Barclays Reviews

1.50 Rating 183 Reviews
11% of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
2 minutes
Avg Email Response Time
"Dodgy they will block your account and make you wait months for a respons and nothing you will get . They do it often now and for no reason ! Bastards"
Posted 1 year ago
Are you Barclays? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Very dodgy they blocked my account for no reason and can’t even tell why they keep making me wait saying I’ll receive a letter since 30 days ago and nothing was received . Hypocrites"
Posted 1 year ago
"Barclays customer services are a real nightmare! Useless than that cannot be! Always some indian guy on the phone who is just willing to end up his shift instead of being of some help! Called them to inform about my crashing internet banking app and i have been treated like a 12 years young lad! Sorry barclays, you are disapointing!"
Posted 1 year ago
"I am so impressed by the amazing service I received from Barclays this week. There are few companies who take the kind of initiate they took to make me a happy customer. Thank you very much!"
Posted 1 year ago
"They shut my partners account down when all he wanted was someone taking off his account. They have not supported him or contacted him back when they said they would. They have took money from his ISA savings because he went to another bank after their error. Barclays as a whole is not a good bank and are terrible at customer service!!"
Posted 1 year ago
"As a business customer I wanted to pay in a £1 bag of mixed bronze. The cashier told me I couldn't, because 'they don't weigh the same'. I queried this, as I was sure they do, but she insisted and refused to take them. I now find that I was correct, and this Barclays employee (Thorpe Bay, Southend branch) told me a blatant lie. Barclays charge their business customers a significant amount of money - for very little. I'm even charged for getting change for my business. Sharpen up Barclays, and sort out your surly, untruthful counter staff!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Keeps letting me down internet banking"
Posted 1 year ago
"Terrible On-line service. Trying to make a simple payment within limits is impossible - Fraud team kicks in at the oddest time; I had an urgent large payment to make within the agreed upon daily transfer amount, but this was blocked. So I had to go into a branch. A total and utter waste of time A total shambles of a banking system What is the point of on-line banking if you can't use it?"
Posted 1 year ago
"Locked out of on line banking ( fraud check) . Two branch visits 35 mins each plus 45 mins on phone to help line. Told to go back to a branch again. I've been with them for 10years. What a shambles of a bank!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Very slow service or faulty machines...AGAIN!!! It took me 30mins to do my business banking. Absolutely fed up. I'm looking into leaving after being with them for 36yrs. Definitely not putting customers first."
Posted 1 year ago
"Well, where do I start? Self service ? What's that all about ? Money saving for Barclays, that's what that's about, it's got nothing to do with good customer service and definitely will not help customer relations with the bad old bank, let's face it, banks are not really well liked anyway then good Barclays comes up with this little gem, self batstard service, 'what' do they think they're Tesco now. What's wrong with human interaction these days, I don't use internet banking, phone banking, banking apps or any other form of in my eyes unsafe banking, that's why I like to pop in a branch to see a fellow human who knows how to deal with my requests, maybe answer a few queries and minutes latter off I pop, done, sorted, happy, Ooo no, not now, O no not no more, you either get a bank you've use for years now using school hours as work hours, shutting at half three man, what the 'you know'. Or you can stroll into one of Barclays new trial 60's milk bar / modern coffee shop style pads, futuristic, not for me and 40, what do old dudes think of this carry on?, it's like an unfunny joke, cut the counter staff out, replace them with Darlic, then let four staff loose on the shop floor with with batstard iPads, how many man hours does cut again Brainlays I mean Barclays, i work all over so I'm not always in my home town with a 'decent' branch with real people n stuff, so I us branches up and down, I've recently use a couple of the ones, or man, what a joy, first time, I strolled in, relaxing decor, nice temp, then, there it was, the counter, with the nice member of staff, GONE, NO MORE, now I'm faced with tree pieces of you know what, Tech, I'm face to face with Tech and thas swatting now n it comes out, err excuse me, have you got a mo please I'm not computer friendly, I could do with a lift over here, hey, she laughed it off as though I was jesting. Second time, today, I'm ill with this shower of ya know, yeah I popped on in there n to dismay it's a another new branch, no, this can not be happening to me, in there I was approached by a member of staff asking what am I doing here today, I may as well of told her I've come for a hair cut, useless does not come close, useless is a train away, I said I'd like to transfer some money, how much she asked, 4,600 but I don't want to use one of those things I said, with an hum and a har she said you can't transfer that amount on those anyway, on that one I had to tell her that they are more than useless then, anyway, after just under 30 mins from seeing staff I was out of there, now that's what I call service, what pizz take, not even funny, so I rang the batstards, got through to automated lady, all my dreams have come true, how do I get her on my side, how can I talk her into letting me speak to real person, cracked it, 'I would like to open a new account' I said in my bestest Inglish, seconds latter I'm in, I'm in, no que for this kid, I didn't make out it fault of the poor dude on the other end of the phone, but O boy did some home truths come 'in a pleasant mild mannered kind of way, for forty mins or more, it'll get me nowhere"
Posted 1 year ago
"Totaly useless customer service when replacement debit card did not arrive in post. On reporting non arrival they proceeded to stop my online banking with the existing card on which the expiry date was rapidly coming up. Spent more than five hours in one day trying to get the matter sorted out via various call centre's only to find at the end of all that time that they had then stopped my wife's card also from online banking (joint account). In responce to the above we have now withdrawn over fithteen thousand pounds from our ISA account and placed it with our other savings in a different bank. After fifty years of banking with Barclays we have now decided to close all our accounts due to totaly useless customer service. Goodbye and good riddance."
Posted 1 year ago
"Terrible bank to deal with, customer service in branch at Newbury is lovely but the system is archaic and broken!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Major breach in personal data protection! I have changed my address a while ago and since then I've been at the bank twice to let them know. First time someone with a kindle in front of me has put in the new address, said it would take 24 hours to update. Second time, same story. Although there should have been some bells ringing, but I trusted the so-called professionals, some of whom barely speak English. Then went back a month later, printed out a statement, and... surprise! Still the old address was in their system. Moreover, they admitted having sent a letter with all my details on it at that old address. So I presume whoever moved there after I had left, now has my name, bank details, NIN and everything, thanks to these incompetent employees. Whenever I go into the bank, I have to wait ages for literally everything, from printing statements to taking cash out, because from a full wall only a few machines are functional. And I always get directed to call the customer service. Where there is always, at the end of the line, someone who doesn't speak good English (and when I say good, I mean I have to repeat the same thing a few times, and still they do not understand). This after being on hold for at least 30 minutes. Miserable service, lazy and incompetent employees, total disappointment."
Posted 1 year ago
"Well to start I've been with barclays for 4 year 5 months and I've had no problems with my credit since with this bank. I first applied when I started to work offshore. I have tried several times to apply for a small loan and overdraft just to help me out with emergency cash available when either out of work or circumstances change. This time I've been out off work 9weeks due to a medical condition which needed attention before going back to work. I'm due back to work in 3weeks. I have money going in each week. I have been declined an overdraft and Im really disappointed with this bank. I have a relative with Lloyd's bank who is on lower income with bad credit ect and has an overdraft of £500 I just don't think this bank has to offer me any better than any other bank else where!"
Posted 1 year ago
"They won't let you access your own money even with id they are an awful bank and replacing people with machines."
Posted 1 year ago
"tried to access online banking, having power of attorney for mothers account, only access it gives me is access to a 10 year old ING account Barclays must have taken over, and which I closed! Visits to branch, hours to call centre in Mumbai...useless and painfully frustrating. Without doubt the worst customer service at all levels I have ever encountered"
Posted 1 year ago
"Awful service at Lichfield branch an updated self service machine that fails to function half the time hardly any staff on and then the few counter staff who are actually serving are unable or unwilling to anything but cash transactions add to this very poor opening hours and this local branch needs a big improvement"
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolutely appalling experience with the fraud team - our business bank account experienced four withdrawal totalling £14600 each of which were either cash withdrawals in branch or counter transfers in branch using a fake ID. I had been in touch twice with the fraud team via telephone as, first, they had blocked my card - so I called and then unblocked it and the second time when then blocked my internet banking which they again reinstated all in the space of 4 days (Friday to Monday). Because the internet banking was suspended I didn't see the first three fraudulent transactions until they fed through to my bank feed on my accounts package which has a delay of 2 working days. The third time I called the fraud team because they'd blocked my card yet again they advised me that somebody had made a withdrawal using a fake ID yet this was not mentioned to me on either of the two previous conversations despite it having been logged on their system two days previous to my first call. The staff in the Barclays branch were extremely helpful, caring and understanding and they completed the form on their system detailing each of the four fraudulent transactions which were made without a debit card - just with fake ID. They stated that they didn't understand how this could happen as they all have UV lights at every station and check signatures and ask account related questions if somebody doesn't have a card to use in the pin sentry machine in branch. Once the form was completed I was show the screen which said that the full amount would be credited back to my account that day. Today I went in to the branch to check whether the amount had been credited and to make some payments (as my card and internet banking is still suspended). It hadn't been so they called the fraud department who told me that a person in their front line team had overridden the repayment until the fraud had been investigated which could take a month. So I am left £14600 down in my account and feel as if I've been treated like a criminal. I asked why they hadn't the courtesy to call me to let me know that this had happened and they said they had written me a letter which should be with me next week! Absolutely disgusted. The manager of the Barnstaple Branch called me later to express her apologies but there's nothing they can do - you can't speak directly to the front line fraud team either - they hide behind all the other call centre and branch staff. I want to know whether they've contacted the police, and what is being done about the staff who allowed the transactions to take place. Also Barclays are constantly blocking my card and asking me to verify transactions even to people I pay on a regular basis and yet they fail to spot the fact that I never go into branches in London nor do I make over the counter transfers or payments out that large apart from to HMRC - which stupidly they've declined previously due to the VAT payment being a 'large' amount. I'm completely and utterly dumbfounded and beyond angry. I am now in the process of moving my accounts. In my opinion the fraud department have been negligent. If you think your hard earned money is safe with Barclays... think again"
Posted 1 year ago
"Barclays App The Barclays online app takes forever. So annoying. It takes at least 2 minutes to view your outstanding balance. Keeps on saying loading for a long time once you get through the first stage and then end up waiting a few more minutes just to get into seeing the balance. How annoying? Better off banking elsewhere where you get quicker access on line ."
Posted 1 year ago
Barclays is rated 1.50 based on 183 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support