Barclays Reviews

1.51 Rating 180 Reviews
11% of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
2 minutes
Avg Email Response Time
"After using Barclays Bank for my current account and savings account for over 30yrs !!!!!!!!!!!! I am finally going to change to an alternative Bank. The service of late is absolutely disgusting !!!!! The telephone banking service is beyond a joke, why do we have to give all our personnel details to some one the other side of the world i.e. India. The 2x people i had the pleasure of dealing with could hardly understand or speak the English language. And as for sorting my problem they failed on every level, like the several other times I called. From now on I will not use any service that out sources their customer service team. At one time customer service was of high priority and usually the larger companies lead the way in this country. I am sad to say this is no longer how it is. Barclays out of hours service based in India is atrocious !!!!!!!!!! And tomorrow I will be switching to a building society !!!!!!! Bloody Good Riddance to you."
Posted 2 weeks ago
Are you Barclays? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Unacceptable customer service! I walked in and I was welcomed by a young Asian lady. I asked her about apprenticeship in Barclays. I explained that I already went through the online process, I applied for the closest vacancies but was emailed that there aren't any near me. Instead of responding with a resolution or consulting with someone if she didn't know about apprenticeship, she simply said "Go on the Barclays website!" I tried to explain myself again but she said "I don't know what you mean!" It was awkward, clearly she didn't want to communicate. All I wanted it was some help. I was strongly considering becoming an apprentice there but I am very disappointed with the staff; it hasn't been the 1st time as I am a customer there too! For such a well known bank I would have expected high level customer service. Please do train your staff better before letting them talk to customers because they are the ones representing Barclays! I will be awaiting customer service to come back to me and then I will update and post once they have."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"THE BIGGEST RUBBISH BANK PROBABLY IN THE WHOLE WORLD!!!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Applied for a loan over the phone .after 10 days and 12 phone calls noone was aware what exactly has to be done.Excuses were' no notes', will give you a call' etc.Finally was advised to apply again as the lady who did application for me first time works only Saturday,Sunday and Monday. It is a joke?!is it a bank or ....online Sorry office. Awful service and none productive staff!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Why bank with a british bank and have to deal with a call centre in India. i,m sure they are lovely people but difficult to understand making a simple request very difficult. Our recent contact was really very hard to understand and banking is too serious to put up with poor communication."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Been a Barclays Business account holder for eighteen months and have not either been engaged with them or contacted them even though there was tens of thousands of pounds in the account. Recently I asked for a loan of 50k on a new business and I have unencumbered collateral of 1.5 million. The advisor over two telephone calls could not get the concept of the business....pathetic, the last straw was to come back in two or three years.....laughable as though any business would want a loan after this period. To cap it all today 040319 I received a standard letter as a sixty plus person that in view of your business experience or and proprietors does not provide sufficient evidence to support your application. The decision also relates to your company’s ability to repay the requested borrowing. Barclays do not want new businesses to ask for loans, they are a lousy shower. Will now close all my accounts with them. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE BARCLAYS."
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Has got to be the worst bank ever ! Appalling customer service in terms of being productive, take advantage of people in vulnerable situations. Can not trust !"
Posted 3 weeks ago
"If I could with give zero stars I have had to go to the new papers as for a year I had to change my cards eight time they took 75 pound off me which was the money to feed my children on Wednesday they took me for a mug called me a liar then lied themselves hanged the phone up on me by a level 2 manager and level 1 manager decided to give me a choice when I picked one she didn’t like and was told nothing she could do about it all wouldn’t at first let my complaint go to a level two a customer service manager tired to blackmail me with 25 pound and then tonight got told it won’t be sorted till Monday and then phone put down so when I call back they thought threaten with newspapers and not realised I had gone till I told them they are a joke and will let fraud happen from a different country on your account"
Posted 1 month ago
"Barclays take people money without warning and give no reason! They do this alot!!!!! Their thieves! Abusing a stupid law that was clearly put in place by the bank $$$ always about money! Avoid this bank at all costs they take ur money treat u like a criminal and tell u to go away. Worst bank ever"
Posted 1 month ago
"Extremely bad customer service, in all areas. Barclays has a 'Do I have to?' attitude towards assisting customers, and this is on a good day."
Posted 1 month ago
"Extremely bad customer service, in all areas. Barclays have a 'do I have to?' attitude towards assisting customers, at best. When problems are raised, Barclays takes no action to resolve them."
Posted 1 month ago
"Thieving scumbags! They will take all ur money and close ur account without warning or reason! Also Useless telephone staff! Good luck getting anything sorted on the fone! Joke of a bank. Needs to be investigated by the ombudsman badly theyre so currupt. Avoid this bank i hope they go skint"
Posted 1 month ago
"Culture of insanity..management hangs staff out to dry"
Posted 1 month ago
"I was tempted by their Rewards account so signed up last November. The first time that I wanted to make an online payment it was refused because i needed a card reader, which was not pointed out to me when I opened the account. I ordered a card reader that took nearly 2 weeks to arrive. I followed the procedure again to make a payment on line and an error message appeared to say that "I did not have an account from which a payment could be taken"! I sent a secure message to Barclays who kindly pointed out that they were aware of the error!! Why I was not told about the problem, without needing to contact Barclays, they could not answer. "Customer Service" said that the issue "could probably be resolved" but I must phone their team. Pathetic."
Posted 1 month ago
"My sister and I had amazing service in our local Hounslow branch with Barclays advisor Aleem Din. We dread going to the bank but his friendly, bright and down to earth personality made this our best experience yet! He helped us with all of a queries and offered the best, honest and impartial advice to ensure we made the right banking decisions and he had no problems with repeating or going more in-depth into the information he was providing us. Now we wont be visiting another advisor in the future and will ask specifically for Aleem, due to his impressive and honest service, friendly and approachable personality and his lovely smile! Thanks for everything."
Posted 1 month ago
"Too much security questions when i use online banking it's always ask many security questions or blocking my account until i call them it's really annoying... I have Lloyds account as well and I'm so happy with Lloyds Bank"
Posted 1 month ago
"Worst service poor communication"
Posted 1 month ago
"Best netbankinh and mobile banking experience so far. Far simpler yet secure system compared to competing retail banks. Competitive APRs offers for credit card. Breeze to interact and get issues resolved."
Posted 1 month ago
"The worst, and getting worse as time goes by."
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays is rated 1.51 based on 180 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support