BUILT/ Reviews

4.63 Rating 1,391 Reviews
91% of reviewers recommend BUILT/

About BUILT/ : Building supplies on demand. BUILT/ is not your traditional builder’s merchant.
Yes we are built for the trade and we sell all the building supplies you’d expect to find in a typical builders merchant but we value the tradesmans time more than anything else. As a result we’ve built a business based on giving you very competitive prices up front, offering you great service and faster ways to get your building materials to the site as quickly and efficiently as possible.

Visit Website
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
Greater than 94%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.84 out of 5
"No warning of the 7:30 opening time!"
Posted 2 months ago
Visit Website
"Two of the four pieces of timber I bought with were warped."
Posted 2 months ago
"What arrived unbroken was fine. Unfortunately 4 of the slabs I ordered were broken so I arranged for replacements to come the next day however when they turned up they were the wrong ones and i had to wait another day. I also ordered sharp sand on 2 occasions and both times none turned up and i was informed even though i had purchased them they had been sold to someone else who had collected them. Customer service was good just a shame i had to use them."
Posted 2 months ago
"Booked a delivery between 9.30 and 12.30. Eventually turned up at 2.30. I had to call several times to get any information on what was happening. V poor communication."
Posted 2 months ago
"Sick of leaving bad reviews but I really can’t say anything good and it’s not just me as I’ve had 2 of my guys collect within the last 4 weeks and they have not been impressed. Was in branch for well over an hour to pick up 2 click & collect orders and was bad from start to finish. No cups for coffee machine and then a catalogue of stuff which finished in me waiting over 10mins at counter for my Nando’s voucher. Like I said, im not one to moan but not impressed."
Posted 3 months ago
"Not much in stock and takes weeks before they order more when they do have it it takes ages before it's out on the system? and this is just basic things like plaster board and plaster. go to selco same price"
Posted 3 months ago
"Ordered four by two timber x four lengths arrived bent and twisted. Complaint was dealt with very efficiently but the replacement timber was only three lengths and no one told me when it was being replaced until the delivery driver phoned me and l had to tell to leave it in the front garden. Good job it did not rain as the timber was for internal use"
Posted 3 months ago
"Short delivery. Not notified in advance despite being known by supplier. Created an unecessary major panic that acsimpleccall or email would have avoided."
Posted 3 months ago
"Ordered 160 paving slabs - quite a few were damaged on the corners with chunks missing or had deep scratches on the top. Have complained to BUILT 10 days ago via phone and followed up with email and pictures as they requested from me. Still waiting for a response despite chasing them twice!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Whilst the prices are competitive the service is lacking been let down now several times with either failed deliveries or missing items. They don't contact you to let you know what is happening or not happening. the competitive price is not worth the hassle."
Posted 3 months ago
"Hi. You have a great concept, one I appreciate as a full time builder. BUT!! The execution is way below what you advertise. We build 6 - 8 small/ medium sized extensions a year, if you can save me a few hours on each stage of those builds you have a loyal customer. No1. I ordered £650 of goods online, only to come up against your (understandable) rule about delivering to the card address on first order, Would have been nice to know before wasting an hour. No2. I registered on site, received a couple of emails to confirm. Fair play to you, I received a phone call next day explaining the delivery rule, “if you make just one purchase in store on the chip and pin card we can deliver to your clients address in future” Great! No3. I decided to take an hour out of a busy day and visit Aston, impressed with the layout, Counter staff were quite busy but acknowledged me standing there, all good. No4. Staff take my order, come back “sorry you have to register first” “I already did” “Nope you aren't on the system” “want to register now?” “Sure sounds like a great idea, not like I have two guys waiting for me back on site” half way through “Ohhhh... it says that email address is already in use" smiley face, agitated shifting from foot to foot “Uhhh huhhh....told you so.....” No.4. Advertised as helpful munchkins will load with you— that part worked well. Congrats! No5. Until we got out into the yard! Bricks - loaded fine. Timber - “ Ah, the lengths you want are up on top of the rack. l will get a forklift driver” The following twenty minutes (yes that’s not an exaggeration 20 MINUTES!!) were ridiculous. The lad kept apologising and walking over to the forklift driver, trying to get him over to us. The forklift driver was clearly under pressure to get the wagon unloaded and ignored his colleagues pleas. Resulting in me the customer telling the yard lad to relax and wait until the forklift guy had a minute, as I became concerned that he may well get hit by the forklift. “ I,m sorry, the forklift is busy unloading” is not what I expect to hear, but is preferable to “sorry, your server was squished.” All in all my first branch visit took a ridiculous 45 minutes. No5. Since then I have ordered online and still got a phone call saying sorry, we can’t deliver to another address as it’s your first order with us'!!!! Thankfully that was sorted out but what a mess. Anyway the lads in Builbase have finally found the key to their 30 year old forklift and after some arguing decided that non of them is insured to drive it on a Saturday morning, so I’m off to get a bacon sarnie. Finally may I suggest a simple sign, splitting the customer desk into two halves, Trade and Public I don’t have time to stand behind a diy’er trying to explain a bracket they once saw Tommy bloody Walsh use in episode twelve of Gorgeous gardens. Ahh my sarnie is here, Now that’s is good service!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Still waiting for my order booked for Friday 22nd was cancelled 30 minutes before due time because stock was damaged and 4 days later still not been contacted over new delivery date"
Posted 4 months ago
"Have placed many orders with Built and have been let down before by the items arriving to the site late. Now this time the items don't arrive at all and no phone call until nearly an hour after the cut off time to explain why. Then wanted me to wait nearly 2 days to deliver the items to which I refused."
Posted 4 months ago
"Ordered a couple of things for delivery. The day before delivery I got a call and asked if I needed anything else. Coincidently I did so they were kind enough to add a few more items, take payment for those additional items over the phone and add it to to my existing delivery order. The next day the delivery came - the driver was really nice and helpful - but forgot an item. I called up and was told that they were a bit busy to return to me today but would send the missing item via DHL for guaranteed next day delivery. I agreed. DHL then didnt turn up the next day - only the day after. I therefore got my complete order 48 hours later than I was supposed to. I sent a Tweet to the Built team asking where my £50 credit under the much hyped Built failed delivery promise is. Havent had a response back. Its been nearly a week now."
Posted 4 months ago
"Contacted to say delivery was delayed. A few hours later, contacted again to say driver was loading up and an item on my order couldn't be fulfilled. Delivery arrived, which I had to help unload. There were also two incorrect items which I refused to accept and they were returned to depot and the promise of a re delivery the same day or following day was made for the incorrect items. No re delivery happened the same day. Edit 12/02/19: the correct replacement items were delivered the next business day. Edit 16/02/19: I've received no contact from the customer services team with reference to the goodwill gesture James has promised and desipte talking to Built a number of times a refund hasn't been processed for the unfulfilled item."
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Raymond,

Thanks for taking the time to share your issues with us. We are investigating the causes of these and i'm happy to talk you through them directly by phone if you would like.

I can confirm your missing items will be delivered today, any refunds due for the unavailable item will be processed today and a member of our customer service team will be sending you a £50 credit to use on your next order for the inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards

James
Posted 4 months ago
"Hi collected order ref s018289 this morning. I had ordered and paid for 18 rolls of 1f roof felt however there was only 15 rolls in stock.. Matt said they would send the outstanding 3 rolls by courier."
Posted 6 months ago
"Ordered a load of plasterboard for next day delivery but didn’t turn up and I had to ring them to find out where it was. They did sort it to be delivered the next day but the plasterboard was left on the front drive with no covers while raining. The plasterboard looks to be good quality but time will tell if the rain has done any damage."
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Matt,

Desperately sorry about the late delivery. We are sending you a £50 voucher to spend off your next BUILT/ order. If there are any issues with the plasterboard please do give us a call on 0121 468 0031.

Kind Regards

James
Posted 6 months ago
"Arrived at allotted time waited 15 minutes had to ring for somebody to sort my order. Which did happen. The manager came down to assure me this wouldn’t happen again. So taking this into account would recommend."
Posted 7 months ago
"There was some sort of disconnect between Built & delivery company so my order of insulation sheet never got dispatched or delivered. Waited in all day today for promised delivery - needed it for tomorrow as builder arriving at 9 to get on with job. Builder can’t fit job in again for 2 weeks so I get to live in chaos till then as daughter’s bedroom floor is up for the work. Customer service person however was very pleasant and tried best to help even though nothing could be done."
Posted 8 months ago
"Have to say after ordering on line fairly easy and even being impressed I got a phone call back when I wanted to make an amendment, when the delivery came it was missing a couple of items! I’m awaiting to find out what happened and when they will be with me so overall average"
Posted 8 months ago
BUILT/ is rated 4.63 based on 1,391 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support

Create Free Account Now

Fill the details below & get instant access