Virgin Media Reviews

1.23 Rating 817 Reviews
5 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I'm very satisfied with the service.
I received all information very fast.
Posted 2 days ago
Day light robbery, wouldn’t refund me for the sports channels, even though I didn’t receive the service I contractually agreed to for months, got told sorry I should have rang up sooner, sorry I have an Austin son who takes up most of my time, if they cared about there customers they would have reduced the bills with out customers having to chase them, as they were fully aware the service that was agreed was not being given, I will be taking this further.
Posted 3 days ago
very poor, only steal money...even almost double that the monthly price:@
Posted 4 days ago
Spent three hours on there customer chat site passed from advisor to advisor and then to be frozen out my problem was not resolved
Posted 4 days ago
Absolutely Rubish service since March the 13th my internet hasn’t worked properly 0.09 mbs I called virgin around 30 times up to now they sent a new internet box I set that up still no improvement each time I call them I ask to speak to a manager they say I will get a call back I am still waiting on 29th may for a call. Honestly I recommend you use BT for your services my biggest mistake was to move to virgin in March and pay more only to find out I do not even get any service for my money
Posted 1 week ago
They offer you one thing on paper, another thing is being delivered. 200mb/s offer where I only get the full speed 'whenever' the traffic isn't too bad and also standing next to the hub. Had to spend an extra £3 a month for a Wi-Fi booster which is just a scam. Set it up, plugged in and the signal from the booster is the same or worse no matter where plugged in. Someone should look into this company as it's a massive scam if you're offering services which you have no way of delivering!!!!! I'm cutting the contract right after I get through your customer service which I've been trying to get through for the last 45mins
Thanks for ruining my work and leisure experience but I'm putting an end to this!
Posted 1 week ago
It took 3 months to convert a residential line to a business line, appalling customer service throughout, no show appointments, promises of manager callbacks that never materialised. What they offered? a month of credit, or an ultimatum of it being raised to the MDO and ombudsman at which point their 'goodwill' gesture wouldn't be an option any longer, effectively threatening into acceptance. Utterly disgusting, and because it isn't a consumer contract there's no cooling off period so you're locked in.
Posted 1 week ago
Apparently, I had 100Mbits, but that was just on paper. At peak time, we could either watch Netflix OR surf on the web, but not both together.

Watch out:
A land line is mandatory for broadband with Virgin Media. When you cancel your contract with them, you have to cancel the phone line extra (regardless of whether you wanted it in the first place or have ever used it). If you don't cancel both (broadband AND phone line), they keep charging for the phone line as happened to me.

Customer service promised to look into it, but the bills kept on coming.
Never again!
Posted 1 week ago
When switching to virgin media I explained what I wanted, things seem to be going well, any questions for us? I was asked, will I need to contact BT to cancel my broadband,? No we will do that as your porting your phone number we will do that. 3 months later I'm paying BT broadband and phone and virgin, so I rang BT to be told my new provider hadn't contacted them and I should bring it to virgin's attention. So I did, nothing to do with Virgin I was told we can't close your BT account it's not our fault. After many minutes being fobbed of by Virgins really ill informed staff I have up. I'm out of pocket about £200. So once my 12month contract is finished I'm definitely leaving, making sure I tell virgin to cancel my subscription.
Posted 1 week ago
I have been hit hard by the covid-19 outbreak, I'm part of the 5%of self employed who don't qualify for anything from the government and have literally had zero income for the past 3 months.
Every other company I have dealt with have been understanding about the situation and have put a hold on my account for a few weeks until the work starts up again.
When I couldn't pay my first bill I rang customer service to explain to them why it wouldn't be paid, they said there's nothing they can do about the bills but we wouldn't be switched off for the duration of the outbreak, just limited to slow service.

A month later I start getting threatening messages, about my account being sent to a debt recovery agency.
I call the number on the message which starts an automated message telling you you can pay online then says hold on the line to speak to an advisor and cuts you off everytime.
A few days later I get another message saying call the same number and we may be able to lower your bill, I call and get cut off again.
I found a different number online and rang that then get passed around between four different people before someone would help me.
I ended up talking to the collections department, I explained that I had no income and wouldn't be able to pay anything and spent the next 10 minutes with the advisor saying "if you pay this much today" and me replying "I have no income" on a loop.
Eventually the lady said if I could pay £70 today they would credit the rest owed (around £30-£40).
I told them I would see if I could borrow the money from somewhere and get back to them.
My dad kindly agreed to lend me the money so I rang back about an hour after the last call only to find out the collections department closes earlier than the others so they'd send an email to the lady I'd dealt with earlier asking her to ring me tomorrow.
The day after i don't get a phone call so I call them instead only to find it's impossible to speak to the same advisor for some reason and they can't do the credit.
I then get another message saying I didn't pay the make the agreed payment of £70 and that it would affect my credit file.

Now I'm sat here after spending two days on the phone to virgin and getting absolutely nowhere, apparently with a worse credit rating than if I'd just ignored the debt
Posted 1 week ago
Virgin media is an absolute disgrace, they outsource their call centres to India, & the Philippines, this can be problematic because the people can’t even talk properly English and they disconnect you. I found Virgin Media to be extremely difficult to deal with, I will never use Virgin Media because of the after sales service.
Posted 1 week ago
I am writing as I am a freelance graphic designer and because of the virus have been working from home for the last 8-9 weeks. My contract was coming to an end and would have gone for cheaper alternative, but because of my work I wasn’t sure if switchover would go smoothly in terms of getting engineer out so I signed up to a new Virgin Media contract for 12 months.

I wrongly presumed that my new contract included home calls during the week and appreciate that I should have asked more questions, but what troubles me is my monthly bills were £33, £33, £33, £33 then jumped to £90 as lockdown began and then today I got a bill for £279 for last month. I stopped using the landline immediately as soon after I received the £90 bill, but was to late unfortunately.

I have tried to explain to Virgin Media that this is a large amount and why wasn’t I notified that my bill have jumped by more than 8x it’s normal amount. Also I had just signed up to a new contract with them so where is the good faith / loyalty…. maybe I am naive to think this.

Virgins response to my complaint = zero sympathy and can’t do anything and was offered a £10 ‘as a good faith voucher'.

I won’t be using or recommending Virgin Media again.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Got me to agree a new deal which they said included sky sports. But after a few days i still had no sky sports. I phoned them and they said no it didnt. They did not want to look into it and not very helpful and rude. Said i had a 14 day cooling off period. I tried 2/ 3 times to get through to cancel but could not get through to them. I also emailed them. I finally got through to them. Then they said i would have to pay £240 to cancel. They did not care and said it takes 28 days to respond to an email. Terrible company. Worst customer service i have ever experienced.
Posted 2 weeks ago
The most lengthy and disorganised installation/setup process and can't yet say it was worth the hassle
Posted 2 weeks ago
I recently disconnected from Virgin Media after my bills shot up to £50.50 per month for just fiber. Now that was already an issue as that do not call or email to inform you that your contract is coming to an end or that you are being moved on to a rolling contract.

The bigger issue is their incredibly rude, unprofessional and dishonest call center staff. When I called to disconnect I was informed that as I pay in advanced I would not be charged going forward. Fast-forward to today where I have been charged.

I have called the call center again to discuss and let them know that I was misinformed by the previous colleague I spoke to and have now been charged. Their response was to refer to their online payment system and pay no attention to what I was saying at all. The person I was speaking to (John) did not listen to a thing I said and kept on rattling on about how it is explained on my online bill without listening to my complaint that their staff member (A human) had lied to me.

After him repeating the same sentence to me about 5 times without trying to understand what I was saying I left the call with no solution and still having been lied to and charged.

Overall they are absolutely despicable, their conduct is incredibly unprofessional and dishonest. This is the worst experience I have ever had with an ISP. You are better paying for BT as they are less likely to rip you off and lie to you (Or their customer service will at least resolve your issues and accept responsibility). If you want just fiber hyperoptic looks great and there are so many options to explore which we will be doing.

Please be aware that no matter how much you pay them their customer service and support will always be terrible.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I recently disconnected from Virgin Media after my bills shot up to £50.50 per month for just fiber. Now that was already an issue as that do not call or email to inform you that your contract is coming to an end or that you are being moved on to a rolling contract.

The bigger issue is their incredibly rude, unprofessional and dishonest call center staff. When I called to disconnect I was informed that as I pay in advanced I would not be charged going forward. Fast-forward to today where I have been charged.

I have called the call center again to discuss and let them know that I was misinformed by the previous colleague I spoke to and have now been charged. Their response was to refer to their online payment system and pay no attention to what I was saying at all. The person I was speaking to (John) did not listen to a thing I said and kept on rattling on about how it is explained on my online bill without listening to my complaint that their staff member (A human) had lied to me.

After him repeating the same sentence to me about 5 times without trying to understand what I was saying I left the call with no solution and still having been lied to and charged.

Overall they are absolutely despicable, their conduct is incredibly unprofessional and dishonest. This is the worst experience I have ever had with an ISP. You are better paying for BT as they are less likely to rip you off and lie to you (Or their customer service will at least resolve your issues and accept responsibility). If you want just fiber hyperoptic looks great and there are so many options to explore which we will be doing.

Please be aware that no matter how much you pay them their customer service and support will always be terrible.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Virgin media has broken data laws and rights When and ico team has ordered them too do something they don’t bother and carry on breaking the law when I ask them too do something about it they say they can’t custermer service lacks in Minila hugely
Posted 2 weeks ago
Rue the day I signed up. Flaky and unpredictable broadband service, poor TV choices and appallingly basic mobile plans. Their website doesn’t function and calling them directly is agonizing.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Have you tried to leave this network? Must be the most frustrating, unreasonable and incompetent (probably deliberate) procedure. " Can we have the 2nd letter of your password? Can we have the 7th? 9th? 4th? 11th? All correct except the last one. Sorry please try again later. Again, after 17 mins waiting, calling from abroad. Yes, all correct. Just hold on. Phone is cut off!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Customer service is a joke
Posted 3 weeks ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.23 based on 817 reviews