Aviva Reviews

2.72 Rating 36 Reviews
39% of reviewers recommend Aviva

How would you rate Aviva?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

36 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Robert
After many years with car insurance and a pension I got to speak honestly about the great service I have experienced from Aviva. I have found the call centre staff extremely polite and happy to help. There online 'my Aviva' site has been very useful tool to use to keep update.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Aviva in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"After many years with car insurance and a pension I got to speak honestly about the great service I have experienced from Aviva. I have found the call centre staff extremely polite and happy to help. There online 'my Aviva' site has been very useful tool to use to keep update."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Poor customer service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"So far had no problems with there home insurance policies. Usually get in touch within a few days either send a replacement or cheque for value amount. I currently in a process of a floor claim and is one of the biggest claims I have made to date . Hopefully things run smoothly .asking for receipts but in my opinion. Why would I keep receipts for flooring as it not something you expect to really return or even think about getting damaged ."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Anonymous
"It was cheaper than most of the other providers."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Dishonest company with terrible customer service. I had a problem with my extractor fan due to water damage. They sent out someone who didnt even switch it on, and said the motor was completely burnt out and therefore not Aviva's liability. I told them the motor was running fine, and it was to do with water getting in the electicals. They send another so called expert who said the whole thing was working 100% fine and no water damage, except he didnt get within 6 feet of it. The 'expert' stood in my kitchen and watched me switch it on to show him it wasnt the motor and then wrote another bogus report to let Aviva wiggle out of paying anything. Aviva then washed their hands of the problem, despite having two 'expert' reports which say opposite things. Happy to take you money but will do anything they can not to pay out or help in any way. Avoid avoid avoid."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been dealing with Aviva in connection with two life insurance policies. My complaint is on two levels. First, the way they dealt with the claims (asking for several different documents which no other insurance company requested, and asking for them over several months, not all at the beginning of the process). But my BIGGEST gripe is their policy regarding mail. I live in the USA. Regular air mail from the UK takes 4-6 days on average. But Aviva sends all their mail via MALTA for some reason. The latest letter to me from Aviva took 41 DAYS to reach me. And that is about normal. Why? What is the benefit to Aviva? In today's age of instant communications, they are taking longer than the sailing ships of two hundred years ago! Unprofessional company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have been dealing with Aviva in connection with two life insurance policies. My complaint is on two levels. First, the way they dealt with the claims (asking for several different documents which no other insurance company requested, and asking for them over several months, not all at the beginning of the process). But my BIGGEST gripe is their policy regarding mail. I live in the USA. Regular air mail from the UK takes 4-6 days on average. But Aviva sends all their mail via MALTA for some reason. The latest letter to me from Aviva took 41 DAYS to reach me. And that is about normal. Why? What is the benefit to Aviva? In today's age of instant communications, they are taking longer than the sailing ships of two hundred years ago! Unprofessional company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hazel Mcmillan
"The person on the phone was very helpful and sorted my little problem efficiently."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
MR MICHAEL A MATTHEWS
"after a number of false starts this year, a freephone call resolved all, assistance was very good."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Anonymous
"Have been with Aviva a number of years every year I check other insurers and can't find a cheaper price for the same cover"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Nick L
"Very good customer service and attitude"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Mr Christy Gerreyn
"I was with "Bupa" Health Insurance for 30 years. I switched to "Aviva" a year ago. It offered the same continued insurance for a lower premium. This year the annual increase rate was much lower than if I had stayed with "Bupa" Being a loyal customer for "Bupa" was not rewarded at annual "Renewals""
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
A Very Upset Aviva Customer
Unverified Reviewer
"Our house was just minding it's own business till a car drove into our porch, which is totalled, and the rest of our house is "wonky"! Very long story, but certain employees at AVIVA operate with zero oversight, We were definitely not happy with the agent working on our case, so I asked him for his managers contact info - the AVIVA agent refused to give me his managers info, and said I didn't need to talk to his manager. This infuriates Me - what gives an AVIVA employee the right to be "GOD" wit zero accountability - to our thinking this employee has botched the whole repair, and He seems to think He is not accountable. I have contacted AVIVA's ombudsperson.. We'll see how that goes. I was in business for 40 years with one of the world's largest corporations, and if one of our employees had refused to be accountable .. He would be fired the next day. AVIVA seems fine with these clowns working for them. Very disappointed with AVIVA. Our porch has been demolished now for over 42 days, but this AVIVA agent says that is "normal" .. nothing is normal about AVIVA."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Anonymous
"Helpful with what i was looking for :)"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Made me Happy !!!! What a laugh that is what a company. They should be ashamed and be taken to task. Sorry for all their staff. What a lot of S*** they are. Do not insure anything with this company Too long to go into their rubbish they tell you, go elsewhere"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"The worst 'customer service' I have ever experienced from any company ever. Takes a minimum 30 minutes to speak to anyone on the phone, they then can't offer any help. Zero proactivity on Aviva's part to sort out a minor issue. So you have to call back, wait on hold and start again. Something that every other company can handle over the phone in 2 minutes has now taken a month with Aviva and still is nowhere near being resolved. I'm just going round in circles. I am giving serious consideration to making a county court claim to recover my money. If you value your sanity, don't touch Aviva with a bargepole."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Tried to take out a policy with Aviva for car insurance. Added experienced driver, but this added over £500 onto premium. Customer service poor when I called to query quote"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Anonymous
"Aviva Customer Service is APPALLING; they employ "box tickers" who do NOT listen to customers and then send out incorrect correspondence. They do not deserve one star as they are a NO STAR COMPANY. I've now made 2 FORMAL COMPLAINTS, in both instances they have sent me a cheque to keep quiet...but here is a snippet of what happened I had to make the first formal complaint last year when I tried to get funds out of my Mother's ISA savings where I had Power Of Attorney (POA) - This was to pay for her nursing care. POA was not enough for Aviva (it is for most other companies) I was made to prove my mother was still alive as I could not provide a current driving licence or passport as my Mother had not driven or travelled for well over 15 years. The whole episode was disgraceful and very upsetting. Paid £75 to keep me quiet. A second formal complaint went in earlier this month. My Mother passed away and all I was doing was advising Aviva of this and asking them to put a joint bond account into my Father's name and to change the nominated bank account for their monthly payment out to my Father's bank account. Easy you would think, in fact NatWest, Legal & General, Phoenix Life and Aldermore handled these requests easily and with compassion. NOT AVIVA....wrong information, compounded by incorrect correspondence it just went on and on and in the end, having phoned them at least 3 times and gone through their dreadful security process, I put in another formal complaint. I even copied in their Group CEO, Mark Wilson, whose address I will give you below to try and explain how bad their Customer Services was..guess what he does not respond to letters addressed to him. This time it was handed to a PR division to respond to me and a £150 to keep me quiet. Here goes - this is the address for their Group CEO - send him your complaints direct until they actually do something about their service. Mr Mark Wilson Group CEO, Aviva plc St Helens 1 Undershaft London EC3P 3DQ Tel 020 7283 2000"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Paul
"Just easy service and efficient"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Anonymous
"They were easy to talk to."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Aviva is rated 2.72 based on 36 reviews