Bon Accord Life Reviews

4.68 Rating 418 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Bon Accord Life
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.77 out of 5
Read Bon Accord Life Reviews

About Bon Accord Life:

Independent Insurance Broker offering whole of market comparisons for Life Insurance, Income Protection, Accident Protection, Over 50s Life Insurance and Private Medical Insurance.

Visit Website

Phone:

01786477800

Write Your review

Tell us how Bon Accord Life made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Just out of curiosity for a cheap quote, I foolishly filled out a quick quote style online form from an advert. Instead of an online result, I was bombarded with 7 different calls from the Advisers, using different numbers too. From the first call I tried to make it clear I wasn't interested but the adviser insisted and the calls just kept on coming. Come on guys, screw the nut!
Posted 1 month ago
I was advised that after 6 months I would get a cheque back,this never arrived, I then cancelled my policy, I had constant phone calls, on the last one when I said I was leaving then I was hit with a £50 cancellation fee, unless I cancelled my new policy and took it out with them. I would not recommend Bon Accord Life.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Rick, I am sorry to hear you have had a negative experience with us. This is not the level of service we strive to have. We would like to look into your case in more detail. If you could contact us on 01786 477800 and ask to speak with our compliance manager he would be happy to do this for you, alternatively email us at info@bonaccordlife.com with details of your case and we can look into this for you. Thanks, The BAL Team
Posted 2 months ago
Husband Cancelled policy to receive a very nasty letter literally demanding £50 admin fee or court action in the next 7 days all because he cancelled in the first 2 years! Pay within 7 days of the date of the letter... letter wasnt even dated. Complete breach of oft guidelines and the protection from harrasment act...I could go on, brilliant when they are receiving your money, stop giving and they turn ugly
Posted 3 months ago
Old fashioned pressurised direct selling. Glad I went with a more professional intermediary. Last call was aggressive. Blocked their number
Posted 4 months ago
Dear Robert, we are really sorry to hear of this experience which is completely against our culture. Please can you email your name and number to compliance@bonaccordlife.com so we can review all contacts and investigate for you.
Posted 4 months ago
I was sold a redundancy insurance but after taking out the policy I realised they did not ask the right questions as to my home ownership so unfortunately I chose Bon Accord Life as they were the cheapest quote not realising they omitted to ask this question, but upon receiving my paperwork I saw the actual price was £20 a month more than what I was quoted setting up the policy as they answered the question of my home ownership to Legal & General incorrectly that I had a mortgage without asking me for clarity if I owned the house or have a mortgage which does effect your payments. Bon Accord life said they didn’t think if you own the house outright or have a mortgage affected the payments and just answered the question without checking with me so with the £20/month price increase the agent offered me 25% of his commission to rectify the error which is a long way short of how much more I am now going to have to pay. I find this company unethical and I am appealing to the FCA after dealing with their compliance manager who was extremely rude, telling me without me asking in his opinion I’d loose if I appealed to the FCA and he did nothing proactive to resolve this issue apart from taking me off their mailing list even after admitting it was their fault why I am paying more for my policy which is of no fault of my own and 25% of the salesman’s commission he begrudgingly offered as the salesman had already offered it as he felt no compensation was necessary. The compliance manager felt I had not been financially disadvantaged even though if the agent had asked the right questions and not filled in the detail without asking me the question I would have gone to another insurer who asked the right questions and gave a more competitive quote, now Legal and General have taken this product off the market I am forced to pay £20/month more. The original service I had from the agent was very polite but I would warn anyone to be careful dealing with this company they set my policy up at ~£60/month and the confirmation letter was ~£80 from legal and general the insurers.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr Reynolds, We are aware of this case as you have raised the complaint with us directly. We are sorry that you feel your experience has not been a good one. I think it is important to look at the facts. You are correct in that when we quoted you we had your residency question incorrectly answered. You notified us that this was wrong on receipt of your documents 1 week after the policy was arranged for you. We then contacted Legal and General who advised us this information would result in a higher premium. After attempting to call you the same day and not getting through, we reached you the following day and advised you that Legal and General had revised their price. At this point you had not paid any premiums on the policy. Although we wouldn't want to lose you as a customer, you could have if you were unhappy with the revised price of sourced cover elsewhere. 1 week after you were advised of the correct premium you paid your first premium. It is important to note that you are not paying more than you should, the revised premium is the correct premium as offered by Legal and General. On short term policies such as redundancy cover Legal and General have the flexibility to change the premium or cease offering cover altogether if they desire. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused of initially giving you the wrong price and we have provided additional training to the consultant to ensure this is less likely to happen in the future. Ultimately though you were advised of the correct premium 1 week after the policy was arranged and 1 week before you made any premiums. You were of course entitled to source cover elsewhere if you desired and you are in no way forced to keep any policy. If you want to cancel your cover you can do so at anytime. The admin error did not cause you to pay £20 more, it did though give you the illusion of the policy being £20 cheaper than it was for a period of 8 days before you had paid any premiums. For this, we apologise. We are though proud that our team put this right within 8 days before any money was taken from your account giving you the option of not taking up the offer from Legal and General. I understand we have sent you a final resolution letter, if you are unhappy then you can of course take your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) who will independently review it. Details for contacting the FOS were provided in the final resolution letter.
Posted 1 year ago
Completed an online form for life insurance, i was just browsing and looking for quotes, on Monday I got a phone call and spoke to Gary Mitchell at first he seemed really nice and helpful but as soon as I said I was just looking for quotes and keeping my options opened his attitude changed! I felt like he was backing me into a corner to do the application there and then although I said to him numerous times that I'm only looking for quotes and advise and would like to gather enough information before going ahead. He made me feel really uncomfortable on the phone call that I had to end up hanging up ending the phone call. Now bon accord will not stop phoning me I feel harassed at this stage having 4/5 missed calls every day and now they have passed my phone number to other insurance companies I'm getting bombarded with calls which should be against data protection. I think this firm is very unprofessional and should not make customers feel like they have to sign up to something they don't want to nor bombard with calls. Ough to work on customer service skills. If this continues happening I'll be seeing to it further!
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review and we apologise for the poor level of service you have received. Firstly I can assure you that we do not, and would not, pass your details, or anyone's details on to any other company. We are very keen to investigate all the issues you have raised but need to clarify your details to be able to fully complete an investigation. From your registered email address it looks like we have called and spoke to you once, and had a total of 5 other calls go to "busy". Our compliance team can verify this and can also review the call made to yourself which made you uncomfortable. Clearly that is not good enough and we apologise for making you feel this way. If you could please email compliance@bonaccordlife.com confirming the number we called you so we can look into this as a matter or urgency. Thank you, Bon Accord Life.
Posted 2 years ago
I had a very unsatisfactory conversation with Dylan McGregor over life insurance. I was made to feel like I was some sort of criminal. All I did was complete an online enquiry form on a web site and got this uneccessary event which I am still very annoyed about several days later. I am now receiving unsolicited emails which had triggered this review. In my view you should avoid contact with this firm and sit down with somebody face to face. That way you might be treated with some adult respect. Also surprise surprise I am since getting loads of dodgy telephone calls so I guess they have passed on my details. I will be making further complaints to the relevant regulatory bodies about this firm.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Steve We are sorry to hear of your negative experience and apologise on behalf of Dylan for how he made you feel. We are very keen to investigate all the allegations you have raised. In order to do this we require your full name or phone number we called you on. This will allow us to listen to all calls and check and correspondence. Please can you provide these details to our Compliance Manager, Blair.Mitchell@bonaccordlife.com. Lastly, we can assure you we take data security and privacy very seriously and never pass any details on to any un-authorised third parties. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.
Posted 2 years ago
Apologies to anyone who read my initial review and spent any money with this company. I bought a policy based on what I had been told, thinking I had got a good deal. Turns out I had been 'misinformed' about the deal and as such meant that the deal I got was not what I wanted and a bad deal for me (deal sold by Sean MacLean). Subsequently I have had no end of trouble trying to get a refund for a situation created by this company. They do not respond to emails, the do not return calls - in spite of numerous promises that they would (Kelly is the person they refer too as dealing with things but she is never available to speak to - even when she is sitting next to them!). They make all sorts of promises when I call them but nothing happens - they have admitted they are at fault but have done nothing to rectify the situation they have created. 2+ months later they are forcing me to go to the financial ombudsman because they will not respond to my complaint. My advice and, I cannot express this strongly enough, is to look elsewhere for financial needs this company are very poor.
Posted 3 years ago
Recently advisor from this company contacted me regarding life insurance and I found them providing sub standard advised and lack of product knowledge.
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Sir Firstly sorry for your bad experience of our company. I have observed the call and your consultant Scott was giving information into non medically assessed life cover which unfortunately we do not provide to people under 50 which explains the knowledge gap. I am sorry to hear that you feel the policy that Scott offered to you was not appropriate and I will be sure to provide feedback to the team to ensure we are more aware of the product you have now taken through a different company.
Posted 3 years ago
I have had to write to Rangers FC and ofcom today. As a Rangers FC fan I am being called minimum 4 times a day by this desperate company to take out life insurance. They call com Manchester or Stirling and won't take no for an answer. What a reputation you are giving to MetLife who I am also contacting with details of everyone who called me.
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mr Douglas I have investigated your complaint regarding the way Bon Accord Life have conducted ourselves when attempting to source you a Metlife Multi Protect policy this month. Firstly, we apologise for any part we have played in causing you any frustration and rest assured we always take negative feedback very seriously. After looking at our own records we called you twice on the 18th of this month with no answer but spoke to you on the 20th. This call was the initial explanation of the MetLife product, at the end of the call we arranged for all the information to be sent via email and then to callback on Monday the 23rd of January at your request. My colleague Sarah tried once as requested, on Tuesday we tried four times over the course of the day, we then tried once on Wednesday and twice yesterday (Thursday). I am sorry to hear you feel these attempts to contact you were excessive but please understand if we had managed to get a hold of you at any point and you let us know you were not looking to proceed at this stage we would have accepted this and you would not have received any further calls. However, at no point did you let us know that that you did not want the cover. I have now removed your details from our system and updated Sarah to make sure that you receive no further calls.
Posted 4 years ago
Cold called me on my landline, explained I had life insurance and wasn't interested. The member of staff refused to accept this and kept trying to pressure me to take cover with them. I eventually hung up. Since then I've revived 2 further calls on my mobile in spite of being asked to be removed from their lists. The staff do not listen when they're told you're not interested and continue to try and force you to take out their cover. The lowest of the low in my opinion. Hard sell techniques being used.
Posted 4 years ago
I am registered for no cold calling. Someone called purporting to come from this Company and having received my details from Rangers FC database. I have not bought tickets, merchandise or anything else from that source. So where did my details come from? Do they not check with the TPS register before having their people call?
Posted 4 years ago
We are sorry to hear of your concerns. I can assure you we follow all TPS guidelines and take data security extremely seriously. We have passed your concerns on to our Compliance team who will aim to resolve any issues and hopefully put your mind at ease over why we contacted you.
Posted 4 years ago
I was contacted by a young lady from Bon Accird life in connection with a life insurance policy I took out with Aviva in 2012. She introduced herself, but did not explain the connection between Bon Accord and Aviva; then she proceeded to undertake a review of my requirements, asking a number of personal questions. I was reticent to divulge some of the information she was asking for, largely because of my increasing suspicion about her imtention. She advised that my existing policy could be conveyed to a different product offering the same return for a smaller monthly payment. When I said I wasn't interested in changing my policy she inferred that I must be stupid, at which point I disconnected the call. My advice to others would be to be wary of cold callers from Bon Accird Life........
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mr Smith Thank you for your email. Firstly, please accept my apologies for your negative experience. At Bon Accord Life we do not cold call and under our regulatory requirements have an obligation to our clients to keep them informed of market changes or policy adjustments that could benefit them. This is of course optional and we would be happy to remove you from future contact if you desire. We have reviewed the call and noted Hannah completed the DPA with you as well as confirming she was calling from Bon Accord Life in relation to the Aviva policy we set up. As you stated we arranged your Aviva policy in 2012 and were re-contacting you primarily because you did not put your initial policy in trust and for many customers this can be of enormous benefit to them from both a financial and peace of mind perspective. While this is a free service we completely respect your decision not to take us up on this offer. Further into the call Hannah then as part of her service, looked at ways of helping you save money or improve your cover. A lot of questions were asked but only questions that would have been needed to get the up to date quotes. From reviewing the call we did not identify any reason why you felt that Hannah implied you were stupid and believe she conducted the call in a professional manner. We do though apologise for giving you this impression. We hope that you continue with the plan we arrange for you in 2012 and we would be happy to discuss your experience in more detail to help us improve our service. In the first instance please contact our compliance team on 01786 477 800. Thank You. Bon Accord Life.
Posted 4 years ago
We was miss sold this policy.My husband is a professional driver(Not covered) I have osteoporosis(Not covered) So we cancelled policy same day as we received the paper work.Only they did not bother to cancel as wished and went ahead and took payment.Not been at tall helpful in solving the issue.Would not recommend to my worst enemy.Livid
Posted 4 years ago
We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy and that our service has fallen short of the high levels of service you quite rightly expect to receive. With regards the policy itself, the plan you chose was the MetLife Multi-Protect plan. We understand your husbands occupation is an HGV driver which is covered on the plan - Please see this handy link from MetLife - http://www.metlife.co.uk/uk/campaigns/Owl/MetLife_AP_sales_aid_A4_driver.pdf. I think where the confusion may be here is the fact that Professional Divers are not covered as this is considered to be one of the low number of excluded occupations. If your husbands was a Professional Diver the application would not have been processed. Please rest assured that if you decide to take another MetLife plan that professional drivers are very much covered and it looks like this was simply down to you mis-reading the word "Divers" as "Drivers". With regards the osteoporosis, there is an exclusion on the broken bones benefit for this condition so I understand if this was your main area of concern why you may have re-considered purchasing the plan. I can confirm though that osteoporosis is covered under the hospitalisation benefit which kicks in after the plan has been in place for 12 months. This covers accidents or sickness and includes pre-existing conditions such as osteoporosis. All other aspects of the plan would of course be covered from day 1 such as the accidental death benefit and the various pay-outs for accidents and injuries. Please accept our apologies that the plan was not cancelled resulting in MetLife taking a Direct Debit from your bank. I can confirm that on receipt of your complaint today our compliance team have organised a full refund of your premiums and cancelled your plans with MetLife. Our team turned this around and resolved this issue within the same day and I hope that goes someway to restoring some faith in our service. Once again please accept our apologies for you having to complain and hope the above at least clears up some of the issues regarding the policy and the service you have received. We are proud of the fact that the vast majority of our customers are delighted with the service and products that we provide them with and hope that one day you too could join them. If you would like to discuss any of this further or in light of the policy covering professional drivers and would like to re-instate your plan please contact our compliance team on 01786 477 800. Many thanks Martin@Bon Accord Life
Posted 4 years ago
This Us the second time that you have forced polices on me that I don't want. So could you cancel any Inssurancs policiy that you have In my name. I am not happy with this forceful action you doing to sell your products. Y P Manston
(Engage Mutual) - Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mrs Manston Firstly we apologise for the inconvenience caused by the service levels you received. In any event where a customer is unhappy with our service we accept that we have failed to deliver the high level of service that you rightly expect and deserve. Our records show that we arranged a policy on the 29th of February 2016 but we do not have any records of any other policies previously arranged. As a company we always endeavour to keep the customers best interests at the heart of everything we do and we are sorry to hear that you feel the policy was forced upon you. After listening to the call we believe the end of the conversation with your husband was completed quicker than the standards we set and appreciate this must have had an impact on your feelings and caused the possible confusion that followed. We have a strict and robust monitoring process and on this occasion the sale was not conducted as effectively as what we would expect from our consultants. Feedback will be provided to the individual to ensure all our clients are given the appropriate time to ask further questions or fully raise any concerns. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you personally and attempt to regain your trust. Blair Mitchell, Compliance Manager - Bon Accord Life.
Posted 5 years ago
i required a policy 50plus plan with LV.i was given information that i would pay premium until age 81 and terminal illness cover for£50per month. what i got was my details have been passed to third parties without my knowledge and i must pay premium until age 91 and there is no cover for terminal illness. Sorry this is not acceptable.I have spoken to LV and cancelled the policy Thank you.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Narrinder Gupta Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear of your concerns. We do not pass your details on to any unauthorised third parties and we take data security extremely seriously. The only external company who we would pass your details to would be LV= in order to process the cover you asked for. I have passed this on to our Compliance Manager who will review the call recording and attempt to get in touch with you within the next 48 hours.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Narrinder Gupta I understand you have now spoken with our Compliance Manager and have decided to keep one of the two plans we arranged for you. I understand there was some confusion as our consultant was discussing two different policies with you and we apologise for this mis-understanding. Thank you for your business and we hope that you are happy with what we have arranged for you and that you will come back to us in the future for any further needs. Thank You. Bon Accord Life.
Posted 5 years ago
Bon Accord Life is rated 4.68 based on 418 reviews