BT Reviews

1.47 Rating 275 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver, Postal Service
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
customer service
1.22 out of 5
Ad Looking for similar companies? ? Adverts from our client network
"On 6th of July a month in advance I made a call to bt customer service and asked to close my account and stop providing services when my contract ends which is 6th. Bt guy said that my contract ends on 15th of August, I asked to confirm that I won't be charged any extra money and I will be refunded £43 because I'm paying upfront, and the BT guy confirmed that is correct. Now turns out BT guy was lying, I still have BT service and I was charged £58 and not refunded !!!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Are you BT? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Get Access
"Avoid at all costs. No one cares. Can't wait for contract to end. Have lived in the same property for 8 years and have never been able to use a landline phone. This is due to a very poor line. Advised by BT to dismantle phone as no point using it. Can't be bothered to waste time listing all the problems we've had and continue to have with the broadband connection. Goes down at a similar time every year. In the past, I've rang them almost in tears and explained that my daughter desperately needed the Internet to help with exam revision. They didn't care, and left us without broadband for over 3 weeks. This time round, we are on day 14. Absolutely useless. Customer service...no such thing."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I called today to renew my broadband and cancel my mobile package. The advisor said they could renew my broadband and then put me through to another department to cancel the mobile but after signing the deal and putting me through it transpired that they were unable to make changes to my account while there were orders in progress. Completely disgusting behavior. The advisor either lied to me or is incompetent, both are as bad as the other. I would never recommend them to anyone. When people ask me about my experience with them I tell them that I haven't had any problems yet/recently."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolutely terrible. The first time in 22 years of business we have missed over 600 calls!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolute nightmare organisation. No communication between any of the staff and up to 6 calls per day from representatives saying the same things over and over again! I believe they have an automated system which cant be switched off and they can only put notes on their system which, obviously, nobody reads. Many of the calls can not understand what you are saying which makes it impossible to have a conversation. They just repeat the same thing over and over again. Quite oblivious to customer service and will blatantly say you are a liar when you explain what the other represented said. God knows how this company manages to survive - i certainly would never use them again,"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"BT's customer service is awful. I have been lied to, hung up on and ignored. My complaint was closed without any discussion at all. As a disabled customer, I can no longer trust this company."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"BT Cloudvoice continually stops working so customers cannot contact us. We have probably lost masses of business because of this."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The most horrendous experience I have had in 35 years of business. Our BT broadband was cut off after sevaral phone calls it transpired that someone unknown and completely unconnected to the business had been able to circumvent BT’s security and asked for the broadband to be terminated. I have spent over 9 hours over the last 5 days trying to get it reconnected. Despite BT admitting there had been a mistake and they are investigating my business has had no internet and as we have a VOIP phone system we had not had our telephone lines. I have made over 32 calls some lasting as long as 2 1/4 hrs (from which the so called manger responsible for sorting out the problems put the phone down on me principally as I had asked, for the fourth time, to speak her manager). Nobody is apparently remotely interested in resolvolving the issue and all this time my business is suffering. It is absolutely shocking they have a monopoly and behave like this despite it being their incompetence. I strongly urge anyone who reads this to never use BT Braoafbsnd if you can help it."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Joined BT from sky on the 23rd April, smooth transition over. However on the 5th June after numerous phone calls to BT about broadband dropping out, not having the channels I was promised and the telephone not working, they said I could cancel penalty free due to being miss-sold. I was offered a good deal with sky therefore I went back. Sky sent me an email on the 5th June telling me that my SKY TV was active and they were doing a working line takeover of my phone number and broadband on the 19th June. BT sent me an email to tell me that my services were ending on the 12th June. I rang sky to make sure the 19th was the correct date and then called BT. BT said that there was no active line takeover and told me to call sky again, I called sky, and they said 100% that they were taking over on the 19th June. I called back BT who again said that this was not the case. They told me to call sky again, which I stupidly did who told me the same thing. I called back BT and they said what they would do is cancel that cancellation of my services for the 12th June and keep them running until the 19th June when I would need to call up and cancel (penalty free still) and they would refund me my money for this month. After checking my BT I could see that this was not done so I called BT again and said its still not cancelled, I kept getting told by different agents (always a different one every time I called, apologising and saying the last advisor was rubbish and that they are amazing and will get this sorted, none did) that the cancellation of the cancellation was done and that my services would continue. On the 12th June, I woke up to find my broadband had gone off. I called BT straight away who apologised that the agent before had not cancelled the cancellation properly so my TV and phone line were still active but broadband wasn’t. They then proceeded to tell me that I could get the broadband turned back on but it would take 2 weeks. Which was ridiculous given that telling them 15 times and it being in my notes that sky were taking over on the 19th. So I was without broadband for a week until sky took over. I received a call from Gary Scott on the 20th telling me that something had gone wrong and bt was saying that I still had my phone line with them, despite sky having it. He said he would have to send it to the off line team to cancel and that I would get a call on Friday telling me that everything had been cancelled down properly and I would have a refund for the month of services I did not have. However! I wake Friday to 3 emails from BT at 5am!!!! First at 5:20am saying thanks for choosing bt there is an update to your order. My calling plan for the phone will start on the 22nd June for a years contract (WTF!) and will cost £21.99 a month (HUH!) Second at 5:21am asking me to return my bt equipment as I don’t need it anymore. Third at 5:21am telling me that my bt service is ending sorry to see me go. (this is just for the TV that I haven’t had since the 5th June)."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Rang today to sort out logging into a personal account 2.5 hours later still no joy! Not good enough BT............."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Bad customer service, you can call and call but nothing gets done, they say another department will call you but they never do it's just a fob off. DO NOT USE BT!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Honestly the worst broadband I have experienced. I had Virgin broadband for 10 years or so and only left because I found a deal from BT. Now I'm going back to Virgin after a year of misery with the BT connection constantly failing and persistent dropouts in my connection. I have had an engineer out 6 weeks ago and it took him 7 hours to sort it out, he even had to get more engineers out and they were up the telegraph pole and rewiring etc..and now 6 weeks later it's doing it again. Never will I go back to BT the grass isn't always greener on the other side!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I had been with BT for 5+ years (BT account no GB18305311). Their service was alright as long as you paid them. When I tried leaving them they threatened me with a £400 fine. I pleaded with them saying that the only reason I am leaving them is because their Internet broadband is very slow in my new property after I moved house. They refused to listen. They constantly threaten over the phone. I have now opened a case with the ombudsman. I have learnt that it takes 8 weeks before Ombudsman opens a case against BT so I am patiently waiting without giving up. I have since moved to Virgin and their internet connection is so fast! Wish I had moved away earlier."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Threatened with credit blacklisting over a £2 underpayment that was unknown about and about to be disputed. Yes two pounds. Avoid avoid avoid BT"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordered the highest broadband package with BT 2 months ago, been paying £50 a month for a service I'm not getting. Customer service rude when I call and now they want £450 to leave!! BYE BT see you in court."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Missold product; teribble Cloud phone customer service,one of the staff was a liar!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Internet is beyond appaluing. Drops consistently and is horrendously slow. Worst mistake I ever made going with this company, complete waste of money. My one piece of advice...just don’t!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Put me on a 2 year contract when I asked for 1 year, now charging me hundreds of pounds to get out of it. If you can avoid BT, then do so."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"5 Routers Later Connection Still Drops After contacting BT 6 times and 5 Hub5's later enough is enough. The router resets itself many times a day and all BT do is send another router. Clearly it's not the router and after some investigation it appears the BT network is overloaded. According to a professional BT wire everybody onto the same ring and that can not handle the bandwidth of everybody at peak times. I contacted them a few weeks ago and they said they would monitor the connection. 8 router resets later over 4 days they claimed it had not dropped in the 4 days they was monitoring. Clearly they can't admit to the real issue. They also told us that in their T&C's it states that the connection can drop up to 5 times a day so tough luck. I signed up for 2 year contract a year ago and I'm regretting it massively. Any gamers or people that need a solid connection for personal use I cant warn you enough. DON'T GET BT."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I switched my internet provider from Sky to BT two months ago and I have nothing but problems with the reliability of the connection and the service I receive. The internet connection drops out and I get very low speeds to the point where I cannot open a web page! In the 6 years with Sky I never had any problems with connection or any cause to call customer services. Every time I contact BT they test the line and find no fault, they say the line is not dropping and fob me off with the same old things to try, on the last call I was told BT they will only guarantee a wired connection and told me to hard wire all of my devices or to look to change my provider. When I asked to leave my contract due to the issues I was told I would be charged. I am now trapped in a contract that does not deliver the service I need consistently. BT customer service is very poor and they do not care about their customers and are only interested in fleecing them for the money. I do not write reviews normally but I felt compelled to write at my disgust at the way this company treats its customers. Do not use BT for internet, if you have problems you will be on your own Very reluctant trapped customer"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BT is rated 1.47 based on 275 reviews