Cleveland Containers Reviews

4.66 Rating 1,340 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Cleveland Containers
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 94%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 91%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.81 out of 5
Read Cleveland Containers Reviews

About Cleveland Containers:

Based in Middlesbrough, we’re one the UK’s leading suppliers of shipping containers, with models for sale or hire in all sizes to fit your needs: from 6 ft to 45 ft, in both new and used models, whichever suits your budget.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 005 5666

Write Your review

Tell us how Cleveland Containers made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 26th July 2021
Anonymous
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 26th July 2021
Graham Robertson
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 28th June 2021
Frank Jennings
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 28th June 2021
Ian Smith
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 26th April 2021
Hilena Archibald
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 13th April 2021
Anonymous
Cleveland Containers 5 star review on 23rd March 2021
Marc Carr
62
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Two containers ordered and paid for but only one delivered and advised that the other one wouldn't arrive for a couple of weeks further.
Posted 5 days ago
Ordered a used 20ft container moderated damaged…think it had been at bottom of sea for 10 years it was high damage really wouldn’t used Cleveland container again…we did get it sorted in the end
Posted 1 month ago
Hello, We’re disappointed to see that you have left us a negative review and apologise for any inconvenience that the container you initially received may have caused you. The condition of our used units can vary as they are usually 10-15 years old and have spent a lifetime being shipped internationally. These containers are still structurally sound and weatherproof, however due to their age and previous use these containers will show signs of wear and tear, some more significantly than others. The container in question had spent 20 hours in our workshop prior to being delivered, with our team of technicians repairing any damage and confirming it acceptable to be sold and used as a second-hand wind and watertight container. Unfortunately, on this occasion, it did not meet your standards and for this we are sorry. When you addressed your concerns about the condition of your used container to us, we agreed that it would be replaced with a new (one trip) unit, with yourself paying the remaining balance and Cleveland Containers delivering the container free of charge as a token of apology. Our sales and transport team worked hard to rectify this as quickly as possible to ensure your new container was delivered promptly and without any trouble. We’re sorry that you had a bad experience with us as we pride ourselves on our customer service and don’t want to let our customers down. Your feedback has been taken on board and will be relayed to the relevant departments. Kind regards, Cleveland Containers
Posted 1 month ago
Really disappointed with the service provided. Very poor communication, the first sales manager wouldn’t reply to messages/emails for a few weeks. I then got transferred to another sales manager who’s communication was a lot better but only until the point where we had confirmed our order. After the point of paying for our order , we had to constantly chase for updates and then after three weeks of chasing i was told the double side opener had been sold a day before we had made our payment - how this information did not get to me for three whole weeks is beyond me! This meant having to change all of our project plans and there was no empathy and willingness to show any compensation at all. For a community interest organization, this has been a very stressful experience. My initial contact via chat point your website advised containers could be shipped within 3-5 days if in stock - this was very inaccurate! To be honest it has been a shocking service and not expected from a company of your size. I would have gone elsewhere if you didn’t have the tri doors that we needed. Your social media accounts are wonderfully managed and the people answering the chat have always been very friendly - i just wish your customer service from sales managers was the same - i very much feel like i was treated as an order rather than a customer - i hope this can improve in the future.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Liane, We’re sorry for the communication difficulties you had ordering from us. This is not the experience we want our customers to have and are disappointed that this is the case. You were originally in communication with a sales manager who is no longer with us, who provided you with incorrect information and lead times. When you raised your concerns with the social media team, we promptly reassigned your enquiry to a new sales manager who then tried his best to help and manage expectations. It is difficult to guarantee stock because our containers are sold so quickly. Due to a miscommunication, we couldn’t provide you with the container you desired and for this we are very sorry. Although we can’t make up for this error, we did honour a previous, reduced rate of the side opener you purchased from us and are currently refunding the difference. Thank you for your compliments on the LiveChat and social media team, I will make sure that all of your feedback is passed on to the appropriate departments. Kind regards, Cleveland Containers
Posted 1 month ago
FLAT PACK CONTAINER WAS NOT DELIVERED ON THE APPROPRIATE VEHICLE AS AGREED AT TIME OF ORDER, AS A RESULT IT WAS LEFT ON MY DRIVEWAY 70 METERS AWAY FROM DESIGNATED SITE. VERY DIFFICULT TO MOVE BY HAND SO STILL ON DRIVEWAY. THE CONTAINER HAS A MDF WOODEN FLOOR, I DID NOT SEE ANY INFO ABOUT WOODEN FLOOR, NORMAL SHIPPING CONTAINERS HAVE METAL FLOOORS. THE WOOOD WILL ROT AND I DOUBT IT WILL TAKE MUCH RENT
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Mr. Philip Entwisle, We’re disappointed to see that you have left us a negative review. As stated on the webpage for our flatpack containers, these units come with OSB wooden floors as standard: https://www.clevelandcontainers.co.uk/specialised-containers/flat-pack-container This is also displayed on the PDF quotes we send out to our customers, which you would have received. All standard steel containers are supplied with plywood flooring as well. Regarding the delivery, we apologise for making this mistake and transporting the container on a truck that couldn’t reach your desired location. Please note that these incidents are rare, and we are disappointed that this error occurred. We’re sorry that your experience has ended with you leaving us a negative review. We hope that this hasn’t deterred you from ordering from us again, we pride ourselves on our customer service and don’t want to let our customers down. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact marketing@clevelandcontainers.co.uk
Posted 2 months ago
I have purchased 14 containers over the past 2 years and these two from Cleveland were by far the worst,I expect some scratches down the sides but they were excessive, one was really bad with a large repair to one side and damage to the rubber seal in two places,I had to use nearly a full tin of the Ral green paint to cover all the damage.overall not happy.
Posted 2 months ago
a very poor company who undervalue their customers, the NEW storage container we leased are of poor construction they are NOT vermin proof.
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Tim, Apologies for any inconvenience caused, however, we as a business need to ensure the people or businesses hiring our containers are not a risk to us in terms of their credit score which any business would look into when hiring or leasing their products. As there were multiple orders placed in quick succession with no trading history, it was established there was a potential risk. Once a trading history is built, we would be happy to provide more containers. Before requesting more units from us, you made us aware that you were very happy with the containers which is why you wanted to hire some more from us so we are disappointed to receive this review which we do not believe is a true reflection of our service. If we can be of any further assistance in the future we would be very happy to help. Kind Regards, Cleveland Containers
Posted 5 months ago
Very very poor not even one
Posted 6 months ago
ORDERED ON THE 4TH SEPTEMBER 2020 AND PAID IN FULL IN ADVANCE. 1NR 10FT STORE & 1NR 50:50 SPLIT CONTAINER. WAS SHOWN A PHOTO OF THE 50:50 UNIT, WEEKS WENT BY AND THEN GOT TOLD THE PHOTOS WERE FOR A MORE EXPENSIVE UNIT AND THEY DONT HAVE ANY 50:50 SPLIT CONTAINERS ANYMORE. CHENGED ORDER TO 2NR CABINS, MONTHS WENT BY, CHASED WEEKLY. FINALY RECIEVED BOTH STORES WC 11TH JAN. SO NOT GREAT. ...... WE CAN BUILD HOUSES ON SITE QUICKER THAN YOU CAN PAINT A CONTAINER AND GET IT OUT ON SITE!!
Posted 6 months ago
Despite having ordered over 30 Containers from you all with explicit instructions that we CAN NOT take an Ariticulated Lorry my containers arrived on one today so i had to send it away. On top of this, one of the containers was badly damaged.
Posted 6 months ago
When the container finally arrived over a month late it was the wrong colour. I agreed that the wrong container could remain at my address for two days until a transport could come and collect it. Four weeks later and being threatened by my neighbour I was practically begging Cleveland containers to take it away. They only did so when I threatened legal action. A lot of hassle, wish I had gone back to S Jones containers
Posted 6 months ago
Disgraceful and unprofessional behaviour. Full payment for a Container taken in mid August 2020 Delivery progressed thereafter over a period of weeks Finally on chasing again on 16th October 2020 was advised that no Container available as the one we had paid for had been resold
Posted 9 months ago
Not a great experience with this company. They promised things and timelines they couldn’t actually keep to get the order. A bad case of over-promise and under deliver. Also rather poor communication, and had to be chased multiple times on things they were meant to be getting back to me on.
Posted 10 months ago
Additional crane hire to myself not delivered on time so far found two holes in the roofWouldn’t use you again
Posted 10 months ago
Poor service. Would not use again
Posted 1 year ago
Hi John, Apologies that you were left unsatisfied, there was a slight issue with stock due to the current situation but we would love to show you what we can really do, as you can see by the rest of our reviews, service is something we pride ourselves on. Thanks, CC
Posted 1 year ago
I was promised a one trip (like new) 20 foot shipping container delivered in 3/4 days by M.Lennox. I am still waiting for my container getting on for 4 weeks having paid for it and still having to pay storage costs for my possetions elsewhere. This is not good enough, I can only hope when it does arrive it is a one trip (like new) container?
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Andrew, Thank you for sharing your experience. We have now conducted an internal investigation to find out what happened with your order. Your order was initially placed on 01/06/20, but we did not receive payment from you until 16/06/20. It's only following cleared payment that deliveries are arranged for customers who do not have an account with us. We had arranged for the container to be delivered to you on Thursday 25th June, but after initially accepting that date, you later advised it had to be delivered after 14:30. This was not made aware to us beforehand (as your transport had been priced as an all day appointment and not time specific). As such the haulier was unable to deliver after 14:30 that day, so the delivery was then suspended pending an update from yourself. We then did not have contact from you until 26/06/20 requesting delivery, and asked for Thursday 2nd July. We currently have your delivery date agreed for this Friday 3rd July. We feel the issues highlighted in your review were out of our control and would kindly ask you to revise your rating once your container has been delivered. Thank you, Cleveland Containers
Posted 1 year ago
nearly new my arse
Posted 1 year ago
The container was in a poor state patched up with weld two small holes in the side , no cover for protection of the locks , I would not recommend you to any body again the pictures advertised are nothing like what you sent
Posted 1 year ago
Keep getting these, how did we do emails about your recent order, it was 3 years since I've ordered from you!!!
Posted 1 year ago
POOR DELIVERY AND UNIT HIRED NOT IN FIT STATE ALL WASTE PIPE BROKEN
Posted 1 year ago
never got a reply after sending 3 emails
Posted 1 year ago
Cleveland Containers is rated 4.66 based on 1,340 reviews