BT Reviews

1.46 Rating 268 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver, Postal Service
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Over a week
customer service
1.24 out of 5
Ad Looking for similar companies? ? Adverts from our client network
"Poor service diabolical customer service worst company I have known dont go anywhere near"
Posted 5 months ago
Are you BT? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Awful, just awful, what they do to their customers is bordering on criminal. Never encountered such inefficient customer services, rude, cannot understand the simplest request, how do they get away with it !"
Posted 5 months ago
"Useless. i got lied to when i set up my contract... the operator told me verbally 12 months they sent paperwork for 18th months( i didn't check my Fault) .... convenient they didn't record the call. constant drops in service with no explanation. changed my direct debit date from the 10th so i got 2 months worth of bank charges and damage to my credit file. called 4 times to set up paperless so i wasn't charged took them 6 months to get it done correct. there India complaints dept calls and there accent is that thick you cant understand AVOID BT."
Posted 5 months ago
"worst providers I have come across EVER !!!! we have the same trouble every month and every time we think it's sorted that crop back up. The internet is shocking and we end up having to use 4g on mobiles most of the month. The bill is an absolute nightmare ! we phone to pay every month and ask them to change the date of the direct debit, they have always said it's done and we have the same problem the month after and then we have to pay late charges. this month is the first time we have been told that the direct debit can not be changed and they have no recorded of us being told we can change it. staff can be rude and the last conversation I had I told the lady I was thinking of leaving and she hung up on me."
Posted 5 months ago
"WORST customer service i've EVER had. Couldn't wait to leave this AWFUL company. LIES LIES LIES. DO NOT USE BT!!!!!! I wish I could give ZERO stars!!!!"
Posted 5 months ago
"The one that is the best money earning"
Posted 5 months ago
"Customer services are awful firstly they don’t give you the right information then they tell you lies and then they are downright rude. Luckily I was in time to cancel my order for broadband lucky escape I think. I have complained twice they just don’t care. I was so shocked at the way I was spoken to just because I dared to ask for my account number."
Posted 5 months ago
"Been trying for a month now to get this service up and running since BT convinced me to go for it. Been fed more bull***t than i can take. And am on the phone at present and have been for over an hour trying to calcell it so i can go elsewhere. If i can offer anyone any advice, please go somewhere else if you want a cloud service"
Posted 5 months ago
"I purchased the superfast broadband package on 29/02/19 I was told that I would be connected on the 13/3/19 that day came and went then I was told it would be on the 15/03/19 that date went by and still no internet today the 19/03/19 after being put in touch with a case review team was told it would be the 21/3/19, so after 9 days without any internet and hours of telephone calls I found out that the problem was no one had told the engineers to connect me and all the drivel I have been told were just plain lies ,I wait with baited breath to see if I am connected on 21/03/19"
Posted 5 months ago
"We have had BT email addresses for decades but in recent years we have had to pay a small amount for these. When they put the price up to £7.50 per month, we decided to switch to BT broadband as this would incorporate our email costs. The broadband was fine, much faster than talktalk our previous provider. However, the day after we arrived in Sri Lanka for a 2 month trip my husband's email address was 'deactivated' - he could neither send or receive emails. This really is pretty inconvenient!!!! So he embarked on a series of phone calls with BT - we kept details of the times and the length of these conversations - and the costs of calling from Sri Lanka. The calls were both expensive and extremely agitating/depressing as nothing was resolved. They did not phone on the Sri Lankan number we provided or use the alternative email address that we provided. We had to firefight a number of issues that arise when email notifications are not received. We arrived back on 28th February and continued to seek a solution and after about a week the email was reactivated, but no emails were received for the period 4th January to 7th March - these will never be available we are told! BT has shown no inclination to pay for our phone calls or refund the costs of their 'services' for the period when we were receiving a reduced service, nor have they given any explanation for this lamentable failure. Is this customary? Can this possibly be acceptable?"
Posted 6 months ago
"Although I have not had an account for about 3 years, I recieved a letter to my address but with an unfamiliar name. Thinking this may be some scam - someone taking a phone contract for example - I rang BT. The call was answered by the Indian call centre staff (who were very polite) but sadly they really couldn`t understand what the problem was. (Indian call centres were the reason for leaving BT 3 years ago). I emailed the CEO - but they wouldn`t tell me why my address has been linked with someone elses name - just blaming the marketing dept. This is unnacceptable as your address allows companies to identify you and link you with your financial behaviour."
Posted 6 months ago
"Too expensive"
Posted 6 months ago
"If I could I would leave 0 stars Have been a customer with BT >15yr Every time I move it is a saga - delay in service switching. They have awful customer service no communication. Most recently delay of 3 weeks, told it would be looked at once service was up and running. No follow calls an email instead saying they were closing because they had tried to call and couldn't get hold of me (they hadn't no missed phone calls or message) on replying that this was not the case and not to close the complaint case they proceeded to close the complain. Only way to reopen is to call them and be put on hold for ages (50+min) I presume this is the ethos of how they handle complaints (make it as difficult as possible until people give up). To add further insult they have now overcharged me."
Posted 7 months ago
"Customer service unimaginably bad. Staff haven’t a clue. Can’t give negative score"
Posted 7 months ago
"If I could give 0 stars I would. Our business has lost thousands in revenue promising us their service after cancelling installation SEVEN times! We were shipped from pillar to post overseas which cost a huge amount in phone costs. unreliable, inefficient; If you can't complete a service then why take it on"
Posted 8 months ago
"1. We were switched off on Sunday morning without warning 2. When we try to make a phone call we are connected to sky!! 3. After paying BT are incapable of reconnecting us - looks like it wrecks their system 4. C/S consists of ‘have you tried our website’ or if you’re really persistent a chat with someone in India who asks you if you tried switching modem on and off or if you’d like a paid engineer next week and adding insult to injury they then hang up on you! For all this pleasure we pay £80 / month - other providers offer twice the speed for less than half the price"
Posted 8 months ago
". Bad customer experience . Asking for more money if the service is not working . Long que to wait for an customer service . I have almost waited for 55 min for an answer."
Posted 8 months ago
"BT have just upgraded my broadband, during the upgrade there was an accidental break in service. I reported this at about 1700 on 27 December. A smart engineer arrived at 1100 on 28 December and tracked the fault back from the house to the cabinet, including checking the incoming wiring. All was fixed by 1230. First rate service. I also ended up with a SIM card that I didn't need, this was cancelled with a minimum of fuss. Thank you BT"
Posted 8 months ago
"Complained to BT about our Broadband constantly dropping out, each time I did this BT advised me to get a better, faster Deal, a new contract. Now we are paying over £50 a quarter. We tried to end our Contract and were advised we had to pay £216 if we pulled out. We still loose connection from time to time and BT say they don't guarantee constant connection. They said, "Complaining on social media can be effective" lol check out Facebook posts, EFFECTIVE? Are you kidding? We have been bludgeoned into paying more and more each time we have complained, by telling us to upgrade to this and that, and I'm sure we are not alone? Did this ever happen to YOU? We had an Openreach engineer sent out to our home to fix the fault by BT? Great he found out what was wrong, fixed the problem. All good then? No. The engineer went out to his Openreach Vehicle and filled in his report stating No problems found? WHY? Because BT-Openreach would get away with paying Compensation to Customers if the report states this. BT allowed this, turned a blind eye. Now today if the Engineer finds a fault in your home you have to pay a fee of £75. Is that the same TRUSTED Engineer from OPENREACH sent out by BT? Yes it is. I've spoken to BT today asking them to change over my account to my wife's name as my health is deteriorating and it would be less stress later on. I have also asked for a lesser cost contract £29.99 for 18 months. As advertised on TV, But they refused.After 50 years being with BT. My Advice to all that want a phone-broadband etc, stay well clear of BT. you will not be disappointed. michael n Betty lewendon ps Were you or your family, or Buisness treated with the same Scam-Con, by BT- Openreach to deny Thousands of Customers Compensation? BT-Openreach must have all the Engineers reports, Was your fault report same as ours? Lies, Ofcom UK media watchdog, have they been informed about this pratice?"
Posted 8 months ago
"Complained to BT about our Broadband constantly dropping out, each time I did this BT advised me to get a better, faster Deal, a new contract. Now we are paying over £50 a quarter. We tried to end our Contract and were advised we had to pay £216 if we pulled out. We still loose connection from time to time and BT say they don't guarantee constant connection. They said, "Complaining on social media can be effective" lol check out Facebook posts, EFFECTIVE? Are you kidding? We have been bludgeoned into paying more and more each time we have complained, by telling us to upgrade to this and that, and I'm sure we are not alone? Did this ever happen to YOU? We had an Openreach engineer sent out to our home to fix the fault by BT? Great he found out what was wrong, fixed the problem. All good then? No. The engineer went out to his Openreach Vehicle and filled in his report stating No problems found? WHY? Because BT-Openreach would get away with paying Compensation to Customers if the report states this. BT allowed this, turned a blind eye. Now today if the Engineer finds a fault in your home you have to pay a fee of £75. Is that the same TRUSTED Engineer from OPENREACH sent out by BT? Yes it is. I've spoken to BT today asking them to change over my account to my wife's name as my health is deteriorating and it would be less stress later on. I have also asked for a lesser cost contract £29.99 for 18 months. As advertised on TV, But they refused.After 50 years being with BT. My Advice to all that want a phone-broadband etc, stay well clear of BT. you will not be disappointed. michael n Betty lewendon ps Were you or your family, or Buisness treated with the same Scam-Con, by BT- Openreach to deny Thousands of Customers Compensation? BT-Openreach must have all the Engineers reports, Was your fault report same as ours? Lies, Ofcom UK media watchdog, have they been informed about this pratice?"
Posted 8 months ago
BT is rated 1.46 based on 268 reviews