BUILT/ Reviews

4.63 Rating 1,391 Reviews
91% of reviewers recommend BUILT/

About BUILT/ : Building supplies on demand. BUILT/ is not your traditional builder’s merchant.
Yes we are built for the trade and we sell all the building supplies you’d expect to find in a typical builders merchant but we value the tradesmans time more than anything else. As a result we’ve built a business based on giving you very competitive prices up front, offering you great service and faster ways to get your building materials to the site as quickly and efficiently as possible.

Visit Website
Are you a business owner?
company-profile.Click_here
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
Greater than 94%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.84 out of 5
"the ordered material was not complete, part was damaged. For the missing material, I did not get a refund of the difference to the present day"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Mixed feelings at the moment. We did a click and collect order on Sunday and the staff in the yard were very good. However I’ve since had an order delivered on Tuesday I ordered through A member of staff. I sent him a text message with my requirements for a quotation he swiftly got me a reasonable quotation which I was pleased with. The delivery came on time. I had ordered 10 lengths of treated 4x2 as part of the order. 10 were delivered but 9 of them were untreated so I can’t use them. I texted the same member of staff and he said he’d look into it. Nothing back from him as yet and I tried calling him today."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Continually fail to deliver the correct products. Continually receive damaged products and continually don't receive a call back from staff when I am supposed to."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"I am a first and last time customer of Built! The reason I used Built was for the guaranteed delivery slot. I am sure you can understand my frustration when you delivered my order four and a half hours late! When trying to phone your call centre I was put on hold and then transferred to voice mail. Very poor service and very disappointed customer. Please refund the delivery charge as requested."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Philip, we have refunded your delivery charge in full. Please accept our apologies for this error, we're gutted we let you down. Its extremely rare and we will investigate this fully. Regards, James.
Posted 11 months ago
"Not a fast service, wasted time to get my order. The printer wasn’t working so couldn’t get a receipt."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"I arrived at the store within my time slot. I was still made to wait 1 hour in the store for my order to be ready. There was a lack of communication between all staff members. All staff members seemed to be waiting for someone else to do the job for them. When I was finally able to collect my order - I was given the wrong length of timber. This led to more waiting while a worker looked for a tape measure to check the length of the timber. It took over 1 hour to collect 5 pieces of timber. It was extremely unprofessional for a builders warehouse."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sufyan,

Please accept our apologies for this. We pride ourselves on the fastest Click & Collect in the industry. I hope you give us another try to let us show you just how amazing our service usually is.

Thanks
James
Posted 11 months ago
"This is my third visit to BUILT and my second purchase. My first order was sent to the wrong address, my second attempt was a wasted journey as the item I wanted was not actually in stock despite their website saying "In stock". The second purchase (third visit) was for planned timber board. Their website said stock however I called to get confirmation. Unfortunately the staff member couldn't find it by name/size so only until I gave their part number was it found. After several frustrating attempts to order via their website to get a discount (using my mobile) I had to go home to use my laptop in order for the payment to go through (something about a bad gateway??). I drove to the depot to collect which took an age even though it was supposed to be ready. Most of the board had been wrapped in film so I checked for the correct sizes against my order then loaded up. I was extremely disappointed upon unwrapping to find that most of the boards were akin to bananas. It was almost like they curled up as soon as released from the packaging. The boards have been laid flat and weighted in an attempt to correct the bows. "fingers crossed".. I doubt I will be using BUILT again for such items.. If you want wood, go to a timber yard."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Not Happy, This isn't the first time I've used built. I've spent close to £2000 in materials and again been let down. Ordered on-line on a Friday, chosen a Saturday delivery for the weekend after, had a call on the Wednesday saying they couldn't deliver and then blamed it on a computer error as no drivers.... Please your services needs to greatly improve.."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Orderd a load of timber the other day sent out part of it wrong ended up with a couple of lengths of lath instead of 6x 2 haven't heard anything about it yet.? can't be bothered to get in touch with me I'll have to chase it up myself got better things to do than running round rectifying your mistakes"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Worst experience ever .......the doors were poor quality (1 came damaged)..... the items ordered were 80% wrong......promised 3 call backs (4 now still waiting for Megan for the second time) the organisation and service is so poor it’s unbelievable. It’s WICKES all the way for me from now on..... this was the first and last time I will ever use this poorly organised shoddy excuse of a company"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The drive was not on time was met to be on a Saturday and It come on sunday"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"This is my 3rd order with built and despite their promises, every order has been incomplete or late."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mark,

This is gutting for us to hear you've had these issues. Our customer care manager will call you this morning to get any issues resolved and get things back on track!

Thanks

James
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordered online for delivery on Sunday and got a call half hour before delivery due to say they can’t deliver to due no vans not really acceptable , having out all my membrane down ready for delivery and then had to ordere from somewhere else!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Poor not fit for purpose saws I brought. Manager wanted me to bring back and show what I had been using them on the hand saws were really bad and I could not cut a straight line on my laminate flooring. Will not use again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Placed a phone order. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Wanted 50 x50 Batton. Was told they had 50 x25? I asked if that was the finished size and was told yes. When I turned up it was 45x45. Also they only had a pile of 45x45 on the floor that had been separated because it was bent.!! I had to take one of those and buy a longer length that I didn't want. Could have been a huge order for BUILT as we are on site close by and fitting 650 kitchens for Mc alpines. Sorry guys more professionalism required."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The worse company I have ever dealt with. Totally incompetent from manager to staff. Only the drivers are nice and try to help always."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
So sorry to hear that Clive. I've personally looked into your order and can only apologise for the issues you encountered. I could make excuses due to the truck breaking down etc but the buck stops with us. We're gutted to let any customer down. I can only assure you that we take this feedback incredibly serious and will strive to never let this issue happen again.

Regards

James
Posted 1 year ago
"Fantastic company, very professional and on top of that have given me a 20% discount on next purchase which is brill because i have a lot more slabs to buy and with you being the cheapest company on the internet what more could I want. I forgot to mention the brilliant delivery service. All in all a fantastic customer experience. Will always use whenever I need building materials in the future."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mathew,

Thanks for the fantastic review, we're delighted you were so pleased with the service.

I think you selected 1 star instead of 5 stars, if you're able your review that would be awesome.

Kind Regards

James
Posted 1 year ago
"After seeing an online ad I thought I’d give BUILT a try as the prices looked good. First I tried to complete the order online but kept on running into error messages which would let me complete my order. Quite frustrating. Not being one to give up easily, I decided to phone the order through. I spoke to a young lad who was helpful but couldn’t complete the order and said he’d get the sales team to call me back within ten minutes. After a 45 minute wait I called them back. The order was sorted and payment was made, my concrete would arrive on Friday. There was an additional courier charge of £30 which I wasn’t expecting. I thought orders over £80 were a free delivery, but never mind. Friday comes, Friday goes and by 4pm I’m wondering where the order is. I call Richard who is very helpful and says he will find out. He called me back and said my order was close and it would be with me before the end of the day. I waited until 7pm on site and the order didn’t turn up and the concrete didn’t get done to set over the weekend. Monday morning and I’m chasing the order again. Apparently after a few more calls Richard says that the driver ran out of hours on Friday so couldn’t complete my order. I was told it would then be with me by lunchtime today. (Monday) It’s now 12.30 on Monday and still no concrete. Can’t say I’m happy with any part of the service. No calls to say sorry, or we are late or your not getting your order. Sorry we messed up your job and put you and your customer out at all. Sorry we will prioritise your order on Monday morning. Nothing. If I could give a 0 star rating I would. There’s plenty of other online builders merchants."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Simon,

We’re sorry for the delay in calling you back to place your order – it must have been a particularly busy day.

To clarify, the free delivery offer for orders over £75 is exclusive to BUILT/ Delivery, which is currently only available to select areas of the West Midlands. All national deliveries are fulfilled by private courier and priced according to the weight/size of your items. Further information about our delivery options is available on our website.

As for the delay in getting your items delivered, I can only apologise. We’re working hard to ensure national deliveries are as reliable as possible and are speaking with our courier partners to facilitate this.

Your recent experience doesn’t reflect what the vast majority of customers love about BUILT/. It would be great to get another chance to show you what makes us stand out from the crowd. Please look out for a call from a member of our team.

Many thanks,
Christian
Posted 1 year ago
"Very poor service. I was due a delivery on the Friday and I left it until 15.30 before ringing, to be told that my order had gone else where!! When I asked when I would receive my order I was told that I wouldn't receive it until the following Tuesday!! Then I was told that they had run out of stock and that they couldn't say when they could supply it at which I cancelled the order. This didn't stop them taking the payment, when I rung to ask when I would receive a refund I was told 5/7 working days!!! All in all I would not recommend this company. I doubt this review will appear on their website, but I have had my say!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Peter,

I'm sorry to hear your BUILT/ experience didn't meet our normal high standards. Your unusual delivery mix-up was the result of an isolated error during dispatch with one of our new national delivery partners. We have since taken steps to ensure this does not happen again.

While we made every effort to rectify the situation and keep you informed, we appreciate that you feel dissatisfied. A full refund was issued with our sincere apologies upon cancellation; though it is standard for funds to take up to 7 working days to appear in your account.

Your valuable feedback has already gone a long way towards improving our service. We hope you will give us another chance to bring you the true 5-star experience that so many of our customers enjoy.

Many thanks,
Christian
Posted 1 year ago
"Tried to place another order only to be told you could not deliver to Stourbridge, although you had no trouble on my first order, verry poor"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Tom,

We're currently fine-tuning delivery to ensure everyone gets the same fast, reliable service. To achieve this, we've had to alter the delivery area, but it's only a temporary measure, so bear with us.

If you’re an existing customer, we will continue to honour deliveries in the meantime. Please contact Adam at the Aston branch to discuss your options.

All the best,

Christian
Posted 1 year ago
BUILT/ is rated 4.63 based on 1,391 reviews