Barclays Reviews

1.53 Rating 212 Reviews
12% of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
queries resolved in
Over a week
Avg Email Response Time
2 minutes
"As a former staff personal banker. As a former staff personal banker.. Premier banker wow they are the epitome of greed... Self cenerdness and backstabbing... I served them in sales for 4 yrs and all I got is the boot! I dunno if its d brit way to leave your man behind when times get tough.. That's what a former manager left in legacy"
Posted 2 months ago
Are you Barclays? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"If your using the account manager machines anyone standing behind can read all the information on screen.Branch staff say they can do nothing about this lack of security."
Posted 2 months ago
"My credit card was blocked as a result of a supposed fraudulent activity attempt which turned out to be a recurrent direct debit payment and was, therefore, a system failure. All my direct debits were declined and my card refused to pay the rest of my holiday, including the accommodation fees causing a huge nightmare. As soon as I realised of the issue I contacted the customer service department that tried to replace my card, but even though I had provided an Indonesian postal address they somehow decided to send the replacement to my house in the UK. Why would I need the replacement in the UK if I was “enjoying” my holiday in Bali? Ten days had gone by and after a few more hours of customer service, where I was annoyingly verified multiple times and bounced back and forth from one department to the other, I was finally sent an emergency card by Visa which was supposed to take only 48 hours. After four entire days of waiting and frustration my emergency card finally arrived, only to discover the reality that it didn’t work in any ATM, retail or online transaction. A few more hours over the phone with the customer service and my patience had hit rock bottom. I was reassured of receiving a new fully functioning replacement of the credit card as soon as possible but unfortunately, my luck of Barclays customer service wasn’t on my side of the table, once again I was sent a useless replacement to my UK address. Twenty days have gone by and to date, I still haven’t received a solution. I had to transfer all my available funds from my other Barclays accounts to my Revolut account as I have lost trust in the bank that attempted to serve me well for years. I have explained my anger and disappointment to one of Barclays UK’s Customer Relationship Managers who kindly offered a skinny £50 compensation for the inconvenience! After the shocking treatment, I can’t wait to close all my Barclays bank accounts as Barclays failed big time in serving its purpose and I don’t believe it deserves my customer loyalty any longer.ileniav85@gmail.com"
Posted 2 months ago
"Barclays Surbiton branch has a breed of unhelpful,rude uninterested skeletal staff.Other banks in the same area are OPEN on Wednesday's!"
Posted 2 months ago
"Have someone who will do their job and remember what customer service is. I am now looking to move my account."
Posted 2 months ago
"Taking service charge as quick as they can, release funds for customer as slow as they can!! It has take two months that I still haven't get it!! 0 star for the customer service!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Received letter from Barclays Leicester 14.5.19 re money paid into my account by mistake (and taken out before I had even noticed!) only small amount, however I had to contact bank on receipt of letter to verify and I dealt with the most loveliest mannered girl who took me through all my details, no waiting, all cleared up with no further action needed. We are all ready to complain but this time well done Barclays on employing Jess who told me she was only 18, well, well done Jess! Made my day!"
Posted 3 months ago
"By far the best bank to be with. They are always making customer's experiences better, improving their app especially with the contactless pay with the phone (saved me so many times!). Too much good things to say. I shall never leave them (if it doesn't get worse!)"
Posted 3 months ago
"I've banked with Barclays for nearly 30 years. Finally had enough of their dreadful, uninterested, unhelpful, incompetent India-based customer service. I had an important issue involving a possibly fraudulent item on my account and have spent all afternoon on the phone trying to make myself understood. I still don't know whether the problem has actually been sorted or what is going on because the staff CAN'T SPEAK ENGLISH PROPERLY! Enough's enough. I'm off to First Direct."
Posted 3 months ago
"Literally the worst bank I’ve ever spoke to, they are useless and you have to go to lengths just to get any account details. Non of the information they provide makes sense and when you ask what information you need to get access to your account they say sorry we can’t tell you! Absolutely idiots with stupid rules and security system. My partner was using them and the drama we have had for nine months is absolutely disgusting. Never use Barclays. Avoid them! Absolutely idiot don’t want to help or give any advise to you."
Posted 3 months ago
"I would never recommend this bank. My fiancée and I set up a joint account after returning from travelling so save for a house , of which we were going to mortgage through Barclays . The service in the branch was good , we transferred £100 to keep the account active whilst we sent over all our savings . 4 days later we received a text to say our account was a subject of fraud . After ringing the bank I was informed our account was closed and they can’t tell us why, and we have to prove the money in the account is ours to get it back! Which is a long process . Simply can’t believe this is how a bank would do business these days ! Terrible service through the call centres which are clearly not UK based , avoid like the plague !!"
Posted 4 months ago
"We decided to move to Barclays because our local Lloyds branch had closed, but having applied in September 2018, it was months before our account was open - and it's been problems all the way! We have been in business since 2012 and have a first class credit history, with no defaults and all loans now repaid over 12 months ago. We had a working overdraft of £3,000 with Lloyds, used on only two or three occasions for a very small amount and for just a few days, but Barclays refused to provide any overdraft facility at all and issued us with a Barclaycard instead - and the online system for that is even worse than the on line system for our current account! Barclays don't understand the fundamental requirements of bank account administration. For example, their on line statements don't even show the type of transaction - so when I am trying to reconcile our account I have no idea whether the ''money out'' has been paid by card, DD, standing order, BACS or on line payment! Also I can reconcile to a balance at the end of the week, but when I try to reconcile at the end of the following week, I often find that Barclays have retrospectively juggled the previous week's transactions and the balance which I previously reconciled to has disappeared completely! ASK ANY ACCOUNT AND THEY WILL CONFIRM THAT BARCLAYS ARE FLOUTING THE MOST FUNDAMENTAL ACCOUNTING RULES - and they are making a simple job of reconciliation into an impossible nightmare. To cap it all, Barclays have already closed the local branch on Thursdays and rumour has it that, like Lloyds, Barclays will soon be closing their local branch. What a costly and frustrating waste of time this has been for our small business. I totally agree with the other comments on here about useless customer service, ''help line'' representatives whose responses are incomprehensible, let alone useless and feedback which is totally ignored."
Posted 4 months ago
"Just four days into being a Barclays customer and I've already been severely inconvenienced, laughed at, talked down to, lied to, mis-informed and seen just how poor the communication and continuity is between departments internally and externally. I opened a personal current account on Monday 25/03 in the Chelmsford branch having already completed the application online, this went smoothly and quickly and I was very impressed. I was assisted by a gent in his mid 20's who dealt with my account opening very well, I asked him at the end of the process if I could deposit two cheques that I had with me, went to the counter and did so with minimum fuss. Wednesday I received my card and Thursday my pin and online banking pin. Thursday I logged into my online banking account to see that my account was minus (debit) exactly the amount of money I had deposited via cheque! I called the online banking number and spoke to an advisor who told me the it would have been a vendor awaiting payment to clear?! (Mis-information no1) I explained many times that the amount was exactly the amount I had deposited on the day I opened the account and that I had just received the card and had not yet made any purchases on it. We repeated this conversation a number of times before he gave me the number for telephone banking, why he didn't direct me to them in the first place instead of giving me lies is beyond me. So I called telephone banking and, at the fourth instance of having to give the same security details within 20 mins, expressed frustration at this and was laughed at by the representative on the phone, like I was too stupid to understand what security protocols are. Good start to the conversation. I explained the situation to him and after much more aimless and repetitive explaining, was told that I had to visit my branch in person to "prove where the funds where coming from"?! Unbelievable, I asked him how I was to do that repeatedly and was simply told the same thing each time. So by this point i'm assuming I would have to bring the provider of the personal cheque, who is reliant on oxygen most of the day, and not in their health interest to exert themselves unnecessarily, into branch with me to explain to a stranger that they are who they are. I visited branch and was greeted by a female representative, again in their 20's, who was understanding and quick to see the situation meet a resolution. I waited to be seen by someone in branch for a short while, until a female in her late 40s - early 50s approached me and told me that cheques take 5 days to clear, which I was aware of. She clearly wanted rid of me for some reason and when I said I had been sent here by Barclays phone reps she asked "well do you wanna make a complaint"? I said I did, to which she replied "well then you'll sit and wait". I felt like I was in trouble back in primary school! Not how a bank representative should be talking to customers, let alone how a person should talk to another person. It turns out the gent who opened my account was the one who I was making my apparent compliant to, but it turns out he DID have to make checks on my deposit and send requests to another department based on the outcome of our meeting. If I hadn't taken the option of making a complaint, I would have been back where I started in the morning and would have wasted not one, but two days attempting to rectify it. In short, there is a clear lack of policy continuity and communication between branch personnel, departments and as a company as a whole. I did not enjoy being laughed at and talked down to like a troublesome child, or lied to in branch and over the phone in a bit to get rid of me. When the cheques clear I will be immediately withdrawing the balance, closing my account and opening one with Metro across the road. Your only saving grace where the young man and woman who I talked to in the Chelmsford branch, they don't deserve to be associated with this situation."
Posted 4 months ago
"After using Barclays Bank for my current account and savings account for over 30yrs !!!!!!!!!!!! I am finally going to change to an alternative Bank. The service of late is absolutely disgusting !!!!! The telephone banking service is beyond a joke, why do we have to give all our personnel details to some one the other side of the world i.e. India. The 2x people i had the pleasure of dealing with could hardly understand or speak the English language. And as for sorting my problem they failed on every level, like the several other times I called. From now on I will not use any service that out sources their customer service team. At one time customer service was of high priority and usually the larger companies lead the way in this country. I am sad to say this is no longer how it is. Barclays out of hours service based in India is atrocious !!!!!!!!!! And tomorrow I will be switching to a building society !!!!!!! Bloody Good Riddance to you."
Posted 5 months ago
"Unacceptable customer service! I walked in and I was welcomed by a young Asian lady. I asked her about apprenticeship in Barclays. I explained that I already went through the online process, I applied for the closest vacancies but was emailed that there aren't any near me. Instead of responding with a resolution or consulting with someone if she didn't know about apprenticeship, she simply said "Go on the Barclays website!" I tried to explain myself again but she said "I don't know what you mean!" It was awkward, clearly she didn't want to communicate. All I wanted it was some help. I was strongly considering becoming an apprentice there but I am very disappointed with the staff; it hasn't been the 1st time as I am a customer there too! For such a well known bank I would have expected high level customer service. Please do train your staff better before letting them talk to customers because they are the ones representing Barclays! I will be awaiting customer service to come back to me and then I will update and post once they have."
Posted 5 months ago
"THE BIGGEST RUBBISH BANK PROBABLY IN THE WHOLE WORLD!!!"
Posted 5 months ago
"Applied for a loan over the phone .after 10 days and 12 phone calls noone was aware what exactly has to be done.Excuses were' no notes', will give you a call' etc.Finally was advised to apply again as the lady who did application for me first time works only Saturday,Sunday and Monday. It is a joke?!is it a bank or ....online Sorry office. Awful service and none productive staff!"
Posted 5 months ago
"Why bank with a british bank and have to deal with a call centre in India. i,m sure they are lovely people but difficult to understand making a simple request very difficult. Our recent contact was really very hard to understand and banking is too serious to put up with poor communication."
Posted 5 months ago
"Been a Barclays Business account holder for eighteen months and have not either been engaged with them or contacted them even though there was tens of thousands of pounds in the account. Recently I asked for a loan of 50k on a new business and I have unencumbered collateral of 1.5 million. The advisor over two telephone calls could not get the concept of the business....pathetic, the last straw was to come back in two or three years.....laughable as though any business would want a loan after this period. To cap it all today 040319 I received a standard letter as a sixty plus person that in view of your business experience or and proprietors does not provide sufficient evidence to support your application. The decision also relates to your company’s ability to repay the requested borrowing. Barclays do not want new businesses to ask for loans, they are a lousy shower. Will now close all my accounts with them. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE BARCLAYS."
Posted 5 months ago
"Has got to be the worst bank ever ! Appalling customer service in terms of being productive, take advantage of people in vulnerable situations. Can not trust !"
Posted 5 months ago
Barclays is rated 1.53 based on 212 reviews