payments! Further and, hopefully last, comment on this. As a result of the last two paragraphs Corgi customer service contacted me (they told me that the reason for the contact was this review). They appeared sympathetic to my arguement and offered for a different engineer to attend - I accepted this offer. The engineer has now contacted me and advised me that his visit is not to investigate and resolve my problem - his instructions are to do no more than take a water sample and send it for analysis; should that analysis reveal the presence of any contaminant, e.g. limescale or iron oxide, then my claim would still be refused. He also explained that the sample would be taken NOT from my system but from the heat exchanger SUPPLY side - he was clear in his belief that the breakdown was not caused by system sludge but by limescale in the water supply! When I put it to him that, in the area in which I live (hardest water in the UK), these contaminants will most certainly be present, he agreed. He also didn't take issue with my analysis that, whilst his visit was clearly intended to seek evidence to support Corgi's stance on this matter, it would not lead to any resolution of the problem. I have now cancelled his visit and hope to have nothing further to do with Corgi - ever. And my advice to you, dear readers, is that, unless your water supply is comprised solely of pure water containing zero trace elements, any money paid to this company for boiler insurance will be wasted money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Fantastic customer service , engineers go above and beyond! John Rutherford was amazing . Highly recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Have just read your reply. If you had taken the time to read the review you will have read that YOUR engineer broke the tap, if you had taken the time to go into my file your company gave me authorisation to use a private plumber and change the taps and charge you instead of posting a generic response.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We have a 4 month old baby and its now 9 days (so far) of No hot water or heating - is this acceptable??!!! 3 engineers down and still waiting for Corgi to sort it. Last engineer said they could fix the new parts but Corgi said they wanted to get a better price elsewhere and thus we are still waiting for the fix. This is definitely not a "service" worth paying for
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Intermittent fault with control system on boiler, Corgi refused to repair till system completely failed absolute abseil service, been with them 9 years and never claimed, cancelled policy with immediate effect couldn't recommend them under any circumstance
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
1) I am a 73 year old pensioner, at home all day. My wife is the same age, and suffers from an underactive thyroid, which means she is unable to effectively regulate her body temperature. 2) We have had no heating since the boiler broke down during the night of Monday the 28th January. It is now the evening of the 3rd of February, and we still await a date when the boiler will be repaired. 3) The lowest temperatures for seven years have been experienced during this period. We are both cold and unable to keep warm with the use of portable heating appliances. 4) Information regarding the progress of our claim has only been obtainable by telephoning the company helpline. There have been no proactive measures by Corgi HomePlan Ltd to keep me, the customer, informed. This represents a failure in customer care. 6) I have been informed that Corgi HomePlan Ltd are in communication with the boiler manufacturers, but have not been informed what the outcome is. This whole episode indicates a failure to put the customer first, and I suggest a review of Corgi HomePlan's practices and procedures at the highest level. I am unable to recommend anyone to become a customer of CorgiHomePlan. Update - Sunday 3rd February 11am. Telephoned CorgiHomePlan again and spoke to an advisor named Bill, who still can't say when my boiler will be fixed. It's 3 degrees outside, but was much colder last night. Bill advised me that his colleague Paul had telephoned Baxi the boiler manufacturer, yesterday, but they couldn't find any details on their system.He promised to ring Baxi again and update me.( We shall see). Off now to scrape the ice off the windows and fill a hot water bottle. Another update tomorrow. Interim update 6pm 3rd February - Unfortunately Customer Advisor Bill didn't ring me, so It looks like another night in the cold with no knowledge of when we will have some heating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Was left with no heating or hot water for over a wk after their eng came to do a service and found a fault with flue gasses and isolated the gas supply asked why he couldn’t fix it he said he only got paid for the service A few days later another eng arrived,stripped the boiler and said he couldn’t fix it because the repair was to the flue and that was beyond his remit When asked what happens now he shrugged and said I would have to get someone in to fix it I contacted a local heating eng who had a look ordered the parts and had it up and going the following day For his service and parts it cost me £300 over and above the annual fee to corgi There response was the couldn’t pay for a non reg corgi engineer I then cancelled my policy and told them how happy I was with the service they had provided NOT
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
CORGI HomePlan is rated 1.40 based on 10 reviews