Bulb Reviews

1.60 Rating 15 Reviews
0% of reviewers recommend Bulb
663 Review Views (past 24 hours)
01AM - 3AM
44 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
59 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
82 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
41 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
43 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
76 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
59 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
61 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
82 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
60 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
9PM - 11PM
37 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
19 Review Views
01AM
1AM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Bulb made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier
delivery methods
100%
on-time delivery
Customer Service
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
communication channels
Under an hour
queries resolved in
customer service
"Avoid bulb energy. Their customer service is non existent. They never answer emails. I am reverting back to my old supplier !"
Posted 4 hours ago
Are you Bulb? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"When requesting our refund our account was 146 in credit. Then all of a sudden they issued us a bill of 175 based on readings. Readings which when they were taken were under the estimate values they had used to calculate that our account was 146 in credit... I would not recommend bulb. They also lost the readings I had submitted through the app so had to use readings my landlord had to get 3 weeks after move out, really is a terrible service. And on top of this the billing system had stopped issuing us bills from October so they had to then fix all this which also calculated the account being in 146 in credit... ! They come across as the cheaper alternative but when closing they obviously add extra charges which then makes them one of the more expensive providers! STAY AWAY! I was actually quite happy with the service until this! Was even considering using them for my student flat next year. But because this blatant miss truth i cant justify it."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Bulb stopped sending me notifications for meter reading. Got a silly response from customer service. The TV ads were pathetic I feel - animated rubbish - waste of money. Also when you print your bills all the pink and blue are used up in the printer because the bills are all in pink and blue. I feel the wheels are coming off from this firm. Good thing was when there were no problems switching from them."
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Bulb have demonstrated extraordinarily poor service. It took so long to get a switch sorted that, due in a large part to their shoddy customer service, I cancelled the switch with them. Despite this, they continued to send me emails and I contacted them multiple times to tell them to stop. Today they took money from my bank even though they confirmed they are not my supplier. This is theft. I have reported them to ICO for a breach of GDPR and do I have my money back? No. Utterly reprehensible service for a company that portrays itself as a sustainable alternative to the big 6."
Posted 3 months ago
"It has been a 3 month nightmare with bulb. Definitely fake reviews on trust pilot. Avoid at all cost!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Completely dishonest in their dealings and look to exploit customers by overcharging them when they do not check their bills. I had Bulb for a year and they were fine and then I notice that they stated I provided a reading which was over twice the estimate. I did not provide the reading whatsoever but instead of taking an average of £50 a month, they took £400! They simply stated that in winter months energy use goes up but the fact of the matter was that I did not provide the reading and going up 8 fold is ridiculous. After getting in contact with customer service they fabricated a story that they sent someone round to take reading. When I advised them that the meter was inside my house and locked and they would not have been able to gain access they changed their story advising that they sometimes use a third party to provide a reading and they must have been dishonest! No Bulb, you are dishonest! You have lied and tried to live the lie stating I provided a reading when I didn’t and then concocting a dishonest ruse to justify your exploitative, dishonest and corrupt behaviour. I am taking this to the energy ombudsman as this is completely unacceptable and dishonest of you! Statement number: 08656395"
Posted 3 months ago
"I have recently very switched to Bulb, after a price comparison, What concerns me is that they allow a referral code to be used on the internet that enables both parties to have a £ 50 credit. And no, I did not use any code from many that are on the net. Bulb of course know about this but, it seems, allow it to continue in return for good reviews. I can only conclude most of the reviews here are posted for £50 reward, and the overall rating is not a true reflection of the customer care level."
Posted 4 months ago
"Shocking company and service. They lured me in with a better unit price from my existing supplier and then after I had switched hiked the rate to a similar charge to my old supplier. Given the benefit of the doubt they then attempted to raise my direct debit a month later and final straw, tried to hike it again so that I could prepay Christmas 2019 now! My emails were ignored even with a promise of a reply within 3 days. The account is now back with my previous supplier and finally after hounding me with threat of legal action for £29 and another raft of emails, they have replied with a stock answer. All my fault it would appear. Really disappointed and shocked by their attitude and service. Avoid!"
Posted 4 months ago
"Appalling service. Readings are estimated if you haven't submitted them in time but readings that follow are ignored. Trying to have accurate statements is so hard work because you either have to submit early or email Bulb. It isn't worth telephoning because there's always a long wait. I rigorously submit monthly readings and my previous lender, SSE, stood hands and shoulder ahead for public service."
Posted 6 months ago
"Started my switch to Bulb only 4 months ago on the promise of a deal that was around £25 less than my current supplier. I went to the hassle of switching from a supplier I’d been happy with for years (who had always been cheapest in every comparison, which is why I’d stuck with them til now). I made that decision based on that promise and reviews here. Within a month or so, Bulb had already increased my payments - in summer. Then today I receive an email casually telling me that my “direct debit of £xxx ‘’ would leave my bank in 3 days. That amount was £30 a month more than the amount they suggested I’d pay, based on accurate usage, just 4 months earlier. I queried this huge increase. Oh, apparently it’s just them ‘advising’ me that I SHOULD MAYBE pay more to build up during winter months - well that’s funny, cos I assumed I was already doing that, given I was told my monthly payments would be £xxx when I signed up. I had assumed that Bulb had the sense to balance out my annual consumption to give an HONEST and ACCURATE monthly payment prediction, rather than just winning me over with a low quote, then increasing it twice, in total by almost half of the original quote - in just 3 months. They sound all great at the start - say all the right things. Then they start increasing - the biggest increases I’ve ever had in 30 years of having utility bills. As for their idea of ‘advising’ me that I might need to increase payments to build up to winter...there was no advice, no warning, no request or suggestion, and no notice! I was told 3 days before the payment will be taken, which is too short notice to do anything! Oh and, in case they try this excuse, I submit monthly meters readings!"
Posted 6 months ago
"I am in the process of leaving Bulb after being with them for more than a year primarily because they are no longer competitive after recent price rises. I have found at least 10 companies with cheaper offers including British Gas and EON so time to move again. My new suppliers tarriff is more than 10% less than Bulb"
Posted 6 months ago
"Everything. The Bulb website is constantly under maintenance, so never works when I need to check meter readings or make payments. We have received several confusing and contradictory letters saying that we owe different amounts. Have tried to set up direct debit but the website just says 'uh oh' and won't let me select a date or amount for the direct debit. And our bills vary dramatically each month despite not using different amounts of energy. When I rang to ask about several aspects of the service I was told I could do everything online which clearly I cannot if the website is never working. Would not recommend and am looking to change suppliers. Everyone on this website are just leaving good reviews to try and receive £50 credit into their account."
Posted 6 months ago
"We changed over to Bulb from EDF after a comparison site said we would save £200 a year, when in fact our bill has been more every month this year than last and usage has stayed the same! not Impressed"
Posted 8 months ago
"Everything was fine until out of the blue it was announced that, despite 2 earlier rises, their gas price would be increasing by more than 26%!!! Will be moving on."
Posted 8 months ago
"Completely misleading - joined these and like the few reviews before mine, was told one price - switched and before I even finished transitioning, I was told my price was going up by 15%. When I contacted to ask what was going off, I was told that they made it clear when I signed up - it wasn't clear at all, I was told one price and no mention of a price rise until I was already in transition - disappointed with this company before I've even started - lets see how it goes."
Posted 9 months ago
Bulb is rated 1.60 based on 15 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support