buyatankard.com Reviews

4.83 Rating 2,271 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend buyatankard.com
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
100%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read buyatankard.com Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0131 669 1487

Email:

info@buyatankard.com

Location:

170B Great Junction Street

Write Your review

Tell us how buyatankard.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Item not received!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I paid extra for this to be delivered between 1-2 days. It's now been a week and missed my dad's birthday.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry your tankard did not arrive on time. We dispatched the next day as promised and used the Royal Mail 24 service you selected. We also offer a choice of guaranteed next day delivery options which would have been shown at checkout.
Posted 1 year ago
Didn’t turn up. I’ve Emailed them twice but not had a reply to my second email yet. I know there are delays with deliveries right now but it’s been 2 weeks now and it was a birthday present for my husband, they only present he would have got because of lockdown
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Melanie, Sorry that your goblet was slow to arrive. We engraved and dispatched same day using the RM48 service selected. Royal Mail second class can take up to 10 days to arrive and its fair to say they have struggled during the lockdown although things seems a lot better now. We also have a number of next day and tracked courier delivery options available for urgent orders.
Posted 1 year ago
Keen to buy Old London half-pint tankards but disappointed it's been out of stock since first attempt to order in November!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Note however that the tankard you wish to purchase is not 'out of stock' but 'made to order'. If you order one we will make it and send out for you within a few days. Any issues just call the office and we will arrange for you.
Posted 1 year ago
Wated 10 days for delivery, problem with workshop. When tankerd finally arrived it did not have name below crest etched on it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Be very wary about buying from here. I didn't receive my tankard, only two cardboard boxes. I understand things can go wrong with deliveries etc however do not depend on this company helping you if something does go wrong. They informed me that as the package was sent at the correct weight, they would not do anything to help me and expected me to be happy with paying £47 for two cardboard boxes. No help offered what so ever. I have since contacted my bank who have dealt with the case correctly. Avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very disappointed with the quality of tankard and having to buy another one!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Not what I wanted and very unclear
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Michele, its such a shame that your order was not what you had been expecting. I'll have our team take a look over the listing for the presentation boxes to make it a bit more clear they do not come with tankards inside. We're received the boxes you sent back to us a few days ago and have processed your refund for you. If there is anything else we can help with at all please let us know - Sam
Posted 4 years ago
It was described as heavy weight but wasn't, the quality wasn't as expected and the engraving was so small you could hardly read it. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Martin, We are so sorry to hear that you are so disappointed with your order. I feel I should mention that pewter is classed as a precious metal but it is an alloy made from roughly 85% - 99% tin. So it is really quite light. We have more information on our info pages, here is a link for you to see - http://buyatankard.com/info/what-is-pewter I have checked the tankard you had ordered and its approximately 100g heavier than one of our standard weight tankards in a similar style. The weight is added by adding a heavier base and handle along with slightly thicker walls on the body of the tankard. It is a shame that you also have an issue with your engraving, we do try to size the text appropriate to the engrvaing space we have and amount of text requested. If you like though you are more than welcome to send a photo over to info@buyatankard.com and I can have a chat with our engraver to see if this can be made any larger for you. ~ Sam
Posted 5 years ago
I purchased one tankard and one goblet - both made in Sheffield. I needed them quite quickly, So I spent an extra £10 on next day delivery (to allow plenty of time - Unfortunately, they didn't arrive on the estimated day (or the day after) - after a few phone calls we were told to wait for delivery, but I waited and nothing arrived, In the end, The goblet was delivered 5-days later (But I had to go to a depot to pick it up!) and then the Tankard arrived 1 day after that. No apologies, no delivery refund. The Sheffield company which makes them 10/10, but buyatankard.com 0/10! Terrible disappointment. The identical products can be purchased through other UK sellers. So I would recommend looking elsewhere. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Andy, Its such a shame to hear that you were so unhappy with the service you had received from us. I can see the 6" Pewter Goblet With Celtic Band you had chosen in specially made up to order and does normally take 10 - 12 working days to complete. We do try to make this as clear as possible on the website, I am afraid that choosing Express delivery just does not have an effect on the manufacturing time, but it does mean that as soon as the goblet was complete you would have it with you the very next working day. We are really sorry if this caused you any inconvenience at all, I can see that after your call Saadia made sure that she contacted the manufacturer for you to see if there was any possible way the order could be dispatched to you quicker and she managed to have this out in the post for you the very next day. Its a shame to hear that you had to head to the depot to collect the order yourself, usually this only happens if the delivery is attempted when you were not at home. We hope you are pleased with your order, and you get lots of use from the set. If there is anything we can do to help please dont hesitate to get in touch. ~ Sam
Posted 6 years ago
I still have not received my item and its now past my fathers birthday so I am awaiting a response to arrange a refund as I am extremely unhappy!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Jennifer, We are so sorry that the order has not arrived with you yet. We had dispatched he tankard you had designed for your Dad's Birthday just 2 days after the order was placed, with Royal Mail 24 as requested. Royal Mail does only take 1 - 2 working days to arrive but very occasionally we it can take a little longer. I know we are working yourself and Royal Mail to trace the order for you, I am sure it will arrived safely with in the next few days, but we will always we here to help should there be a problem with it being lost in the post. As promised we will keep in touch with you to hopefully resolve this for you as quickly as we can. ~ Sam
Posted 6 years ago
Service was good but did not get the inscription the way I ordered. More care needed when reading the instructions. This was a 21 st gift and I am not very happy with the end result.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
The product was ordered online,I paid nearly £60, that includes the product, packaging, delivery etc. The product arrived in a week and it was my brother's birthday that day. However, I am glad that I opened the box to check the product before giving it to my brother.. The tankard was just flimsy and stuck together, especially the bottom of the tankard, one side was stuck and the other side had come off and you can clearly see the gap and if a drink was poured it was would literally start leaking!! The tankard also looked thin and flimsy, not the quality shown in the pictures and expected better quality for paying nearly £60. I have requested a full refund, sent the product back and still not refunded.. it's a shame the quality and service is bad, the designs are great and this is the kind of business that could do well with word of mouth..real shame!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Erden, I am really sorry that your experience with us was so far from perfect. After having a good look over your tankard when it arrived back it in with us it looks as though it may have been squashed in transit. The tankard you selected was made of pewter with is rather a light material, I have brought the issue to our warehouse manager who will be looking in to alternative packing we can send the tankards in that will perhaps stop this happening again in the future. I am also sorry that you were unable to accept our offer of a replacement but I completely understand that after such a bad experience why you asked for a refund instead. I processed the refund myself on the 6th of October, I really hope that the funds have arrive back in your account now, it can sometimes take up to 24 hours but If there are any problems at all please do get in touch. ~ Sam
Posted 6 years ago
APPALLING service. TWICE the tankard we ordered was wrongly engraved despite the delivery note describing what we'd asked for. Also the hallmarks were placed where your mouth rests to drink. Not impressed! We got emails saying what they should have done. We knew that, only they didn't do it. After the second wrong item, which was sent by snail mail so arrived well after due date, we asked for a full refund, which we got eventually. We ordered our tankard from another company, it was perfectly engraved the first time, the hallmarks are underneath, and is was cheaper!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Hi Marie, I'm sorry to hear of your poor experience. I remember helping you process this order so am concerned the same issue happened again. The engraving detail just seemed to be missed. Not all of our tankards have a hallmark clearly visible. It's actually a feature of this particular tankard as some people like to see this. I'm glad you were able to get something you were happy with, I'm just very sorry it didn't happen through us. ~Rach
Posted 7 years ago
Awful experience. I bought 2 glass tankards on 13th Dec. They arrived on 17th and were totally different from the pictures. I called up and was told I had to send some photos in to prove they were different. Did this, and they said they would send replacements but couldn't send them to a different address...and they would send the replacements "2nd class"...so obviously it was too late for Christmas. Normally when a website makes a mistake I judge them on how they remedy it...not impressed by that either though. Also, it's just rude to be asked to prove that what you have is incorrect!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Hi David, It was myself who arranged your replacement order. Sadly I had no way of altering the address once the order had left us. The order was sent out the same day you called me on 17/12. I am sorry to hear it is not with you. Please let me know if I can help in any way. ~Sam
Posted 7 years ago
I am very disappointed in the engraving quality, very poorly done with metal whiskers and burrs throughout the engraved area, and it was just a three letter engraving, nothing fancy.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Hi James, I am sorry to hear there has been a problem with your order. I have sent you an email to see if there is any way I can help. Hope to hear from you soon ~ Sam
Posted 7 years ago
buyatankard.com is rated 4.83 based on 2,271 reviews