Aviva Reviews

Aviva have a Customer Happiness Grade of C. Customers are happy with their prices and customer service. Full Insights

2.07 Rating 60 Reviews
23% of reviewers recommend Aviva
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email
communication channels

How would you rate Aviva ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Telephone help line worse than any I encountered before. Incredibly long waiting in the queue for an answer and then to be cut-off halfway through a conversation - twice. No resolution to my issue 3 days on...."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Very bad treatment of my claim against this insurer as they give extremely bad service and are very slow, arrogant and conceited! They are taking weeks to pay settlement of my claim to my solicitors and simply don't reply to queries - despite me formally accepting their offer! VERY BAD COMPANY"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Unbelievably bad service - on hold in a call queue twice for an hour and cut off both times! Well after a bad experience trying to get through to Customer Service last week, this week is even worse! On hold in the call queue for 1 hour 1 minute and 23 seconds when there was a message that there was a technical fault and the call was disconnected. I've redialed and am still sitting in the queue and over an hour later get the same message that there are technical problems and I've been disconnected again! I am now giving up having been unable to speak to someone. Aviva, do you really think a wait of more than 2 hours is acceptable? What are you senior management doing about this? At least get a call back service working and get rid of that message "lots of people are calling us today; but we'll get you to one of the team as soon as they are free" if it is not going to be in a reasonable time."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I have written twice to Aviva regards my P60 which I need for my tax return only to find out by phone you no longer supply them automatically. No reply to either letter. Aviva has to be the very worst company to deal with and if I could move my pension I would. Will someone in Aviva send me a link so I can download my certificate sometime this year would be helpful!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"AVIVA hold my small Pension. I moved 2 years ago, so I immediately informed Aviva, they wrote back thanking me for informing them of my new address. This year my accountant needed my P60 forms, so I had to chase Aviva! well that is when the farce began it turned out they had been sending my P60's to my old address even though they had acknowledged my change of address in 2016. No one had forwarded post on to me from my old address! which just exasperated the problem. Three times I telephoned Aviva office for my P60's and told them of their error. They asked my postcode and told me that is not the address we hold for you!!!!Eventually one man emailed my forms but quoted "following on from your recent (RECENT!)confirmation of your change of address, please find attached your P60's as requested" so he did not believe that they had made an error. It seems the whole office needs a shake up, they need to be more responsive and see things through ~ come on Customer Services ~ get your act together and try doing some work ~ we are the ones paying your wages."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"They take too long to answer the phone. You are waiting in the queue for 30 minutes when phoning these people. Most people’s lunchbreak is 30 minutes so it is impossible to speak to them. On this basis i"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very poor customer service, offered no explanation for the huge increase of my car insurance renewal instead they tried to sell me more contracts and services. They also made me feel I was being dismissed as if they had better things to do or just couldn't justify the £230 increase they were asking for. I also asked them to remove my email from their contact list, received email from them today. Extremely unhelpful, fed up, avoid."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had a complex scenario on Home Insurance. Gave them the details upfront and answered additional questions. They provided a quote that seemed ok and said all I needed to do was phone up, quote the reference and give a start date to activate. I thought I was being pro-active organizing this a month in advance. Don't trust them! When we exchanged contracts I phoned up only to have them say the person that gave me the quote should never have done it as it was against corporate policy to issue such coverage for new clients - existing customers would be covered. Aviva Insurance obviously have some form of internal politics/ one-up-manship going on. I shared that I'm an existing Aviva Pension fund client ... but Aviva Insurance obviously couldn't care less about customers from other divisions. We were buying a home, but having an extension added before moving in. While work was done, we'd be living in an apartment less than a mile away/ visiting the site regularly. I get that this scenario adds risk and that some employees might make mistakes - but if their policy states they can accept the risk for existing customers - I expect that to include any Aviva brand/ division. My whole purpose of contacting Aviva was to consolidate business under one roof to make administration easier and lock in multi product discounts. As it stands, they left me in the lurch and refused to honor their original quote. Their loss - we are relocating from USA, so I'll be buying a new car and looking for car insurance too. They won't get that now ... and I'll be moving my Pension elsewhere. If you don't have a "straight forward insurance" need, or you expect a first class customer experience across all divisions - stay away!"
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Policy cover and premium both competitive. But completely fed up with the call centre wait times. All I want to do is pay an outstanding premium which you would think should be a simple on-line operation. Call after 4pm and you’ll be lucky if it’s answered within 20 minutes. Only to be cut off and have to listen to mindless pop for anther 20mins. Really frustrating that you can do virtually everything else vis MyAviva but not this. Why?"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Poor customer service, staff not helpful at all, had an electrical fire in the car under the steering column and the battery area, all the wire been burnt, aviva arranged an engineer to look into the car, (bill thursby) he was not consistent with his report, at one point he confirmed that its an extensive damage and on the other hand saying no resultant damage, can’t blame the manufacturers and don’t know the reason of fire, emailed aviva and the engineer so many times for a proper explained report and clarification on the points mentioned in the report, but no response from them at all. Engineer dealing with this matter was i think a trainee without any knowledge of cars who quoted the repairs to be around £1200.00 but the manufacturers quoted it to be more than £8000.00. Seriously. If aviva can’t blame the manufacturers for the fire then they also have no reason to say electrical breakdown as they don’t know the cause, policy doesn’t say that it’s not covered until you give a justification of fire. Closed my claim file without any reason and no proper reaponse from. Won’t recommend to anybody stay away from them."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Poor customer service, staff not helpful at all, had an electrical fire in the car under the steering column and the battery area, all the wire been burnt, aviva arranged an engineer to look into the car, (bill thursby) he was not consistent with his report, at one point he confirmed that its an extensive damage and on the other hand saying no resultant damage, can’t blame the manufacturers and don’t know the reason of fire, emailed aviva and the engineer so many times for a proper explained report and clarification on the points mentioned in the report, but no response from them at all. Engineer dealing with this matter was i think a trainee without any knowledge of cars who quoted the repairs to be around £1200.00 but the manufacturers quoted it to be more than £8000.00. Seriously. If aviva can’t blame the manufacturers for the fire then they also have no reason to say electrical breakdown as they don’t know the cause, policy doesn’t say that it’s not covered until you give a justification of fire. Closed my claim file without any reason and no proper reaponse from. Won’t recommend to anybody stay away from them."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Aviva own quote me happy an online insurance company. Appalling company might be ‘happy with the quote’ but that’s it. My wife changed her car tried to access account could’t - password reset tried no emails received to reset. Sent emails over several days (as online only and no response to any of them) - can’t speak to anyone even rang Aviva they wern’t Interested. As we now have the new car had to take a new policy out (obviously avoding quote me happy!) so now have a policy running on the old car that we can’t cancel - will put it all in writing to quote me happy and take it to the ombudsman - the worst customer service I have ever experienced avoid them like the plague!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"BOILER COVER. Avoid at all costs. Took out a policy on 21 FEBRUARY and still I'm not covered. Long story short - 1st engineer failed to inspect most important part of system but told me everything was in order. Following a formal complaint which was upheld, a 2nd engineer from a different company was dispatched. Stated he had fully inspected system and all in order. Hearing nothing I contacted Aviva who confirmed all in order and cover commenced. 6 WEEKS LATER - a letter asking me to contact them re issues. 2nd engineer has filed a report citing issues with my boiler despite lying to me saying all in order. What is wrong with these people. 2nd formal complaint made nearly 2 weeks ago and not a phone call or e-mail to even acknowledge receipt. So 3 months further on and still no cover in place!!!! How difficult does this need to be. Should point out that British Gas have serviced this boiler for many years without issue. Wish I had never left them. Investment portfolios with Aviva about to be moved - if they can't get a simple boiler policy correct, what chance do I have of a portfolio being correctly managed?."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I was at a sheesha bar and staff notified customers a vehicle matching the description of mine was damaged. I rushed outside to see my vehicle rammed by a third party stolen vehicle and police at scene. My vehicle was a brand new car but i had bought it from a auction and got it repaired but i wasnt the best at filling away all reciept. I also serviced from Mercedes and really took pride in looking after it. The police advised me to contact my insurance company as i was screaming my head off about what had happened. Later that night i got around to telling aviva what had happed, gave my crime ref and they started from the start of claim giving me inccorrct advice. They explained to me first i was entitled to a standard courtesy car because i had no driver details. After thought the next day i rang back explaining i wasnt in the vehicle at time Of accident so regardless its not my fault and the fact vehicle was stolen as i found out from Police. They then changed their story to giving me a like for like vehicle. After agonising long stretch of me waitiing they decided to investigate mainly because i think of the value of the vehicle and the fact they wanted nay excuse not to pay me out. I coopearted as much as i could and at the time could not find reciepts due to my lack of organisation skills however they kept penalising me the fact i never had the vehicle repaired to a good standard, never had recipts at that specific, damage from the accident was inconsistent and that my emails provided were not mine and declined my claim. They also called my claim fraudulent indirectly by outlining their terms relating to cancellation if policy and if a claim is invalid or exagerated.I complained and explained addressing all the points however they maintained their stance due to The high amount of pay out it would result in. I have proof of my vehicle as in perfect condition but upto their specifications it wasnt although mercedes never ever mentioned any major problems when servicing. Overall i would say PLEASE DO NOT TAKE OUT INSURANCE WITH AVIVA !!!!! They literally look for excuses not to pay out especially if its a new car and it will cost them fair amount. I would never ever take any policy out and will recommend to everyone not to take out any policy with aviva. I realised by my experience and further by researching amd found aviva is known for such scandals. If only i had researched before taking out insurance. Now i will be going to Financial Ombudsman Service. Please share my experience with all family and friends. I was gutted with my experience and heartbroken. They left me hopeless with no support and made me feel so vulnerable and it took me 6 months to mentally recover of the accident damage and their responses."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Only given one star as I had no choice. In 2016 I had another driver hit me Aviva was my insurance provider but seemed to side with the 3rd party. After numerous rude customer service staff I lodged a complaint which was brushed aside we are now in 2018 and Aviva has been paid out but guess what I have received no payment back for my excess. Avoid Avoid"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I know that Aviva may be one of many underwriters who play these games but something needs to be done. Being honest I advised my broker bennetts that I was going to add bar risers on my bike. These are fitted by the dealer and make the bike safer for me to ride. I was told that they would no longer insure me just because I added the bar riser to the bike. This is ridiculous and has caused me the inconvenience and extra cost for no good reason. maybe Aviva should have people in their company that understand the various modifications and the impact. There needs to be some further regulation that affects customers so adversely for no reason"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I gave this company many chances and a lot of time to resolve small issues: I already wrote one review for this company about two weeks ago... They called me and send me e-mail... apologizing - March 28, 2018 - yet nothing has been done for resolution of my inquiry... my record shows me 100% at fault for an accident. Their e-mail states it has been corrected and changed to "not at fault" March 28, 2018. Today I called other company for a quote and my report is still the same. I never had an accident. Took my car to police station provided Aviva with contacts to verify... send that email to aviva 4 times now... never had it acknowledged... Dealing with this since July 2017 - YES over a year. Just AWFUL SERVICE."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"No response to emails."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"terrible customer service with exceptionally long hold times on the phone. Best avoided at all costs"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Car insurance Useless. You pay for a service. If you are unfortunate enough to need their service be prepared for long hold times to talk to people who do not know what they are advising. 5 months on from a claim and I am still waiting!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Aviva is rated 2.07 based on 60 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This