BT Reviews

1.45 Rating 88 Reviews
9% of reviewers recommend BT

How would you rate BT?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

88 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
xiuz wang
Missold product; teribble Cloud phone customer service,one of the staff was a liar!!!

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about BT in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"Missold product; teribble Cloud phone customer service,one of the staff was a liar!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 15 hours ago
"Internet is beyond appaluing. Drops consistently and is horrendously slow. Worst mistake I ever made going with this company, complete waste of money. My one piece of advice...just don’t!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"5 Routers Later Connection Still Drops After contacting BT 6 times and 5 Hub5's later enough is enough. The router resets itself many times a day and all BT do is send another router. Clearly it's not the router and after some investigation it appears the BT network is overloaded. According to a professional BT wire everybody onto the same ring and that can not handle the bandwidth of everybody at peak times. I contacted them a few weeks ago and they said they would monitor the connection. 8 router resets later over 4 days they claimed it had not dropped in the 4 days they was monitoring. Clearly they can't admit to the real issue. They also told us that in their T&C's it states that the connection can drop up to 5 times a day so tough luck. I signed up for 2 year contract a year ago and I'm regretting it massively. Any gamers or people that need a solid connection for personal use I cant warn you enough. DON'T GET BT."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"If I could give this company 0 stars I would. The treatment of my family has been absolutely diabolical. They have admitted time and time again that they missold policies to my elderly parents and yet months on, despite my efforts nothing has been resolved. My family live in a remote area and without landline communications, they are completely without any form of phone or internet. This is very distressing for elderly people as well as constant harassment from different departments of BT demanding bill payment, despite the complete admittance of fault from BT. As a medical professional, if this was a small company, this would be considered a safeguarding issue, exploiting elderly people. I am absolutely appalled. If only my family lived in an area where they could get Virgin service. If you can be with an alternative company to provide your communications then I urge you to do so. This is a large corporation taking advantage of the public. I would like to know how many other people have been missold tariffs and are in a similar situation."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"BT Were amazing start to finish. A easy, seamless and painful switch where we kept our phone number! Great system and the advisors I spoke to were excellent! Pleasantly surprised with BT Cloud Phone"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"absolutely rubbish, worst customer service ever, poor broadband service! I've been battling with them since I moved into a new property 8 months ago, absolutely useless company!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Absolutle not recommended!!!the worse costumers service i ever deal with. They increase my bill by £20 after i rang to resolve the matter i have been told to cancel my contract if i am not happy ,awful! Avoide if you can!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"the broadband speed is more times slow than fast,and bt mail must be the worst around it keeps going down,most people i know who have bt are fed up with it.Go somewhere else."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
MOHAMED ZERBAOUI
Unverified Reviewer
"Bad broadband speed and customer service tell lie after lies stay away better then suffer to get away"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"They called me the first day of my business (01/11/2016) and as fast as the sales person can say between the the lines she said 2 years contract which I swear I never heard of it, and now I sold the business after 18 months they charge over 200 pounds for cancellation. During my time with them I had such a difficult time as they created 2 lines instead of one, one for landline and one for broadband (I only asked for one line) and were charging for 2 lines, and when they wanted to close one line (when they find out what they have done) they stopped the service in other line too which that caused line in my business stopped for 5 days and that caused me over 1000 pounds loss. They are the worst company ever existed. never ever will use them and my recommendation is everyone affected complain to OFCOM."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst company in the UK award goes to BT. i have never dealt with so many unorganised, no clue what it means by good customer service, rude, make promises they never keep for a record breaking time of 5 months with on going issues complaints. Their excuse is that they have far too many people with similar complaints so its takes them 2 weeks in my case 2 months to respond my emails. Please ask a billion questions before signing up for BT cloud voice or any services with BT or shop around and compare prices with smaller companies first, speak to people whi have the system you want and ask them to tell you pros and cons. BT will mis-sell to you and ignore you once you have agreed a contract. They will avoid you once you mention you are not happy and want to end the contract. Really disgusting service from the BT cloud voice team staff."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I moved into a new property on 30th November which already had the Fibre installed and the Openreach box installed, I contacted BT as advised by my developers on 01/12/2017 and was advised that they would be back in contact in 7 days once the connections team had dealt with this. I received no call within the 7 days so contacted BT again, I was advised there was a slight delay but everything would be ready by the latest 2nd January and someone would be in contact. The 2nd January came and went, so I contacted BT again who advised that the developers had not connected me, so I needed to speak to them. So, I contacted the developers who advised this was not the case and that everything has been done their end so it was a BT/Openreach issue. Again, I contacted BT who then proceeded to advise me that the developers had not registered my address with the Royal Mail, which is why I was not able to get any further so I needed to get this done. I again contacted my developer who advised again this was not the case and that the address was registered 48 hours prior to completion. So, I contacted BT yet again, who did apologise and advised that this was not the issue and that they were just waiting for an engineer to say 'yes'. Unfortunately, I am not sure what they are saying yes to, or what the delay was, but I was assured that my case had been raised as a complaint and that someone would be in contact shortly. I waited but didn't get any response yet again, so called BT on 22/01/18 and had a painful conversation and was on the phone for over an hour (the hold times were atrocious), I did speak to a pleasant lady, however, I got absolutely nowhere - she could not give me any information whatsoever on what the holdup was, how long it would take to resolve and why no one had been in contact - I asked to escalate my complaint, to which she replied I could not do, so at this point I was at my wits end on how I could resolve this and who would help me. I found an email address for a senior member of BT, so emailed to make a formal complaint and escalate things, I also contacted Openreach to see if they could assist me. This did seem to move things along, BT emailed me to say my complaint was being looked into and that someone would be in contact – this took some time. In the meantime, Openreach actually moved things along and emailed me to advise all connections had been made on 26/01/2018 so I could make an order. At this point I tried alternative providers but wasn’t able to place an order so I placed one with BT. On 28/01/18 someone from the complaints team contacted me to advise she had contacted everyone to make sure everything was in place – I advised her that I have already done this, so all she had actually done was confirm everything was already done! She was a pleasant lady and was apologetic, and said how they do not like to hear of bad experiences with customer service and kindly offered me £30 towards my bill, which I did appreciate and although I wouldn’t say that I was completely satisfied with continuing with BT, I accepted this to resolve the complaint. As the experience I had so far was not great, and I’d found out one of my neighbours had internet with an alternative provider I decided to search the market – previously when doing this no one came up on comparison sites for my postcode/address. However, this time Sky, TalkTalk, Vodafone, plusnet and BT came up – some of the deals for the Fibre were much better than what BT had offered me and I was within my 14 day cancellation period. So, I called Sky as I wanted to try to switch to them as they provide SkyTV to me already and can be quite flexible on discussing prices. I was advised that BT had locked my internet so to call them and they would be able to remove this and I can place an order with Sky. I called BT on 12/02/18 as I had a query with my bill, the gentleman I spoke with was lovely he explained everything clearly and gave fantastic customer service – so far the only person within the organisation that I rated. I mentioned to him that I was planning on cancelling due to the issues I’ve had so far and generally being unhappy, he was very apologetic and explained to cancel within my 14 days to avoid charges, I also mentioned Sky advising my internet was locked – he advised me this was only due to being covered by BT now and that once I cancelled it would be fine. I couldn’t cancel at that point as I had someone at my door so would call back later. I called on 13/02/18 to cancel with BT, this is when I felt terrible after speaking with the advisor, I was advised that I couldn’t cancel and that BT had the ‘monopoly’, as a customer I don’t feel this is an appropriate way to explain me not being able to use another provider, there are much better ways of explaining things. I explained that one of my neighbours were with Sky, to which the reply was no, Sky cannot provide internet on this estate if they’ve lived there less than 12 months, which is the case for all of my neighbours. When I was trying to get my point across I was continuously interrupted and made to feel like I was lying and making things up! Not once during this call did the advisor apologise for the issues I had so far, or try and do anything to resolve my issues – just add to them. Also, I mentioned that there are cheaper prices available – to which I was advised that not for Fibre to the premises, and the advisor explained the differences to me between Fibre and Broadband, usually I’d understand this being explained to a customer, however, in the manner this was being explained to me I felt patronised and felt as though the advisor was treating me like I was stupid. I am not stupid and I know the difference, I am fully aware that it would be fibre that I would need to look for. As you can appreciate after how the advisor had made me feel, I did not want to continue with the conversation, which in the upset I did say on the phone but I was still talking when the line cut off. In my opinion, the advisor terminated the call, although BT will never admit to this, but as I was still talking the conversation was not over, it was coming to an end but I was still speaking and with how the call ended, I expected someone to return the call to explain they did not hang up and somehow the call terminated, but this was not by me. As you can appreciate, after how the call ended I was extremely upset, angry and appalled at how I had been treated by BT, especially with my issues so far. I emailed the complaints team that had been dealing with me previously on 13/02/18. They had managed to resolve my previous issues to an acceptable level so I wanted to speak to someone to explain how I had been made to feel and to try and come to a resolution. I did try to call their complaints number but this goes straight to voicemail, it was not something that I wanted to leave a voicemail about so left it at the email. I received a reply on 14/02/18 advising someone was looking into and would be in touch. I replied to thank them and advised it was an urgent matter as the 14 day cancellation period was very close. On 16/02/18 I spoke with someone after them trying to contact me the previous day, again I tried to call them back but all of the numbers to the complaints team go to voicemail on every occasion I call. Firstly, my email explained why I wished to make a complaint but the gentleman that contacted me said I wasn’t happy with the price, advised this was not the only reason for my dissatisfaction and tried to explain. Unfortunately I was met with another member of BT staff that was not helpful or willing to listen to me! I explained that the person I had spoken to previously made me out to be a liar and stupid – to which his response was ‘no, this is how you felt’. At no point did this representative of BT try to apologise for how I felt or come to any resolution, he had made his decision before he had even called me that he would not be able to do anything for me. He talked over me when I was trying to speak and discuss the situation, I have worked in customer service and in complaints – I am aware of how customers should be treated and how I have been dealt with treated would not be acceptable nor tolerated in the organisation that employ me. Customers have the right to be treated in a fair manner and not feel belittled, made out to be a liar and made to feel upset by speaking to customer services. I completely understand that there are always going to be circumstances where a customer is not going to be happy and that there are situations beyond a company’s control, however, customers should still be treated with respect and I do not feel that this was the case when I have been dealing with BT. Also, as a consumer, I feel that I should have the right to choose who provides my service, not have to go with a specific company because they hold the ‘monopoly’ – I have just purchased a new house, so as you can appreciate I need to obtain the best deal for me financially to ensure that I can pay all bills that I need to pay. My concerns are also that BT could treat other customers in this manner and they get away with it, there are many people that I have spoken with regarding my situation and I have not come across one person that has had a good experience with BT and would recommend them – it is a great shame considering they hold the ‘monopoly’ in telecommunications, yet their communication skills require a lot of improvement. If I could score zero, I would."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We used to have a BT VOIP Line which worked perfectly well. When we upgraded our Broadband Line (With BT) we were informed the VOIP phone was no longer available & to keep our work Phone Number we were advised to go with BT Cloud Phone. We are having nothing but problems with it. Even when I have a Full 4G Signal and/or WiFi, sometimes it answers the incoming call, sometimes it's dead when I answer sometimes it brings up the End Call & Answer incoming, or send call to Answerphone. Theres no pattern for me to work out why it does certain things. My heart sinks when I hear the BT Cloud Phone ring. Is it a lost Customer!!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Not happy with this company, lost my Samsung galaxy 8 with my BT mobile sim contract inside as i used this sim with my handset witch did come from another network but used BT, when i lost my handset my insurance asked for proof of usage witch BT could not give me they had poor excuses to why they couldnt give this info witch i believe they should be as sim was used with that handset in question, i was told till blue in the face they could not provide proof of usage strangely, witch has now caused me big issues with getting my handset replaced by insurance no proof of usage no claim. so now im at a big loss of a £750 handset i cant replace and stuck in a 2 year contract paying £44 a month with no handset, no thanks to BT mobile not providing the appropriate info for my insurance company, when i mentioned court action bt all of a sudden managed to produce documents out of the blue witch did not even gel with my claim, so i believe this is made up and it come across very suspicious i am now forced with having to take court action at a cost to me, as a autism suffer and suffer of Asperger's i found my ordeal very very frustrating and distressing i have been without a handset since Oct now while dealing with this and every day my mental health gets effected and now forced to buy out for a new handset. i believe BT mobile to be liable in this case and having to take them and others to court over this now, id stay well clear of BT for mobile phones they have a poor reaction to customers issues and cant even do the simplest of things and unless you want to lose out i wouldnt even go there. not worth the stresses or action that has to be taken after dealing with them i also managed to gather over £50 worth of phone call charges to my home phone in relations to all contact to companies about issues revolving this. very upset customer and will never use BT again or advise people to go with them. I also had to go through the Ombudsman who sided with my insurance company and denied my claim due to no proof of usage so i feel BT are at fault and liable and act very suspiciously, i had to go through reconsideration with insurance and the ombudsman companies all to a fail due to one simple bit of info BT wont and say cant provide. Soon as a sim is put in to a handset that network is aware and details are logged of this imei number and with that number states what phone is used so why they cant do what other networks do is beyond me."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Oliver Kearin
Unverified Reviewer
"Bt have been so bad, and having read some for the other poor reviews I have nothing to add but all of them ring true and don't really want to waste any more time on them."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Wide range of products and services. They have the best up to date equipment and services"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John Paddington
Unverified Reviewer
"it was amazing service"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"All I can say is do NOT get BT Cloud - I have been in business for 7 years and when I moved was advised I had to get the BT cloud in order to retain my number. Since the day I got it there hasn’t been a week go by that I haven’t had issues. They even ceased my line & broadband in error for 3 days. Prior to that my calls were restricted due to a BT cloud flaw. The service and back up are unbelievably incompetent. Shop around but do not go near BT cloud."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
BT Could Voice DO NOT SIGN UP Before Reading My Review
Unverified Reviewer
"I have had a real eye opener since Sept 2017 regarding services from BT cloud voice team and how they operate. The only words to describe this department is: Incompetent, time wasting, ignorant, no replies, no care for customer needs and mis-selling products. Yes I have made many complaints and they did sort things out fast after making it drag for months. I wasted my valuable time on this, chasing and chasing. It was frustrating for me with a 100 things to do on hand plus BT issues. Although they gave us a goodwill gesture which does not even make up for what I went through with them. For a brief period during xmas we had the best customer service from them. Naturally after complaining they had no choice. I mean does it always have to go this far for them to help their customers?? I started to believe in them again and gave them another chance after their brief service during xmas. Until recently we received a large bill on 6th dec 2017 stating we had a regular charge which was 3 times more than what we used to pay on our old phone systems. We were sold this in the line of 'You will save money and cloud voice will be cheaper for you. Here I have worked out how much you will save, it is the way to go.' Based on this we unfortunately signed up for 5 yrs. I have emailed the cloud voice team since 6 Dec to explain to me the itemized billing. Which by the way I spoke to the billing team who could not help me either as they were not the ones who set up our account and it's offers. I emailed and emailed and called. Today is 24 Jan. Few days ago the seller emailed me after I threatened to take it further. she said she is happy to arrange a call to discuss it. No apologies for not answering for over a month. So I waited and waited. I emailed again after few days about that phone call. Nothing. Yesterday her colleague emailed back saying she is away and he will inform her to call me when she is back. I thought what?? No email to inform me she is going away after agreeing to call me??? I have been waiting for her to discuss this since 6 Dec 2017 and now she just f**ks off!!! I was furious. How rude. This lady was the first to call and call day in and out when she wanted to sell me cloud voice. It's seems like sales commissions are based on sales only and not after sales. It should be commission on sale, happy customer for at least 2 months. Any complaints and the commission should be held back. I thought BT were well known and would be the best company for our new cloud voice systems. Please do not assume just because a company has been around for long, they will be supper efficient and honest with you. The phones are very often not working properly. No one at BT replies to you until you chase them; apart from the billing team. Oh you get people chasing you for late payments like a rocket!! I tell you the best customer service is from the billing team. When they want your money they will be on the phone being very nice to you and will never forget to call you. Otherwise be sure to wait for months until someone in cloud voice team even replies to your emails or your existence. This is after you chasing and chasing. I would recommend any one who is thinking of signing up for Cloud voice to not do it through BT. I personally prefer the regular landline phones for businesses rather than Cloud voice. I did not get an opportunity to look into this properly and got mis-sold something which is very expensive and worthless in terms of hardware cost. So I am helping others not make the same mistake. Cloud voice runs on internet so if you have broadband/fiber issues your phones will not work. The whole cloud voice system is portal based so get ready to do more work and add and change things you want on your portals. BT does not do all the set ups for you unless you ask them to add certain functions. but of course be prepared to wait and wait. To completely know how Cloud voice works you gotta do 12 courses that are 1.5 hrs long. Which by the way are useless and long. The trainers are lovely and professional. I ended up asking the training team to send me the videos so I don't have to sit through 1.5 hours of training which I have no time for and to be honest it's boring and way too simple. Oh and if only BT provide a manual for this; you would not be paying for the training which is around £500? It's waste of money and unnecessary. Who ever came up with this idea seriously wants to waste client money. I would have a web session that is interactive where it guides the customer on the various functions that need adding and gives an option to add them while the training is on going online. Like setting up a new laptop basically. Someone walks you through step by step. Of course BT designed this idea of courses with trainers live. It's very old fashioned. There are more faster and quicker ways to learn than this. So in conclusion, avoid dealing with BT cloud voice or their migration services or IT management. It's not worth the headache and time. Excuse for all this is they have other 100s of customers to deal with . Straight away making you feel unimportant not worthy of their help. I mean seriously hire more staff and cut down on hard core miss-selling. Customers will get you the business not your hard core miss-selling sales team. At least miss-sell a valuable product that we can rave about. This is what BT cloud voice team does: hardcore selling=commissions for staff=staff happy=staff wants more commissions=more miss-selling=unhappy customers=complaints"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"constant problem"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
BT is rated 1.45 based on 88 reviews