Barclays Reviews

1.50 Rating 183 Reviews
11% of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
2 minutes
Avg Email Response Time
"Login is the worst process on the internet....looking to swap cards as it’s simply terrible"
Posted 9 months ago
Are you Barclays? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Avoid Barclays bank as much as possible! Have been waiting for a business account for over three weeks while having to deal with rude and incompetent staff. They do not care about their customers and have no concept of the term "customer service". Save yourself the stress of having to deal with them."
Posted 11 months ago
"discusting customer service..very disapointed . branch staff vas very rude and unhelpful. but lady over the phone (03309957686) dont know how to talk at all (seems she was drunk) if there no star i beter go for it! be ready for it!!!!"
Posted 11 months ago
"One star is being over generous"
Posted 1 year ago
"I was unable to get help re:online banking log in, customer representatives seem to lack the will, knowledge or skill to resolve issues. I also put into question their ability to understand issues. On one occasion when a customer service representative found out they cannot to help they asked my to call again someone else, did not offer to transfer or escalate! On another occasion when they fond they can not help I was told that i did not pass security, despite giving all info correctly and passing through it at the beginning of the call, only to find out that i did pass it after i've requested to raise a formal complaint - totally random!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Appauling. I've been in an overdraft for the best part of a year now. I now have a full time job, and get paid weekly. They looked at me like I was scum. I went into the Hanley Branch today and asked them if I could have some breathing space with my charges, as in 12 weeks I can clear my overdraft. The only advice I got was a phone number. They didn't even think about putting my charges on hold. It's disgusting. I then went into Natwest, explained my situation and within 40 minutes they opened up a savings account for me, an account that lets me withdraw money . All of my wages are going into this new savings account now, and I'll pay my overdraft as and when. Once my overdraft is paid for - I want nothing to do with Barclays again"
Posted 1 year ago
"Firstly there was the awful transfer from Barclays Stockbrokers to Barclays Smart Investor. I couldn't access the system for a week. Luckily there were no profits warnings, otherwise I could have lost a lot of money. Now the system basically works but there are still niggling issues. The good points: * Barclays tend to get good prices on buys and sells * the advertising is slick and glossy * the jingles while you wait to talk to a customer service representative are quite catchy The bad points * the website often drops me off with no warning and then I need to log in again * summary information is completely wrong. It says I have made a 300% profit this year. I wish * lots of things that I can't buy. There are lots of great US and European shares that I would like to buy but Smart Investor only allows UK listed shares * the price - charging a %age of the value of my holdings is just a rip off and much higher than some of the competition. I wouldn't mind paying more for a better service. But I'm not getting a better service So why haven't I moved to another stockbroker? People trying to transfer out have been reporting a 3 month or more transfer time during which they have been unable to buy or sell. And the cost of being locked out of trading can be huge. So I have to wait until transferring out becomes easy and quick Definitely not recommended"
Posted 1 year ago
"disgusting abuse of customers patience."
Posted 1 year ago
"In Barclays Hammersmith. Tall bearded asian guy called Jon? He was so unhelpful, arrogant and just bloody rude. Complained about his sore feet and came over like he didn't want to be there and was doing Barclays a favour. Obviously Barclays will employ anyone these days. Not impressed."
Posted 1 year ago
"I took a 20 mile trip and an hour in the branch to open two help to buy ISA accounts, we deposited money in cash.. a week later, I get a letter stating my account has been closed for no reason whatsoever. I called Barclays to complain and the complaint department called me back and stated the reason was they did a review and that the bank decided they didn't want us as a customer. That was the only reason given. This is discrimination and appalling for any bank to do!! They can close your account without any reason whatsoever!!"
Posted 1 year ago
"I pay a monthly fee for a package that includes use of Dragon Pass for Airport lounges. I was shocked when I tried to use the pass at Gatwick to be told that I could not use the lounge because it was too busy. However, I could pay £15 to be upgraded and would be allowed to enter. I subsequently spoke to 4 people I did not know and surprise, surprise, they had on different occasions had the same problem. How can Barclays get away with charging a fee for something that customers cannot access."
Posted 1 year ago
"My father dies in December 2017 - had a Barclaycard debt of some £2500, but £1250 left in his Barclays bank account. Was given to understand that credit card debt died with my Father and funds remaining in his bank account would be released to pay for the old buggers funeral... oh no, not Barclays - 'it is our policy to retain the bank account funds to clear his credit card'. Not enough that they robbed him of £40 per month for some spurious insurance policy that was - after reading the small print - completely worthless, so that's 8 years at £40 per month = £3840... Hope the f*ckers choke on the £1250. Banks/Bankers - first they f*ck us in 2008, keep their bonuses then keep on f*cking us and get away with it. I told my Father not to bank with them, but he knew best.... looking at the 79.28% 1 star rating it seems many other folk are not too happy with Barclays either. hope their chief exec chokes on his Latte one morning. ... also had the unfortunate task of visiting a branch (Frodsham)- whilst sorting my fathers affairs - queued for 45 minutes to be met by a completely disinterested young chap who seemed to have not one clue. What a shower they are."
Posted 1 year ago
"rubbish online service"
Posted 1 year ago
"For the past two months. I am disgusted with the service I received. I received an international payment and by default the senders bank made an error and transferred the funds twice. I received a confirmation from Barclays stating I received two payments which I accepted and spent. Without informing myself Barclays removed funds from my savings account. As a premiere customer I made a complaint as I believe in this situation I should of been informed. The person dealing with my complaint had the audacity to search me on LinkedIn rather than dealing with my complaint. Which I believe is below the belt and breaches my data protection rights. I made a complaint twice to Barclays and once I was told that I should chase up the bank who made an error. The person searching me up on social media I would be compensated for £100.00 if I remain silent. I escalated this complaint once again and it was referred to Clarie Pennington who said due to the work load Barclays has we cannot notify all customers if we withdraw money. Secondly the person can look me up on LinkedIn as it is a public domain and we have a mutual connection. This is just beyond dishonesty, I sent a screenshot to the Barclays team showing how the person has looked me up and I received a notification. Not sure where my data has been used and why I was looked up on LinkedIn. Barclays needs to review their process in place as this is in Breach of my privacy."
Posted 1 year ago
"Unethical and dishonest Bank"
Posted 1 year ago
"Fantastic customer service from an Irish guy in the Hammersmith branch. Never had better. Excellent!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Not enough staff in Stratford branch, people in the queue up to the door an noone care"
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolutely disgusting Customer Services, I needed to transfer Money to a new payee to purchase my daughters main Christmas present from a store miles away but the app wouldn't allow me to. Customer Services passed me pillar to post and not a single agent was slightly interested to help or even offer advise. I will be changing banks right after Christmas, angry and shocked at the rude, blunt agent I received."
Posted 1 year ago
"WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!! PLEASE GET OPERATIVES THAT UNDERSTAND ENGLISH AND KNOW HOW TO DO THEIR JOBS!! AWFUL BARCLAYS!!"
Posted 1 year ago
"Been with barclays for 8 years. Time to join another bank. The consumer service with years is getting really bad. Advisors find it difficult to give advice. Very unhappy but am going to natwest"
Posted 1 year ago
Barclays is rated 1.50 based on 183 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support