Alex Shanks Reviews

1.77 Rating 26 Reviews
0% of reviewers recommend Alex Shanks
"Its been 2 months and im stil waiting for my jacket I will certainly never use your company again and will be letting everybody know how shoddy of a company you are."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Nearly everything that was ordered was not available and replacements were eventually sent after we queried the whereabouts of the order twice, and still some of the order has not been sent out, the sight says order dispatched and has done since day one. Will not use again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I give Alex Shanks one star as I eventually received my ordered goods. - About 5 weeks after ordering! So much for the 48 hr dispatch! I had to send one email and make two phone calls to find out when my goods were likely to arrive. If I had not made the calls I probably would be still waiting for them as I had not received any update from Alex Shanks! I run a cleaning company and I needed the goods for an upcoming job. I ended up ordering them from elsewhere as I couldn't rely upon Alex Shanks to deliver them on time. So now I have them twice. It's sad to see bad service. It is just as easy to run a quality reliable service as it is to run the rubbish setup that Alex Shanks seems to run. Also, I feel sad for his staff who have to field complaints and make excuses ! Very poor experience, and reading the reviews on reviews.co.uk it would seem I'm not the only one!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I ordered a Karcher underbody Lance,and the money was taken from my credit card that day. I expected delivery within 7 days as promised but nothing arrived. I filled in the online form queries and got no reply, I then phoned and was told it would be delivered the following week, again no sign of it. 3 weeks later I phoned again and all of a sudden they managed to dispatch it the same day. The Karcher Lance was the cheapest on the internet and arrived safely it works fine. Alex Shanks should take more care of their customers and at least keep them informed of any delay with delivery."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are very sorry about this negative experience.
Posted 3 years ago
"I place order by phone 13/03/15 for Karcher with extra charges for fast delivery. 23/03/15 still don't have . Will cancel the order if won't arrive tomorrow. For sure."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are really sorry, Alex has confirmed that he will refund you the delivery charge and has reorganised the delivery for today.
Posted 3 years ago
"On the 7th January 2015 I ordered online through Alan Shanks a Karcher K4 compact pressure washer. This never arrived. I have made a number of phone calls to Alan Shanks about this purchase to see if it was ever been processed. On the first 4 or 5 occasions I was told somebody would phone me back. THIS NEVER HAPPENED UNTILL LAST WEDNESDAY when Alan Shanks called me himself. He said he would look into the matter and call me back on Thursday 26th Feb 2015. This once again never happened and I left the country that night, so have no idea if he did in fact attempt to contact me on the Friday, although I have not seen any missed calls on my mobile. All I wanted was confirmation if I had been charged for the item. If not, then it was not an issue and I would look around for another good deal before ordering again."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Michael, We are very sorry about this. Alex says he left a message on your answer phone to confirm the payment went through. Please can you call him at your earliest convenience 01236 449554 as he just tried to call you but couldn't reach you.
Posted 3 years ago
"Probably one of the worst companies I've ever had to deal with, placed my order on 31/1/15, and still haven't received it yet. My emails go unanswered, phone calls are not answered and when they do pick up the phone there is no one to deal with me, promises of call backs are never kept. As a result I placed a negative review, and within twenty minutes I had Alex Shanks on the phone to me telling me it wasn't his fault, it was Royal Mail who had returned the item as undelivered. I gave him the benefit of the doubt, and since I couldn't retract my original negative review, I posted a positive one, in expectation that the problem would be resolved, I was told to expect delivery of my order early the following week Unfortunately that week has now come and gone and still no sign of my order, emails remain unanswered, phone calls are not answered. I have managed to find another company with the part I required, despatched on the day of order, delivered the following day (well done Machine Mart) so I will no longer need your goods or services, don't bother to try to contact me to resolve any issues, except to give me a full refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are extremely sorry about this. When Alex spoke to you the item had been returned and we intended to dispatch this that day. Unfortunately in the meantime this was misplaced in the warehouse. Alex would have contacted you again to inform you of this but it slipped his mind he is very sorry about this. We have now issued a full refund and if there is anything you need he would be willing to give you a special discount.
Posted 3 years ago
"I have purchased a Hoover from this company on Amazon there weeks ago, despite a follow up email I have had no update and am still awaiting my product. I have tried calling but no one picked up or replied to my email. I am not sure what to do next or how to get my Hoover or money back. I will be contacting Amazon directly on Monday to provide feedback and also for help on next steps. Charlie"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are very sorry please can you contact us on 01236 449554 to resolve this, or alternatively email us on sales@alexshanks.com with a contact number and we will call you back immediately.
Posted 3 years ago
"Pathetic service. Pathetic and incompetent and unhelpful customer service, no reply to correspondence, unhelpful phone answerer. Late delivery. I'll be giving you bad reviews whenever I can. Not good enough. If you say something will be delivered WITHIN 3 to 5 working days, then maybe you should try to keep to that?! Having ordered an item on Sunday that we very much needed to use throughout the week, that meant delivery on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday of this week at the latest. At least, that is my understanding of the word 'within' - dispatching on the fifth day so that the order arrives late is BAD SERVICE. Get yourself a next day deliver courier and respect your customers. Oh, and asking for a review on the third day when there is no sign of your product isn't going to get you far either."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are very sorry for your experience, a manager will be in touch to resolve this matter.
Posted 3 years ago
"Think carefully before ordering. Placed an order online on 22/12/14 for carpet cleaner and money collected from credit card that day. The item did not arrive despite 'My account' showing dispatch date 22/12/14. Emailed them, no reply, called them 6 Jan promised call back form Alex Shanks, no call back. I called again to be told the item was not ever dispatched and is not in stock. They rely on a 'supplier' and 'they do not have the item'. I would hear before end the week. No Call. Called and promised Alex senior would call 8/1. No call received. Emailed Saturday 10, no reply, called Monday 12 and again demanded refund. Refund still not yet made. Now reported to Credit Card Company as disputed item. The item is still for sale on the site! I should had read reviews in more detailing. Appalling communication, misleading info and withholding money in breach of all consumer legislation. Stay well clear or collect from shop and only pay when the goods are in your hands. Shocking. Now reported to Trading Standards too."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We are really sorry about this experience Alex Shanks will be in touch with you to resolve this.
Posted 4 years ago
"I placed an order online on the 28th of December. The item did not arrive and I did not hear from the company, chased via email on January the 8th, no reply. It is now the 12th of January and I have placed three phone calls only to be told that the person dealing with the matter is busy and cannot come to the phone right now and will get back to me. The only explanation I have received this far is that I "placed and other while the office was closed" which is insufficient. I also asked about the email and was told "the person dealing with that is away unexpectedly." Shockingly poor customer service, no interest shown in my order, no remedial action offered. If no action is taken by the close of play on the 12th I will be cancelling the order on the 13th! Not at all happy. Will not be recommending Alex Shanks Ltd to anyone else."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We are very sorry about this, a manager will be in touch with you to resolve this matter.
Posted 4 years ago
"Made an Order on Alex Shanks which Never been Received and with no Response... Waisted time money and stress"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We are really sorry about this, there was an issue with your payment Alex Shanks himself will be in touch with you to discuss this matter and resolve it to your satisfaction.
Posted 4 years ago
"Customer service is appalling. Took ages plus lots of calls and was promised a call back on 5 occasions to no avail. Finally ask to speak to Alex Shanks (I got Junior) before something was done. Bissell carpet machine arrived but unfortunately aftern 1 day of use it started the engine started popping. Got in touch with Bissell, very helpful, and arranged for Alex Shanks to replace the machine. It has been picked up over a week now and heard nothing by phone or email. Phoned Alex Shanks, they said they would phone me back. I heard nothing so phone Bissell to see if they could help. They got no response, except to say that Alex Shanks would phone me. I have received no phone call from them. I will wait 1 more day and will phone Bissell again more in hope than expectation."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We are very sorry that you have had such a negative experience. Alex Shanks has said he will be in touch shortly to resolve this matter for you.
Posted 4 years ago
Alex Shanks is rated 1.77 based on 26 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support