Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.92 Rating 83 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Visit Website

Phone:
+442074344488

Email:
info@aofmakeup.com

Location:
63 Dean Street Soho

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
"" For me, Make-Up meant a complete career change as I studied Law before, but I wanted to follow my dream and start a new path as a make-up artist. I wanted to choose one the best schools in the industry and as I did a lot of research, I finally found AOFM. After completing the Professional Hair and Make up course and taking part in various masterclasses such as Bobbi Brown, MAC, Dermalogica and Smashbox, Lancome, amazing opportunity offered by AOFM, I managed to open my own make-up salon back home in Romania. In the meantime I had the chance to work alongside great and talented people and made very good friends while attending the fashion shows as part of the AOFM team in London, Paris, Milan and New York. I will gladly recommend the Academy for anyone interested in building up a career in make-up. I felt inspired by the wonderful team of teachers, all of them renowned make-up professionals, the stimulating environment, and above all, the unique approach of creating opportunities for their graduates after the course. I worked with the best make-up artists team from Aofm at LFW, Milan Mens Collection and Milan Women, Bath in Fashion, Fashion Finest, New York Fashion week etc. Therefore, I highly recommend AOFM as an academy that combines all ingredients to a successful career in the make-up industry."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I Studied Total Pro Creative Course with AOFM London. I have to say that I made the right decision coming from Copenhagen to London to study makeup, which was not easy financially speaking, but quite rewarding in terms of experience. AOFM opened a huge door for me, not only in terms of my acquired experience from the amazing AOFM staff, but as well, it opened a door for a continuous learning opportunities through their Master classes that it freely offers, as well as giving me opportunities to collaborate backstage at fashion weeks. This is the big difference between AOFM and other academies that I've attended in Copenhagen, Barcelona and Las Vegas. Obviously, I'm not expecting AOFM to provide me a job, but at least AOFM is constantly encouraging me, as well as other ex-students to build our Portfolio for potential jobs."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"The course that I took in NYC with AOFM was such an amazing hands on learning experience. I loved getting taught by different Freelance Makeup Artists everyday and hearing about their experience and work in the industry. I have learned so many helpful tips from foundation application to tips for starting out as a freelancer. The photoshoot was one of my favorite experiences and I loved how professional it was. Getting to work backstage at Fashion Week is such an exciting learning opportunity that most people wait years to get to experience. I would recommend AOFM to anybody who wants to learn about makeup, whether you are just a beginner or if you already have experience!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I loved every single day of the course and now after almost three years after finishing the course I can say the aftercare program that they have is the best as it gives you the chance to work backstage side by side with the best makeup artist such as Michelle Webb and the best high end brands.Best makeup school."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Before I joined AOFM I just have basic skill of makeup and it changed a lot after I graduated from AOFM. I got a lot experience from the assisting opportunities that I've joined. It's like a dream after graduated I could joined asissting for the London Fashion Week. There's nothing like any other makeup school who give the students with big opportunities after graduated. So many makeup brands that I could used to practice and really help me for choosing a good brand and products for my kit. All the teacher were really patience and helpful with the steps to perfecting each look that I should achieve. Totally the choosen one for best makeup school to learn makeup artistry and the opportunity after graduate."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"they're the best school in the world! For their professionality and support ! Had the honor to work for them at the fashion weeks ! Thank you very much AOFM best team and school ever !!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"I attended the Foundation Course at the academy which was a fantastic experience. It's an intensive course but it needs to be because there is so much to cover. There is a good balance of demo's and practising each day and the teachers were extremely good. Would definitely recommend the academy to a friend."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I attended AOFM in September 2013 doing the five week intensive course which covered make up, hair styling, nails, airbrushing and and an introduction into SFX. There are two things that set AOFM apart from all the other make up artistry schools out there. The first is that this school is tailored to people hoping to make it in the industry as a freelancer. Everyday you are greeted with a different tutor who is working freelance. Having such a variety of different tutors that are all extremely successful gives you such a depth of knowledge. The second is the aftercare given by the school. It is next to none and cannot be beaten, although, you only get what you are willing to work for. Just like in the real world of work, you have to have the right attitude and determination to go far. If you think you have the drive and passion for make up artistry, AOFM is the right school for you!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"If you want to become a make up artist this is a great place to start your career. You are trained by some of the best currently working in the industry and the aftercare and support you receive is incredible. I would recommend the school to anyone wanting to work in makeup."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Make up was just a little part of my life after an internal deep search I decided to take my love for beauty and color into higher level, in the best make up school possible. AOFM gave me the knowledge and tools to take my skills up to the higher level in the industry. The combination of passion and creativity I acquired by the teachers and opportunities given by AOFM took me to create in me a bigger and more eager searcher for what I call the love of my life “Make Up”. I had worked big editorials and fashion shows all over America and recently I was booked to be the Make up Designer and Director for the Mercedes Benz Fashion Week San Jose in Costa Rica. I have to say that the teachers, the love and creativity for what they do is a big inspiration, as well as the love and care AOFM give the students by knowledge and opportunities all over. My love to make up is now where it belongs thanks to the guide and teaching I received by AOFM. Thank you AOFM all the way from Costa Rica. Hugo Gamboa"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I studied a Makeup course in Spain but It wanted to specialize and have an international certificate. I searched for a while and I found AOFM. This academy is awesome. The Total PRO course, the one I did, is amazing and very complete. Teachers are known pros, they taught us everything they knew, gave us some tips and used the best makeup brands in the market. When you get your certificate you have a gorgeous aftercare with lots of jobs for applying. I worked at London Fashion Week! So I recommend to all of you guys, don´t doubt and book your seat at AOFM! Ainhoa xx"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I studied a Makeup course in Spain but It wanted to specialize and have an international certificate. I searched for a while and I found AOFM. This academy is awesome. The Total PRO course, the one I did, is amazing and very complete. Teachers are known pros, they taught us everything they knew, gave us some tips and used the best makeup brands in the market. When you get your certificate you have a gorgeous aftercare with lots of jobs for applying. I worked at London Fashion Week! So I recommend to all of you guys, don´t doubt and book your seat at AOFM! Ainhoa xx"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"The training I received at AOFM was outstanding.I took the 'Complete Artistic Pro' Course and graduated at the end of February 2014. I have already been able to put so much of what I learnt into practice in the makeup industry upon the courses completion. AOFM offers so much, for example I was taught by a different tutor everyday, all of whom are currently working in industry. I found everyone who taught at the Academy to be relevant and exciting, with their own unique and dynamic style of teaching. They strongly encourage individual thinking and creativity, and it never felt as if I was just merely being shown something and told to copy. I was constantly being pushed and challenged by my tutors in the most inspiring and satisfying way. The products used in the classroom were all high end, and practical work would take place each day for most of the day, giving me a chance to be creative and experiment with a wide range of brands. The course also included a week in Special FX, taught by Michelle Webb who is an exceptional teacher and has first hand experience in the film and fashion industry. Each day on the course was new, interesting and exciting with plenty of individual attention given. Michelle taught me skills that I didn't imagine would be possible to acquire within just one week. I would strongly advise those wanting to go to AOFM to do the complete 5 week course because it covers all areas of the industry. Makeup is a fast moving and ever evolving industry, where you never know what might be thrown at you, and this course is great preparation for a life working in this field. The aftercare and guidance I have received from AOFM has been more than I could have ever imagined and I have been given lots of opportunities since completing my course. For example I've have had the privilege of working at London, Milan and Bath Fashion Weeks. As well as this I have assisted established makeup artists on editorial shoots, working with some truly incredible people. Recently Jana Ririnui, the head of education at AOFM, gave me the opportunity to be the key make up artist at the Middlesex Graduate Fashion show. This experience showed me and taught me ways to run a team and collaborate with stylists and create a look together. Chances like these are invaluable and I am forever grateful. AOFM runs fantastic free master classes. So far I have been lucky enough to attend MAC, Dermalogica, Benefit, Vogue and Charlotte Tilbury's master classes - all of them were very informative and helpful. Each of these events began with a lovely champagne reception allowing for the opportunity to network with other makeup artists whilst eating delicious canapés .I am very much looking forward to the next one! The tutors have all been very welcoming and are obviously extremely talented. I feel privileged to have been educated and guided by them. I am so grateful to Jana, Jason [heads of AOFM] and Zana Moses [studio manager/make-up artist] for all their faith in me and devotion to their students, and for delivering everything that was promised to me and more. My experience at AOFM has been a blessing and one that I will never forget, I would highly recommend their courses to any aspiring artists out there!!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I graduated AOFM make up school in December 2013 .I visited many make-up schools before I chose AOFM academy. And I made the right choice that’s just the best make-up school in London. I was so fascinated by all professional make-up artists who were there. So friendly and so passionate by their work and try to teach you the best methods and tricks. After you graduate you have aftercare program which is so good start for your first experience and to see how make up industry works. Moreover I fund good friends there as well. Therefore the ambiance was excellent I personally felt good coming in to the school and enjoyed my time there. Thank you AOFM team for this amazing experience!! Rima xx"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I have done 4 different courses at AOFM and have loved every single one. I decided to do one course at a time over the course of a year to fit in with work and other commitments, but if you have the time you can do 5 weeks at once. The teachers are brilliant, and really help you get an insight into the industry, and the facilities and location of the academy are perfect. The academy has every brand of make-up you can think of to play with and use in the lessons, which is great as you will never get the opportunity to sample so many products! I also highly recommend the airbrush course, which is only 3 days, but by the end of it you will feel confident in being able to use an airbrush and have a real understanding of what it can be used for. Since graduating (for the 3rd time!), I have worked with AOFM on LCM and London fashion week for 2 seasons, and I regularly attend their free make-up masterclasses held at the academy. I always recommend AOFM when people ask me where I trained, and will always compliment the academy for helping me further in my career as a make-up artist"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I completed the advanced makeup and hair course at AOFM in London, and it was the best thing I have ever done! The course was fantastic, I learnt so much from the fantastic tutors and made so many new friends! One of he best things I got from AOFM was the belief that I could go out there and make it as a makeup artist. The tutors give you so much great advice and really give you e confidence to go and do it. Also, the after care from AOFM is the best I have seen from any courses. I have been to master classes and am looking forward to fashion week trials. Since graduating I have been testing and also have some weddings coming up. AOFM has really given me the skills and confidence to get out there and do something that I love. I definitely recommend them!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I can't recommend and praise AOFM enough as the number one Makeup School! After graduating from their Foundation, Advanced Makeup and Session Styling Course I have been fortunate to work the past three seasons assisting backstage at London Fashion Week for on schedule designer shows as well as London Collections Mens and some amazing events with the academy. I found the training incredible and still miss my time there. We was taught by a different tutor each day who were all current professionals in the industry and learnt some of their amazing techniques. The makeup brands were endless what we got to use in class which I found was another plus as branded makeup courses you wouldn't get to experience this. They even took our class on a shopping day to MAC, Shu Uemura, Benefit and Bare Minerals where we enjoyed a fantastic discount to help start to build our freelance kits. No pressure to buy but we were given a few key products the tutors recommended in class to help us along the way and what were multi use. After graduating the perks don't stop there!! All the past graduates receive phenomenal aftercare and get to attend FREE masterclasses at the academy where you spend a champagne and canape evening with industry and brand experts. I have been to numerous since graduating including, Bobbi Brown, MAC & NARS. My portfolio is coming along quite nicely now with my own credited/published work and because of all the assisting opportunities I have had with the academy I feel much more confident on my own jobs whether its on a shoot, TV, an event or a wedding client. For a little insight to working with AOFM backstage at the shows, I have included a couple of links to my Blog... http://jocolettabeauty.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/london-mens-collections-aw14-assiting.html http://jocolettabeauty.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/lfw-nasir-mazhar-aw14-assisting-ayami.html I would definitely recommend any of the courses at AOFM as they really are the best in the business :-) Jo Coletta"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Absolutely fabulous! I'm a graduate of the Total Creative Pro course from a couple years ago, and I had an amazing experience. I find what really sets this academy apart from all the rest is that you are learning from the best working artists in the industry. All of which have portfolios to die for. The students are fortunate enough to learn from a different artist daily which I find to be extremely valuable. To be able to watch and learn the artistry of numerous talent is inspiring. Another great asset this school has is their product stock. You are working with luxury industry products on a daily basis playing and experimenting with different formulas and brands. It's great to be able to know your product lines and whether or not you want them in your kit because you've had the opportunity to use them yourself, and see what works best for your style and product preference. As for the aftercare, I don't think it gets any better. I've had the privilege of working backstage at New York, London, and Milan Fashion Weeks. Runway is an experience on its own, but to say you've been part of the biggest fashion weeks in the world is something I'm very grateful to AOFM for. I will say the people you meet along the way are amazing as well. My class was quite the international group, I myself am from Canada. I've made dear friends from all over, and we've become our own network of makeup artists. Nothing but great things to say about this academy, it was an inspiring and positive experience. Would recommend it to anyone looking to learn or reinspire their passion for makeup!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I completed the Complete Artistic Pro course last September 2013 at AOFM. It is not only a great course to boost your knowledge and perfect your techniques, but it is also extremely inspiring. Having a different tutor every day that is CURRENTLY in the industry helps you to better under the industry today, get a real feel of what you can expect and hopefully where you can see yourself in the future. – With A LOT of hard work and dedication to the field!! The aftercare offers amazing opportunities like no other make up course or school and the ongoing care helps to keep you focused on the bigger picture of your career when you are first starting out in the big wide make up world! I am glad I chose AOFM and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to become a professional and successful make-up artist. DAISY x"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"One of my best decisions was to choose AOFM. I have learned so much from every single of the amazing team member there. What is so different with you guys you help us the chance to actually help us to for fill are dreams, you guide and take care of us. I moved to London for this and I am so happy to belong to AOFM. Thank you so much and keep up the amazing work."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.92 based on 83 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support