British Gas Reviews

1.48 Rating 160 Reviews
11% of reviewers recommend British Gas

Phone:
0800 980 6005

Email:
customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:
PO Box 4805

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate British Gas?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

160 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
amazing customer service from south african customer service representatives

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about British Gas in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"amazing customer service from south african customer service representatives"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Pure scams and for a big company like BG stealing money from people is a disgrace..something should be done and they need to be review their services n systems. I gave them a month's notice but 18days after my contract ended i get a bill of £430 and I've never had a massive bill like that with them before but just because i left them they are still trying to suck some more money off me and the break down doesnt make sense. As a former employee at BG I'm DISGUSTED by this. They need to be sued for their services."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Appalling customer service !! Not only do they keep increasing prices but don’t fulfill their part of the home are service, continually want to keep cancelling my yearly service, which means in the end I would have missed out on a yearly service altogether !! I’m going elsewhere !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I had a leak with with radiator leaking valve and joint in Edmonton london N9,an engineer his name is Alex arrived on time before the actual appointment time of 12noon.He was so professional friendly,he fixed the problem and clear up well.Can this review be passed on to him and tell him how grea full I was with his work."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"British Gas lies about engineers been booked and pretend to miss you or couldn’t find engineer for more gab 3 times. I sat down in the house for six 1/2 hours waiting for them, but their APP claims thet they missed me. They lie that their engineer missed you. I called them several times telling them that I am waiting for them but they claimed that they coukdn’t have access."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Appalling. I’m 70, live alone, in poor health. I’ve had a week needing urgent work - water running down the walls inside and out. No heating, no hot water. They’ve not turned up to three appointments. Today promised will do but only if there’s water in the property! IVE PAID FOR THE SERVICE!! I’m being treated with utter contempt. DO NOT HAVE A HOMECARE PLAN WITH THEM. APPALLING. TAKE THE MONEY BUT OFFERED MINDBOGGLINGLY BAD SERVICE."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I switched from BG in February, they kept changing the final amount due or to be given back to me. At one point they stated I was due £90 to be returned to me which would be paid within 30 days, then I get a threatening email stating I am due them £22 and it would doubled and passed to debt collectors if I did not pay it right away. None of them seem to know what they are doing, absolutely shocking service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We didn't live at our old address for 6 years (we sold our house in Feb 2012) but every month British gas still charges us 7 pounds per month. I have been contacted with home care British gas following the number 08002949650. They asked me to call 08002948320. Then when I called 08002948320, they then asked me to call 08002949650. No one can be able to cancel the direct debit and refund my money for the last 6 years. I have been calling none stop but no one can sort it out. There were 4 conversations someone even turned off the line. I asked them for the email address so that I can send the copy of my bank account to prove the amount charging every month as it showed clearly that British gas but they couldn't give me the email address. Tonight I called them again and they said that someone will call me back on Wednesday. I told them that I will be busy at my office so can they send me via, or give me an email address so that I can write my queries but they said that they can't. Anyway hopefully someone from British gas will call me on Wednesday"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I think the most off putting thing about this company is that I cant seem to get through a month without having to contact them about some sort of clerical error they have made - receiving e-mails telling me a bill is due when I have already paid, money mysteriously being added to bills with no coherent reason why (yes I asked) and their consistently broken website. I'm tired of talking to them and will be looking to switch to a different provider"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Happy Independent Gas Engineer User
Verified Reviewer
"a total joke of a company contact customer service is just as bad as the standard the engineer is on his way poor quality workmanship anyone considering homecare just ask for the real homecare by name ripoff. i hope this organisation goes out of business they are total cowboys and should not be trusted to change a light bulb let alone risk peoples safety with shoddy supply and fitting of boilers please avoid British Gas,"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"My mum is 84 lives alone, has mobility problems, and dementia. She is supposed to be on the priority register. In the bad weather in early March the boiler broke. I started ringing at 12mid day and was told someone would be out by 6pm. At 2ish I was struggling to keep mum warm. Following numerous phone calls, being put on hold or being hung up on at 7.30 pm I was told nobody would come as everyone had been sent home! I managed to get a lovely local gas engineer who came within 30 minuets and fixed the boiler. I complained that night via email to BG, on the Thursday morning my brother informed me a BG engineer had left a sorry we missed you card at mums at 00.51 in the morning. This is a vulnerable person with dementia, what planet do BG live on. Of course she wouldn’t open the door at that time in the morning.A few days later I complained directly to the CEO. Nothing from any of them. I complained a week later on the phone and was asked to send my email complaints to them again on 3 attempts they have been returned because they have been queuing for to long! I have had no response what so ever. It is absolutely deplorable. They deserve to go bust. I’m in the process of moving mum from BG."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"In response to the previous message, do not pay British Gas, go to the Financial Ombudsman. I had to do that as they owed me a refund and had no intention of paying it. I would advise anyone who is thinking of doing business with British Gas not to. They will take your money and not fulfil their commitment to you. You will find out very quickly that depending on your age you are not a priority customer and if you look further into the reviews and on other review pages ie Facebook you can see that priority customers don't really mean anything to them, they will leave you without heating or hot water no matter what your age. I had two services booked with them, both were cancelled one on the afternoon of the service. Have received two cheques as a good will gesture one for £5.40 and another for £30, I think they were hoping I would give up fighting for the £100 they owed me. I have now after spending approx 5 hours on the phone speaking to the most incompetent staff I have ever encountered. received a full refund, but as I mentioned earlier this is because the financial ombudsman was now involved. So to anyone reading this review please do not give British Gas your money, they are not a reputable company. Living on the longevity of their name, certainly no longer on their service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Deborah McCarthy
Verified Reviewer
"The worst customer service I have ever experienced. We have customer Homecare and they are threatening to pass owed money to debt collector. They have charged us twice for one job. We have tried numerous times to get through on the phone and online customer services obviously do nothing. I am now in a 30 minute queue to pay this amount as the stress is really not helping my husbands blood pressure. We have basically been bullied into paying money we do not owe. Also, when we registered there was an offer of a voucher and this was never received. They have not replied to this query either. I am still in the queue to pay money I do not owe. I will be cancelling my contract but I am dreading trying to speak to someone. Shame on you British Gas ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We tried to switch energy suppliers because British Gas sound good on paper, a month later 11 hours spent on their chat line enough emails to fill a rainforest and still no satisfaction. I have cancelled my Direct Debit let them chase me because if I have to keep contacting a different person in a call centre each and every time I will have no hair left. If you have a fleeting thought of changing to British Gas save yourself a lot of grief and let that thought go!! It should have been a simple switch heaven help you if you have a real problem."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Hopeless organisation . no understandings of even the basics ..."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Been with BT home care for over 10 years but in my opinion the service is getting worse by the year. All they are interested in is getting extra money out of clients, they do not seem to answer written complaints. Wrote to them in December complaining about a charge for a new tap replaced in my kitchen.....no answer. About 2 years ago I had trouble with my boiler, they told me it was the slush in the system and that they would not repair the boiler without having the system flushed, paid BG £700 to have it flushed, ended up having to replace the boiler. Not to mention when they replaced my boiler, it was a complete nightmare, very unprofessional fitters. Now my contract with BG is at an end.....Thank God. I will look for a more professional company"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"British Gas Homecare are disorganised, dreadful and totally unreliable. After having homecare cover for over 20 years we decided to replace our central heating boiler. Before arranging for our plumber to install the new boiler we contacted British Gas and confirmed that the new boiler could transfer to our current homecare contract – confirmed the make and model. After installation we provided the make, model and serial number and British Gas continued to cover our new boiler. After the first year British Gas completed the first service. On the second year we booked the service and the British Gas Engineer refused to service the boiler informing us that our boiler wasn’t service listed with British Gas and left without carrying out the boiler service and confirming that the area Service Manager would be in contact. No contact was made so I telephoned the British Gas Homecare contact centre to try and confirm the situation. One call centre agent confirmed the boiler was service listed and another said it wasn’t and British Gas would have to refund the contract payments for the last two years – not a very satisfactory response! We raised a complaint with British Gas customer service who agreed to send out an engineer to investigate why the boiler isn’t service listed. On the day of the visit British Gas cancelled due the recent bad weather conditions with one-hour notice – not very helpful after making several complaints and telephone calls. We now have a call booked but must wait a further two weeks for the engineer to check and confirm why British Gas have issues servicing our Glow-worm 774 boiler. We have contacted the manufacturer who has confirmed that they don’t have any known service issues with the Glow-worm 774 boiler and can’t understand why are facing issues getting British Gas to cover the boiler."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Left British gas 2nd february to join smaller energy supplier bulb who are fantastic. I was told i would receive my final bill within 6 weeks but it arrived within 2 days .Paid over the internet but found out they took the payment twice. Rang them up over 4 weeks ago about this and they said they would send cheque out within 5-10 days . Did not arrive so have rang them back numerous times only to find out on the first occasion it had not been sent and now they are putting the blame on royal mail. Funny how when you owe them money they want it next day but when we are owed it it takes forever. Customer service is shocking. Do not seem to know what they are talking about . Also my bills were going to double but thanks to bulb I will be saving over £500 a year. These big firms have exploited us for years . My advice have a look at smaller suppliers especially bulb."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrible service. After many years of paying for their home care service and a constant need to call them to correct their mistakes with meter readings and incorrect bills ,we have not had hot water since Friday . It's Tuesday today and we have had to arrange and pay for an emergency plumber because British Gas refuse to come to repair our boiler because they will not send an engineer unless we are "vulnerable" Well done British Gas....Enough said , terrible service as always !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We have a British Gas Homecare contract covering the boiler for over 6 years. In that time we've had only positive experiences with both the telephone staff & also engineers. Parts that have been replaced are diverter & also isolation valves, pump & circut board. Only once did they cancel but they let me know. I'm paying little over £5.00 per week & that includes a £90.00 yearly service. Couple of weeks before renewal i ring them & politely haggle to get something off the new premium. Regards non Brit Gas engineers i know there are decent ones out there but in our experience we don't want the hassle of having to keep chasing them & also attempting to rip us off. To us it's about peace of mind."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
British Gas is rated 1.48 based on 160 reviews