BT Reviews

1.49 Rating 222 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver, Courier, Postal Service
delivery methods
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
Ad Looking for similar companies? ? Adverts from our client network
"Missold product; teribble Cloud phone customer service,one of the staff was a liar!!!"
Posted 10 months ago
Are you BT? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Internet is beyond appaluing. Drops consistently and is horrendously slow. Worst mistake I ever made going with this company, complete waste of money. My one piece of advice...just don’t!"
Posted 11 months ago
"Put me on a 2 year contract when I asked for 1 year, now charging me hundreds of pounds to get out of it. If you can avoid BT, then do so."
Posted 11 months ago
"5 Routers Later Connection Still Drops After contacting BT 6 times and 5 Hub5's later enough is enough. The router resets itself many times a day and all BT do is send another router. Clearly it's not the router and after some investigation it appears the BT network is overloaded. According to a professional BT wire everybody onto the same ring and that can not handle the bandwidth of everybody at peak times. I contacted them a few weeks ago and they said they would monitor the connection. 8 router resets later over 4 days they claimed it had not dropped in the 4 days they was monitoring. Clearly they can't admit to the real issue. They also told us that in their T&C's it states that the connection can drop up to 5 times a day so tough luck. I signed up for 2 year contract a year ago and I'm regretting it massively. Any gamers or people that need a solid connection for personal use I cant warn you enough. DON'T GET BT."
Posted 11 months ago
"I switched my internet provider from Sky to BT two months ago and I have nothing but problems with the reliability of the connection and the service I receive. The internet connection drops out and I get very low speeds to the point where I cannot open a web page! In the 6 years with Sky I never had any problems with connection or any cause to call customer services. Every time I contact BT they test the line and find no fault, they say the line is not dropping and fob me off with the same old things to try, on the last call I was told BT they will only guarantee a wired connection and told me to hard wire all of my devices or to look to change my provider. When I asked to leave my contract due to the issues I was told I would be charged. I am now trapped in a contract that does not deliver the service I need consistently. BT customer service is very poor and they do not care about their customers and are only interested in fleecing them for the money. I do not write reviews normally but I felt compelled to write at my disgust at the way this company treats its customers. Do not use BT for internet, if you have problems you will be on your own Very reluctant trapped customer"
Posted 11 months ago
"If I could give this company 0 stars I would. The treatment of my family has been absolutely diabolical. They have admitted time and time again that they missold policies to my elderly parents and yet months on, despite my efforts nothing has been resolved. My family live in a remote area and without landline communications, they are completely without any form of phone or internet. This is very distressing for elderly people as well as constant harassment from different departments of BT demanding bill payment, despite the complete admittance of fault from BT. As a medical professional, if this was a small company, this would be considered a safeguarding issue, exploiting elderly people. I am absolutely appalled. If only my family lived in an area where they could get Virgin service. If you can be with an alternative company to provide your communications then I urge you to do so. This is a large corporation taking advantage of the public. I would like to know how many other people have been missold tariffs and are in a similar situation."
Posted 1 year ago
"We needed wifi for our cottage in Norfolk and BT were the only answer all those other provider were no where to be seen with the professionalism and network. Great service and great connection. Well done BT and Open Reach!!"
Posted 1 year ago
"BT Were amazing start to finish. A easy, seamless and painful switch where we kept our phone number! Great system and the advisors I spoke to were excellent! Pleasantly surprised with BT Cloud Phone"
Posted 1 year ago
"absolutely rubbish, worst customer service ever, poor broadband service! I've been battling with them since I moved into a new property 8 months ago, absolutely useless company!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolutle not recommended!!!the worse costumers service i ever deal with. They increase my bill by £20 after i rang to resolve the matter i have been told to cancel my contract if i am not happy ,awful! Avoide if you can!"
Posted 1 year ago
"the broadband speed is more times slow than fast,and bt mail must be the worst around it keeps going down,most people i know who have bt are fed up with it.Go somewhere else."
Posted 1 year ago
"Bad broadband speed and customer service tell lie after lies stay away better then suffer to get away"
Posted 1 year ago
"They called me the first day of my business (01/11/2016) and as fast as the sales person can say between the the lines she said 2 years contract which I swear I never heard of it, and now I sold the business after 18 months they charge over 200 pounds for cancellation. During my time with them I had such a difficult time as they created 2 lines instead of one, one for landline and one for broadband (I only asked for one line) and were charging for 2 lines, and when they wanted to close one line (when they find out what they have done) they stopped the service in other line too which that caused line in my business stopped for 5 days and that caused me over 1000 pounds loss. They are the worst company ever existed. never ever will use them and my recommendation is everyone affected complain to OFCOM."
Posted 1 year ago
"Terrible customer service, online chat was awful and at times difficult to understand, contradicted themselves and assumed customer was at fault. Over promised and under delivered. Turns out it was their engineers that had caused the fault and knocked out both our landline and broadband for 5 days. No apologies, no contact after. Was even told at one point that BT do not have customer service numbers for the public to call, interesting for a telecommunications company! Will be switching to a new supplier, years of loyalty mean nothing to this company."
Posted 1 year ago
"Terrible customer service, online chat was awful and at times difficult to understand, contradicted themselves and assumed customer was at fault. Over promised and under delivered. Turns out it was their engineers that had caused the fault and knocked out both our landline and broadband for 5 days. No apologies, no contact after. Was even told at one point that BT do not have customer service numbers for the public to call, interesting for a telecommunications company! Will be switching to a new supplier, years of loyalty mean nothing to this company."
Posted 1 year ago
"Worst company in the UK award goes to BT. i have never dealt with so many unorganised, no clue what it means by good customer service, rude, make promises they never keep for a record breaking time of 5 months with on going issues complaints. Their excuse is that they have far too many people with similar complaints so its takes them 2 weeks in my case 2 months to respond my emails. Please ask a billion questions before signing up for BT cloud voice or any services with BT or shop around and compare prices with smaller companies first, speak to people whi have the system you want and ask them to tell you pros and cons. BT will mis-sell to you and ignore you once you have agreed a contract. They will avoid you once you mention you are not happy and want to end the contract. Really disgusting service from the BT cloud voice team staff."
Posted 1 year ago
"I moved into a new property on 30th November which already had the Fibre installed and the Openreach box installed, I contacted BT as advised by my developers on 01/12/2017 and was advised that they would be back in contact in 7 days once the connections team had dealt with this. I received no call within the 7 days so contacted BT again, I was advised there was a slight delay but everything would be ready by the latest 2nd January and someone would be in contact. The 2nd January came and went, so I contacted BT again who advised that the developers had not connected me, so I needed to speak to them. So, I contacted the developers who advised this was not the case and that everything has been done their end so it was a BT/Openreach issue. Again, I contacted BT who then proceeded to advise me that the developers had not registered my address with the Royal Mail, which is why I was not able to get any further so I needed to get this done. I again contacted my developer who advised again this was not the case and that the address was registered 48 hours prior to completion. So, I contacted BT yet again, who did apologise and advised that this was not the issue and that they were just waiting for an engineer to say 'yes'. Unfortunately, I am not sure what they are saying yes to, or what the delay was, but I was assured that my case had been raised as a complaint and that someone would be in contact shortly. I waited but didn't get any response yet again, so called BT on 22/01/18 and had a painful conversation and was on the phone for over an hour (the hold times were atrocious), I did speak to a pleasant lady, however, I got absolutely nowhere - she could not give me any information whatsoever on what the holdup was, how long it would take to resolve and why no one had been in contact - I asked to escalate my complaint, to which she replied I could not do, so at this point I was at my wits end on how I could resolve this and who would help me. I found an email address for a senior member of BT, so emailed to make a formal complaint and escalate things, I also contacted Openreach to see if they could assist me. This did seem to move things along, BT emailed me to say my complaint was being looked into and that someone would be in contact – this took some time. In the meantime, Openreach actually moved things along and emailed me to advise all connections had been made on 26/01/2018 so I could make an order. At this point I tried alternative providers but wasn’t able to place an order so I placed one with BT. On 28/01/18 someone from the complaints team contacted me to advise she had contacted everyone to make sure everything was in place – I advised her that I have already done this, so all she had actually done was confirm everything was already done! She was a pleasant lady and was apologetic, and said how they do not like to hear of bad experiences with customer service and kindly offered me £30 towards my bill, which I did appreciate and although I wouldn’t say that I was completely satisfied with continuing with BT, I accepted this to resolve the complaint. As the experience I had so far was not great, and I’d found out one of my neighbours had internet with an alternative provider I decided to search the market – previously when doing this no one came up on comparison sites for my postcode/address. However, this time Sky, TalkTalk, Vodafone, plusnet and BT came up – some of the deals for the Fibre were much better than what BT had offered me and I was within my 14 day cancellation period. So, I called Sky as I wanted to try to switch to them as they provide SkyTV to me already and can be quite flexible on discussing prices. I was advised that BT had locked my internet so to call them and they would be able to remove this and I can place an order with Sky. I called BT on 12/02/18 as I had a query with my bill, the gentleman I spoke with was lovely he explained everything clearly and gave fantastic customer service – so far the only person within the organisation that I rated. I mentioned to him that I was planning on cancelling due to the issues I’ve had so far and generally being unhappy, he was very apologetic and explained to cancel within my 14 days to avoid charges, I also mentioned Sky advising my internet was locked – he advised me this was only due to being covered by BT now and that once I cancelled it would be fine. I couldn’t cancel at that point as I had someone at my door so would call back later. I called on 13/02/18 to cancel with BT, this is when I felt terrible after speaking with the advisor, I was advised that I couldn’t cancel and that BT had the ‘monopoly’, as a customer I don’t feel this is an appropriate way to explain me not being able to use another provider, there are much better ways of explaining things. I explained that one of my neighbours were with Sky, to which the reply was no, Sky cannot provide internet on this estate if they’ve lived there less than 12 months, which is the case for all of my neighbours. When I was trying to get my point across I was continuously interrupted and made to feel like I was lying and making things up! Not once during this call did the advisor apologise for the issues I had so far, or try and do anything to resolve my issues – just add to them. Also, I mentioned that there are cheaper prices available – to which I was advised that not for Fibre to the premises, and the advisor explained the differences to me between Fibre and Broadband, usually I’d understand this being explained to a customer, however, in the manner this was being explained to me I felt patronised and felt as though the advisor was treating me like I was stupid. I am not stupid and I know the difference, I am fully aware that it would be fibre that I would need to look for. As you can appreciate after how the advisor had made me feel, I did not want to continue with the conversation, which in the upset I did say on the phone but I was still talking when the line cut off. In my opinion, the advisor terminated the call, although BT will never admit to this, but as I was still talking the conversation was not over, it was coming to an end but I was still speaking and with how the call ended, I expected someone to return the call to explain they did not hang up and somehow the call terminated, but this was not by me. As you can appreciate, after how the call ended I was extremely upset, angry and appalled at how I had been treated by BT, especially with my issues so far. I emailed the complaints team that had been dealing with me previously on 13/02/18. They had managed to resolve my previous issues to an acceptable level so I wanted to speak to someone to explain how I had been made to feel and to try and come to a resolution. I did try to call their complaints number but this goes straight to voicemail, it was not something that I wanted to leave a voicemail about so left it at the email. I received a reply on 14/02/18 advising someone was looking into and would be in touch. I replied to thank them and advised it was an urgent matter as the 14 day cancellation period was very close. On 16/02/18 I spoke with someone after them trying to contact me the previous day, again I tried to call them back but all of the numbers to the complaints team go to voicemail on every occasion I call. Firstly, my email explained why I wished to make a complaint but the gentleman that contacted me said I wasn’t happy with the price, advised this was not the only reason for my dissatisfaction and tried to explain. Unfortunately I was met with another member of BT staff that was not helpful or willing to listen to me! I explained that the person I had spoken to previously made me out to be a liar and stupid – to which his response was ‘no, this is how you felt’. At no point did this representative of BT try to apologise for how I felt or come to any resolution, he had made his decision before he had even called me that he would not be able to do anything for me. He talked over me when I was trying to speak and discuss the situation, I have worked in customer service and in complaints – I am aware of how customers should be treated and how I have been dealt with treated would not be acceptable nor tolerated in the organisation that employ me. Customers have the right to be treated in a fair manner and not feel belittled, made out to be a liar and made to feel upset by speaking to customer services. I completely understand that there are always going to be circumstances where a customer is not going to be happy and that there are situations beyond a company’s control, however, customers should still be treated with respect and I do not feel that this was the case when I have been dealing with BT. Also, as a consumer, I feel that I should have the right to choose who provides my service, not have to go with a specific company because they hold the ‘monopoly’ – I have just purchased a new house, so as you can appreciate I need to obtain the best deal for me financially to ensure that I can pay all bills that I need to pay. My concerns are also that BT could treat other customers in this manner and they get away with it, there are many people that I have spoken with regarding my situation and I have not come across one person that has had a good experience with BT and would recommend them – it is a great shame considering they hold the ‘monopoly’ in telecommunications, yet their communication skills require a lot of improvement. If I could score zero, I would."
Posted 1 year ago
"Avoid at all costs. We was moving home so asked for a home move with BT, we gave our date of the move, yes they closed the existing line at old address but never connected at new address, no contact from BT and no one turning up to connect. After numerous calls to BT over a 2 week period and being advised differently of the reason for not being connected ( one of the reason was they had dug up the road to lay new cable from the Exchange which is outside our new home and guess what no signs of any work being done) we cancelled the order and our direct debit and went to SKY who connected there broadband within 5 days. We then had a phone call from BT asking why we had cancelled direct debit, they was advised why and we was told that we had to pay for the remainder of the contract even though we was not connected. No payment was made and had no further contact with BT. Stay clear if you can. BT are not reliable and push you from pillar to post, you will never get a correct answer from them."
Posted 1 year ago
"We used to have a BT VOIP Line which worked perfectly well. When we upgraded our Broadband Line (With BT) we were informed the VOIP phone was no longer available & to keep our work Phone Number we were advised to go with BT Cloud Phone. We are having nothing but problems with it. Even when I have a Full 4G Signal and/or WiFi, sometimes it answers the incoming call, sometimes it's dead when I answer sometimes it brings up the End Call & Answer incoming, or send call to Answerphone. Theres no pattern for me to work out why it does certain things. My heart sinks when I hear the BT Cloud Phone ring. Is it a lost Customer!!!!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Incredibly bad customer service, script based call centres in India where they employ people who don't know what they doing, have no knowledge of the products, and do not offer resolution to issues. Never going back to BT again."
Posted 1 year ago
BT is rated 1.49 based on 222 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support