British Gas Reviews

1.44 Rating 135 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend British Gas

Phone:
0800 980 6005

Email:
customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:
PO Box 4805

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate British Gas?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

135 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Steve Richardson
I booked a gas boiler service in December 2017- they told me the earliest they could do was February 14th 2018 - I did think this was a long way off at the time but decided to go with them and I went ahead and booked the service. On February 14th I got a phone call saying they couldn't do the service and invited me to re-book -the earliest appointment being April 16 2018. No thank you - I will contact someone who cares.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about British Gas in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Steve Richardson
Verified Reviewer
"I booked a gas boiler service in December 2017- they told me the earliest they could do was February 14th 2018 - I did think this was a long way off at the time but decided to go with them and I went ahead and booked the service. On February 14th I got a phone call saying they couldn't do the service and invited me to re-book -the earliest appointment being April 16 2018. No thank you - I will contact someone who cares."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Surrey Vince
Verified Reviewer
"Update on my review of 2 months ago. My December service visit for my boiler (which had never occurred within the timeframe of my home care agreement) was cancelled due to too many emergency call outs for Engineers, was again cancelled today Feb 12th, 10 minutes before the end of the 4 hour slot. Next slot available APRIL !!! Also received a letter to say that my complaint raised back in December was still under investigation. What an appalling level of customer service. I think my name has a marker against it following the cancellation of my policy & they are trying to grind me down by continually cancelling my service visit & not investigating my compliant within a reasonable period of time."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"It killed me to give a one star rating as they are not worthy of it! When we moved into our new home, our gas & electricity supply was already set up with British Gas. We had constant issues with our gas & electricity meter reading when we were trying to close our account. There call handlers don't know what they are doing, the whole company needs scrapping, sending us several final bills all for different amounts, absolute ridiculous. Anybody thinking of using British Gas, I advise you to stay well away as they are useless and will rip you off!      "
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I would like to give a no star rating but that option is not available here. I had gas and electricity supply with British Gas. Had lots of issues with gas meter reading as there system somehow reverse the readings at times and I used to get a number of phone calls asking to pay extra £1000 in addition to the monthly direct debit of £52 for a two bedroom flat. Hence changed the service provider in October 2017 and I was told I’m due for a refund of £750. In December I got a cheque from British Gas for £1280. Two weeks later I got another letter from them saying I need to pay £1337 to close my account. I have disputed the bill. Their call handlers and complaints team repeatedly said I need to pay £1337 to close the account. It took nearly two months for them to finally accept that I was due for a refund and I need to pay only £870 back after clearing the cheque they send me. Meanwhile I was getting repeated calls and emails from their debt recovery service saying I need to pay £1350. Stay away from British Gas if possible. Worst service ever experienced."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Stefan Bedford
"Easy online forms and English call centre"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Bill due 1st feb yes alittle laid back not paid 4 days late, got a phone call relating to bill not being paid ,god help me if I was a pensioner and was abit short. Looking now at log fires"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Arranged an appointment (under HomeCare cover) for a technician to repair my boiler the next day. Would have been good service but they never turned up. Rearranged then for the Monday am (no heat/water for 3 days by then) for which they did not turn up (no call) and then pm which they also did not turn up for (no call). Each time I've had to chase British Gas to find out what was going on. No appointment for Monday, best they then offered was Thursday, so six days without heating/water before they even turn up. It's still Monday, and it's still cold. By Thursday, it's supposed to get colder..."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I too have a British Gas Homecare cover, paying £19.77 per month. I moved to the West country from London, and had the Boiler covered in London, when I moved in October 2016, they came and serviced the boiler in November and all was OK, although I did have a filter on the boiler, they quoted for a replacement and when I tried to book, couldn't get through, so left it and got a local plumber to do it for half the quoted price. I registered on-line, and all was well, checked my online account about September, then October, then November as it was telling me my service wasn't due yet, and they would contact me. Well I rang them, they said they were too busy at the moment but made an appointment for January 22nd which was a Monday. I organised myself to have a day off and on the Friday before that British Gas rang to say they are too busy to do the service and made another appointment for April! When is an Annual Service not an Annual Service? When British Gas are doing it, it becomes 18 months, although I have no confidence in the April date being maintained to the extent that I believe it is a ploy, they give you a date knowing full well it won't be stuck to. Alongside all this, I am constantly seeing adverts for the Homecare package, so again these new unsuspecting customers will be taking up the time slots allocated to current customers. The longer it takes to service my boiler, if I ever get it serviced, the more likely it is that it will break down, just like my car, if I paid a garage a regular amount each month in the promise that I would be serviced every year, and they didn't fulfil that promise, my car would probably break down completely. I complained through the customer services complaints site in November and got no response whatsoever, I complained again last week and don't expect a response, where can I go to now? Is there a Ombudsman? All the time I am paying money, need the boiler serviced as it must now be inefficient and feel I am contributing to the high marketing cost of the adverts attempting to lure new customers in."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Phoned British Gas on Saturday to my surprise no one available till Tuesday afternoon. Tuesday came phone call from British Gas sorry but we are so busy we cannot fit you in. I’m applaud that I had no heating and no hot water the cover is so expensive. ‘discusting’ I will be cancelling the policy"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"They sent a bill in 2018 for services supplied 2014 - do not use these crooks"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Kevin
"spoke to person very quickly who explained my tariff options and switched within minutes"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Alessio From Luton
Verified Reviewer
"BG home service cover: 11 days are needed to book an engineer to fix a dish washer 24 hours after a surely not risolutive fix was made by a BG home service engineer and no chance to get an appointment on Sunday... apparently BG home service engineer never does saturdays. Now you know what you get when you decide to subscribe to BG Home service...."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Mrs Holloway
Verified Reviewer
"I have breakdown cover for my boiler. Called them on Monday 15.1 around 4pm as I had a problem with my boiler and the earliest they could send an engineer was Friday 19.1! Wasn't pleased especially when I found out that my cover had automatically been renewed at an increased price, with the first monthly amount having already been collected without my being informed. Come Friday lunch time, phone went and expecting it to be engineer calling to advise he was on the way, I was appalled to find it was girl from call centre to advise engineer would not be calling due to high demand! Next earliest time they could come is Tuesday 23.1. Just not acceptable. Insultingly I was offered £30 compensation which I could buy a heater with. I couldn't even speak to a manger/supervisor, they would get one to call me in 48hours! I will be cancelling my contract ASAP"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If possible I would give British Gas a "no star rating". I had a Combi boiler installed in January 2015. During the first year I called out an engineer twice as the water was not remaining hot when running a bath. This problem was never solved. The first service (understood to be free) in Feb 2016, again, did not solve the bath water problem. I called out an engineer again and once more the problem was not fixed. I got in touch with Bosch, the manufacturer, who sent out an engineer and the fault was rectified. He also told me there was a leak on a radiator which was causing a pressure drop. This radiator was replaced and the system now works fine. I was also informed by British Gas, on the first service, that "a not to current standards" situation was on my appliance but that it was safe. This would involve an upgrade payment which I would not pay. The service was carried out in March 2017. In2018 the service cost increased by 15.5%. When I complained about this they could not justify the large increase to me. Based on the first service being free and my direct debit starting straight afterwards, I assumed that my 2018 service (which has not taken place) was paid for only to be told by British Gas that the first service was when the boiler was installed!!! Needless to say I have cancelled my service agreement and no longer wish to be associated with this shambolic company. I still believe money is owed me and will pursue this."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"For the third year running British Gas have failed to do the legally-required CP12 gas safety certificate inspection on my rental property. Apparently if you book the annual service visit online the gas safety inspection is not included - it seems you have to make a call to get this added on. But nowhere in the paperwork (I went paperless but now do not get anything via email or the online account either!) or on the website does it say anything about this "requirement". So you pay for the inspection but it does not get done, and the company does not seem able to amend its website to either tell you this or add a box for "safety inspection and certification required". The website states: "Gas Safety Certificate - What's included An inspection of your gas meter and pipework, carried out at the same time as your annual service. A safety inspection of any additional gas appliances you have selected (charged per appliance). A Gas Safety Certificate showing the outcome of the inspection and a reminder when it’s due for renewal." It also says in the full terms and conditions: "Gas Safety Certificate (CP12) This can only be purchased with a British Gas product that includes an annual service and will normally be completed at the same time as your annual service." The only reason that I have stayed a British Gas customer is because the engineers they employ in my area are really good."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Morwenna Buck
Verified Reviewer
"Absolutely the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I took out a Landlords Homecare policy and was due for an engineer to visit my property today as I have tenants moving in on Monday and I legally have to have a gas safety certificate before they can move in. The engineer didn’t turn up and when I called then they said for some reason the engineer hadn’t been booked in properly and that the only thing they could do is re-book for March! I have tow tenants that now cannot move into my flat on Monday and are going to be homeless."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"What a useless service, interested only in the bottom line. My boiler service included in my Homecare 400 has been postponed every year for the last four years, putting them back approximately 2 months each time. A 14 month service for your 12 month fee. Customer services should be called we always support BG no matter how awfully you have been treated. Took 3 visits to change a tap without the plumbing leaks BG. Cancelled them today. Halleluja."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had three calls out since Monday and British Gas Engineers still not fixing the problem. One of the engineers yesterday said it was the pump. When I asked him if he was going to change it he said no and said I have freed the pump up and it is working now see how it goes and it fails again then we will look at changing it. Clearly paying for a service that does not exist!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"British gas Homecare. Terrible, terrible service. Booked an appointment two months in advance at my parents' house. Drove 100 miles. No-one turned up. Called up, only to be told that it had been cancelled due to lots of boiler break-downs. There was no notice, no compensation, no recourse. I asked to escalate the issue, and was told it would take two months. Also, two months to get another appointment."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We had an electrical fault caused by the boiler this weekend. It not only cut off the electricity and kept tripping the system but the boiler system was shorting out. Within 6 hours, two seperate engineers (one electrical and one for the boiler) came to the house, despite British Gas own booking systems being upgraded and causing issues, and resolved the issue with brilliant efficiency. The fault was not obvious but the care, attention, politeness and attitude of the engineers was superb and I cannot fault these guys."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
British Gas is rated 1.44 based on 135 reviews