Virgin Media Reviews

1.18 Rating 1,225 Reviews
4 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Disaster ever since I signed up. Got 108mb service - only sub 30mb came through. Stupidly upgraded to 350mb. Now get about 80mb. But have been massively overcharged 3 months in a row. Everytime (after at least an hour of waiting) I'm promised it's going to be fixed. Never happens. About to make a complaint as genuinely theft. Do not sign up to Virgin Media!!! Awful, awful company.
Posted 1 month ago
Been with them for over 22 years since the good old days of NTL. Now they are beyond a joke. Customer service? Don't make me laugh, Genghis Khan would be more approachable. They lie, they fob you off. I spent 2 hours 20 minutes on my mobile to them to get a better deal as my service was being increased by £10-just like that. after speaking to 3 different IDIOTS that each asked me my account/password/sort/shoe size I told them enough was enough. I'm leaving, and I have. Seems like every month they increase their prices-maybe its to account for the amount of customers that they lose. I detest them and if they offered me a trillion mbps at a pound a year I wouldn't go back...
Avoid them, give the little guys a go and save yourself a LOT of hassle. On-line chat is rubbish and a tech company you can't send e-mails to? Come-on....
Posted 1 month ago
Have just moved from Sky to Virgin after 20 years. TV interface is terrible, phone help line takes 40 minutes plus then get fobbed off.
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely disgusting customer service. They sent engineers out four times to fix the problem with our TV and modem. Then someone told me over the phone that everything would be working that evening at 6pm. It's still not working. To lie and fob someone off like that is unacceptable. This has been going on for a total of 2 months minimum. When I asked to cancel they said they would charge £240 cancellation fee but I've been paying for a service that doesn't work. My Dad is in his seventies with health issues in a lockdown. He doesn't know what to do with himself. I have no choice but to take legal action.. I don't know what else to do.
Posted 1 month ago
Impossible to get to speak with someone. Been left with intermittent service since December and the engineers keeps delaying the fixing. The support phone number is of no help as it cut off and give no option but to wait for the problem to be fixed which now is been delayed for 5 more days.
I'm paying £49.50 for nothing and have to upgrade my phone plan to be able to tether.
Posted 1 month ago
I wish I could give 0 stars but its not possible. Customer services are inexistent, internet is only fast when it works, that's about 30% of the time, the other 70% its either down or it just keeps disconnecting over and over again. I'm paying 52£/ month for 350MB download and the average download speed is 60MB, again, when it is actually working. Trying to cancel my contract after 3 years of dealing with it and I'm currently on hold for 1 hour with no chance of someone actually picking up the phone. If you're thinking of switching to virgin media, just stop, don't do this to yourself. Judging by all the reviews I'm not the only one with this problem.
Posted 1 month ago
I waited long and hard for Virgin Media to arrive in my area and I’m seriously shocked at their level of ‘service’. Incredibly poor/non-existent broadband speeds and rude customer service from staff at all levels - who fail to resolve anything. Virgin’s equipment deserves a mention - the WiFi box is a HUGH, ugly, monstrosity together with their WiFi boosters which also happen to be huge, cumbersome and add nothing to the service but make a good night light. My contract ends shortly and I cannot wait to terminate. In Virgin’s defence, they talk a good talk. What comes to light is all that glitters is not gold and I thank them for that. I won’t be back.
Posted 1 month ago
My family have been a virgin customer for many years now. When I moved back to stay with them, I noticed the poor quality/connections they were getting and asked them to switch providers. Upon calling them to cancel, the customer advisor I spoke to said ‘this was due to an older hub and that they would upgrade us to a newer hub which would guarantee better speeds and a stronger connection’. We decided to take their word for it and upgraded - price of course was increased. Like most people in UK currently working from home, we’re having to rely on the internet for most of our tasks, meetings, etc and it’s a massive inconveiniece having such bad internet. So sure enough, the service is bad, if not worse. It cuts on and off intermittently during the day and I keep having to go into my settings on my devices to switch my WIFI on and off again. I thought perhaps it’s due to the area we live that has a poor signal but accordoning to them, we live in a good location for their service. We got one of their engineers in to come in and “take a look” and still, nothing’s changed. Even things like streaming YouTube or just basic browsing keeps cutting off and I’m having to rely my mobile 4G service and feels like there’s no point in having WIFI at home.

I called their customer service team and the lady I spoke to tried to sound empathetic which just came across inscincere and fake - to a point where I was at the brink of swearing down the phone to her and thats not something I ever do as I’m naturally a very calm person

I’ve just read these reviews below/above and would also like to add that I agree with every word. They’re way overpriced. My 4G connection is stronger and faster for general browsing or even connecting to meetings and I’m paying only £20 per month for unlimited data. With Virgin, I’m paying to use internet that I already have on my phone - whats the point??
BT and Sky have been more reliable in the past interms of signal strength. Haven’t used the likes of plusnet so perhaps that’s one I’d try.

My advice is, DON’T fall for their ‘Ultra Fast Fibre’ nonsense they try to feed you. it’s just a selling point. In theory, yes it’s the fastest out there in UK - IF you can even connect, but what’s the point in having fast if you can’t even use it - As I mentioned, the 4G on my phone is faster
Posted 1 month ago
Broadband quality wasn’t great, signal dropped quite often, with no real reason, and when you phone for help all you get is “turn it off and back on again”

Tell them you are leaving and they are in complete disbelief you have found a better deal, and that they aren’t actually that great.
Also I don’t think they like taking no for an answer, as I’ve had three people phone in the same day questioning why I’m leaving, tell them it’s for a cheaper price in this current climate, it’s all about saving where you can, there answer, “well we can give you the same package for £2 more than what you was paying previously.

Wouldn’t recommend them to be honest. Rude customer services and constant hassle of after you tell them you want to leave
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a new service (Internet, M350) and they did not set it up for over two months. I got billed, of course I did not pay the bill as I was advised that my account would get credited, however, that did not happen. It ended up with me having a GBP 108 to pay, them suspending my service on the day of connection and me being super frustrating, as I was missing out on lots of work since I work from home. I will definitely immediately make a switch after my contract concludes.
Posted 1 month ago
I have been trying to get this company to fix my internet fir nearly a month. They keep fobbing me off with excuses as to why the service is not working and none seem reasonable for a company as large as this one.
I use an app called nextdoor neighborhood or something like that. And it allows the community to stay in touch and commincate issues between us. It appears several people in my area suffer the same issues..
I phone them to report things and just get through to people working from home with no ability to do anything. When you do get to speak to someone. You either get fibbed off or the phone line will go dead when put in hold to contact supervisors or engineers.
I can not recommend anyone use this company at the moment, even though it is difficult in this country to find alternatives due to lack of general investment into our internet backbone from companies and governments alike
Update 5/1/21
Been back InTouch with this company today. Issues still not resolved and made to feel as if i am being blamed for issues i am suffering. And that during this pandemic i should make allowances for this and just out up with it.
They also decided to increase my bill during this period and almost doubling the cost whilst supplying an inferior service.
I would suggest to everyone to find a different supplier. We all need to start using yhe smaller services and let these big boys go bust or get close to it. They may start improving their systems. I am going from 200mg (intermittently) which is far more than needed to a 56mg connection with plusnet that is a permanent stream. Please all be aware you do not need huge download speeds. Most media apps only use 4mg maximum. 200 mg is meant for multiple use household where there are more than 10 people.
Each person only need a maximum of 10mg unless gaming or downloading huge files.
Posted 1 month ago
I have been trying to get this company to fix my internet fir nearly a month. They keep fobbing me off with excuses as to why the service is not working and none seem reasonable for a company as large as this one.
I use an app called nextdoor neighborhood or something like that. And it allows the community to stay in touch and commincate issues between us. It appears several people in my area suffer the same issues..
I phone them to report things and just get through to people working from home with no ability to do anything. When you do get to speak to someone. You either get fibbed off or the phone line will go dead when put in hold to contact supervisors or engineers.
I can not recommend anyone use this company at the moment, even though it is difficult in this country to find alternatives due to lack of general investment into our internet backbone from companies and governments alike
Update 5/1/21
Been back InTouch with this company today. Issues still not resolved and made to feel as if i am being blamed for issues i am suffering. And that during this pandemic i should make allowances for this and just out up with it.
They also decided to increase my bill during this period and almost doubling the cost whilst supplying an inferior service.
I would suggest to everyone to find a different supplier. We all need to start using yhe smaller services and let these big boys go bust or get close to it. They may start improving their systems. I am going from 200mg (intermittently) which is far more than needed to a 56mg connection with plusnet that is a permanent stream. Please all be aware you do not need huge download speeds. Most media apps only use 4mg maximum. 200 mg is meant for multiple use household where there are more than 10 people.
Each person only need a maximum of 10mg unless gaming or downloading huge files.
Posted 1 month ago
I pay an extortionate amount per month to get no internet. I had to upgrade my mobile plan (on a different provider) to unlimited data so I can run all my devices off my phone as I can't get it through my expensive router. Every time we complain they say that either we need a new router, which puts the bill up per month and also costs an extra upfront fee as well or they say that service is just low in our area and it will resolve soon. WiFi doesn't cover the whole house, it's not even a large house. The router needs to be reset at least once a day as internet fails so regularly. This is especially frustrating with two adults working full time from home at the moment, and a child home learning. Do NOT enter into a contract with these people! I get jealous when I see adverts on TV for broadband for £30 a month as mine costs 5 times as much and climbing, and I can't even use the service I'm paying for as it doesn't work.
Posted 1 month ago
Heed the warnings of others. A 30mb service with sky is at least 10x faster/more reliable than Virgin. Worst decision I ever made. Cancelling with immediate effect. AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Posted 1 month ago
Stay away from Virgin Media. Even if Sky try to increase your costs PAY the extra. WIFI signal awful, TV services awful, they have no interest in helping just blaming devices which work fine on other networks. If you have a PlayStation and want to use ANYTHING else along side it stay away from virgin. 3 hr on hold waiting to get through to someone who had no clue how to help. Cust service is shocking. STAY AWAY FROM VIRGIN MEDIA!!!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Virgin Media are a modern day criminal gang. They have call centres in India and will rob you of your money. Here is how they work : They get you to sign a contract, then they provide you with nothing but continue to bill you and chase you with Debt collectors. Please stay away from anything to do with the name "Virgin"... They will tarnish your name and harass you for money. STAY AWAY FROM THESE CON ARTISTS.
Posted 1 month ago
Dear people.
Don't take landline phone with VM.
This isn't normal landline this is internet phone with discusting quality and nobody will help you with any issues.
This service is discusting like Mr.Branson
1 thing-no power no phone
2 thing-no internet no phone
3 thing-3 or 4 person on internet at home quality of phone call=0
The finally if you will have emergency situation and you out of power you can't make any call at all.
Thank you stupid Virgin Media
Posted 1 month ago
I don’t know why on review they have to remove from reviews to give to service, virgin media absolutely horrible customer service, misleading and fishing agents and specially worse service. I’m surprised that no one to check on them. Which is unexpected service virginmedia and in the future I will never use virgin media
Posted 1 month ago
Moving House and they charced me £112.14 to cancel broadband and phone contract. It has to be cancelled because they do not serve the area I'm moving to. I feel penalised by their poor coverage.
Posted 1 month ago
If a Company ever set out to deliberately get things wrong then it's Virgin Media. Constant drop offs of broadband and wifi. 6 new Hubs have not resolved the problem. Absolutely abysmal customer services who read from a script and treat you like an idiot. Total failure to keep promises. Total failure to respond to or even bother to acknowledge complaints. Really, if you have heart or blood pressure problems then steer clear of this company. My personal opinion is that they are a bunch of cowboys....with due apologies to genuine cowboys
Posted 1 month ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.18 based on 1,225 reviews