Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.94 Rating 114 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
AOFM Verified Customer Review Genuine Academy Of Freelance Makeup Review
Read Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+442074344488

Email:

info@aofmakeup.com

Location:

63 Dean Street Soho

Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Ria Jaini
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Ria Jaini
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
59
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My experience at AOFM London has been extremely amazing, attended Total Pro specialist course in June 2016. I had the privilege to studying in the best academy in the world, with the best makeup artist and hair stylists.
I had this big dream to became a makeup artist and AOFM game me "wings to fly"
I loved every second in the academy, the classes and all the tutors incredible supportive and also my wonderful colleagues which we made friendship for life . Fantastic experience.
I felt blessed to had the opportunity to use in classes all the luxuary makeup product, attended to channel masterclass which I found incredible. It's fantastic how AOFM cares to give support to their students.
Since I left AOFM currently had the privilege to work for Estée Lauder and currently working for Christian Dior. Looking forward to assist backstage to this wonderful academy.
Massive Thank you to all AOFM team
kindest regards
Sabier SOUSA from Venezuela/ Madeira Island
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 27th November 2016
Posted 3 years ago
It was very intense, and there was so many things to learn in a short amount of time. But all in all, the education, care and support that I received from the teachers and the AOFM staff (especially recepcionist Barbara) was amazing and lived up to my expectations. The course has given me more confidence as a makeup artist as well as knowledge, tips and skills.
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd November 2016
Posted 4 years ago
I've finished the AOFM course in 2013, the most valuable for me was to meet these great makeup artists who work in the industry and to hear how they made it and what difficulties they had. Another important thing was the training with the makeup brands we had, as it was a great opportunity to try products from different brands and choose the best ones to work with, as my previous makeup school had just one makeup sponsor and I haven't tried any other brand before AOFM.

As far as aftercare is concerned, I'm very happy and thankful for the oppotunities I had to assist in Fashion weeks, I did few in London and Milan. It was a really unique chance to learn from our teachers, to see how it all is organized from it's beginning, as I've been to a test with the designer, and how it works until the end. It helped me a lot in my own work when I had to be a key makeup artist.

Hope to continue working with AOFM in the future, I still have a lot to learn.
Regina
Posted 4 years ago
During my training I had the chance to meet very experienced professionals and to learn from them technics which are very useful for me and I'm glad for that.

Regarding the aftercare I just want to thank you because you give me the chance to attend masterclasses and to work on assisting jobs. Also one of my aims is to participate in fashion weeks.

More over, I've been doing some photoshoots for a models agency and work for MAC Cosmetics
Posted 4 years ago
AOFM was an amazing experience and I am very pleased I picked this academy. The teachers are amazing, there skills in teaching every aspect of makeup was great, always clear, helpful and I understood everything. They was always there for you if you needed help. It was very intense but also very fun at the same time.
The aftercare is amazing helping us find work opportunities and setting up master classes.
I really enjoyed my experience at AOFM and I decently recommend AOFM Academy to build up your skills to become a makeup artist.
Posted 4 years ago
I studied at AOFM on 2014 in ‘Advanced Make up Artistry’ and it was the best decision I could have made.
I was a bit apprehensive as I was making a change in my career. There are so many options of places to study in London that it can get overwhelming of where to start. Since then, anybody who has been in the same position as me, and looking for somewhere to study make up I have sent them straight to AOFM.

Starting with the buzz of the location, and the international students and varied ages make it a great place to be. It was an intense two weeks but I very quickly realised I was so passionate about what I was learning and absolutely loved doing it every day. The teachers and their assistants were really helpful and I explored areas of make up that I never thought I would consider as a path, like body painting for example! The teachers and staff at AOFM really know how to help guide you in the direction of where you want to take your career whilst allowing you to express your creativity in every class.

The end assessment was perfect to get my portfolio started with a great model and photographer, and the aftercare (a few years later) is still greatly appreciated and helpful to me. I don’t know anywhere else that would provide such a great service and opportunities after you have finished.
I didn’t think that I could create my own looks and now thanks to the guidance and inspiration of AOFM I now work as a Professional Makeup Artist but also as a Makeup Designer in Advertising, Film & TV. I feel that the course really pushed me and I absorbed every second, which I still feel useful today when I am working on a project.

I will always have great memories of my time at AOFM and if I could do it all over again I wouldn’t change a thing!
Posted 4 years ago
The Academy of Freelance Makeup (AOFM) is a international makeup school. I was lucky enough to attend a few years ago. Being the youngest in the class and also starting a new career can be extremely daunting to say the least. My fears were put aside as I began the “Total Pro” Intensive 4 week course.

My team had around 15-20 pupils who came from all over the world, wanting to learn from the best of the best. The thing I most loved about AOFM were the teachers you got to learn from. Almost every day there was a new tutor, from a different country, telling you a story about there career in the industry, and teaching you the tips and tricks of the trade.

Upon graduating AOFM I immediately felt the benefits from there great aftercare package and helpful team; that continues to this day. Through this I have been given the opportunity to work backstage in Milan, Paris, New York, Tokyo and London. I have assisted amazing artists and have worked in fashion and television.

As a freelance makeup artist over the past few years I have worked for MAC Cosmetics, Multiple clothing brands, working on campaigns and look books, private cliental and magazine work. I left AOFM with the make up and business skills that has allowed me to be as successful as I want to be. I would highly recommend investing in your talent.
Posted 4 years ago
For anyone that is thinking of starting a career in makeup AOFM is the academy!!!

Before starting at AOFM i was a full time nail tech i wanted to learn more and absolutely love getting creative with makeup.
Since i have started at aofm in September 2015 i have learnt so much and still keep learning more and improving my skills every time i assist aofm and at the masterclasses. I did the complete pro course as it covered all areas of makeup,hair sfx and nails and enjoyed every day of it!

I found the classes great the tutors are absolutely amasing, they made sure that i was ok, understood everything and were always happy to help me with anything i was having difficulty with. 

Since graduating aofm i have so many chances and opportunities assisting michelle webb and some many of the other very talented tutors at aofm. Being able to assist so soon after graduating has been amasing, it really gave me a chance to put the skills i have learnt in to action, learning more from each artist on how to become a successful makeup artist. Being able to see and be apart of the work that the tutors do on a daily basis has been absolutely fantastic and so much fun! 

Having the chance to assist during fashion week, milan and london have been absolutely great, i have loved every minute of it, thank you for the opportunity to experience fashion week and can not wait to do it again soon! 

I have met so many lovely people since starting at aofm and all have become great friends. I love how close and welcoming the AOFM team are, friendly and always helpful to all the students during and after studying. 

The only thing i would change,would be that i wishes i lived in London or closer. Every chance that i can get off for any assisting jobs with aofm i have taken it and have had such a great time! 

The best decision i have ever made!! Thank you AOFM!!
Posted 4 years ago
I took a Total pro course with AOFM in July 2015. The course was very intense including makeup, hair styling, nails, and airbrush. I've learned various skills from this course and it is essential to topping up my skills. The course provided me a set of essential brushes with practical brush belt which I love it. Moreover, I had opportunities to try loads of high-end brand products such as Chanel, Gucci, Charlotte Tilbury, Bobbi Brown, Mac, etc. In addition, each class was taught by various experienced freelance makeup artists and I could learn various tips and tricks from them.
After graduation, aftercare from AOFM is the strongest point. I've got exclusive opportunities to work backstage at London and Milan Fashion Week. They are an amazing experience and I couldn't ask more. Furthermore, AOFM provides us infinity masterclass. I've attended and got a lot of discounts from several masterclasses with many high-end brands such as Charlotte Tilbury, Chanel, Bobbi Brown, Nars, etc.
Overall, it's my right decision to take this course with AOFM.
Posted 4 years ago
I graduated AOFM in 2014.

I was happy that I could practice various skin & style.

Also, They still give amazing opportunities such as backstage, private fashion show, masterclass, refresh class, event, etc.
I met a lot of good makeup artist who can help each other in this industry.

I could work various area with portfolio and career from AOFM.


I strongly recommend this Academy to build up your skill and career as a hair & Makeup artist.

AOFM is the best academy ever.
Posted 4 years ago
AOFM is a great school that has taught me more about the makeup industry than I could have ever imagined. The curriculum set up was perfect. Allowing the student to learn the different fields in the makeup world during the morning half of the day and then hands on application during the afternoon. In addition to what was taught, I would liked to have seen an hour or two devoted to the business side of the industry. Also, add a session for airbrush. I might add that Mykel Renner was my all time favorite instructor. (#Awesome)
All in all you and Dani make a fabulous team. You both are very knowledgable about the application of makeup and the makeup industry itself. Dani was fantastic with helping us feel comfortable and you both gave great feedback with your critiques. I feel the training I received prepared me with the tools to go forward as a true freelance makeup artist. Thank you
Posted 4 years ago
Undoubtedly the best make-up school in the industry! If you are thinking of changing your career, improving your make-up skills and learning current styling trends, this is the place for you.

Three key things that separates them from other make-up school in the market today. First is the quality of their teachers, all of whom are working professionals within the industry. Apart from being ‘current’ within the fashion world, they will give you the insight of what it takes to be successful, what products work, what techniques are best, and most of all how to be confident in your application.

Second is the academy’s well planned, tried, and tested curriculum. The lessons takes you from absolute beginner, draws out your creativity (even if you think you don’t have one!), and sends you out as well rounded make-up artist who could do make-up on any age, gender, occasion, era, style and demands; including body painting and special fx!

And thirdly, AOFM is the only school that gives their students a selection of graduate opportunities in order to launch their career successfully. Starting with a professional photo shoot to kick start your portfolio; to assisting at various Fashion Week shows (London, New York, Paris, Milan, Japan, and others); London Collections Men; various work and assignments; as well as continued Masterclasses from leading make-up artist and make-up brands to keep their graduates up to date.

Highly recommended and regarded make-up school in the industry! A thoroughly enjoyable experience and life changing!
Posted 4 years ago
I attend Total Pro course at AOFM, and really loved it. They have the best tutors in the industry so you get to work and learn from the best.
What's even more amazing about AOFM is the aftercare. I got to work on the best jobs, fashion shows,... where I gained so much experience.
I would recommend AOFM to everyone!!!
Posted 4 years ago
The opportunities offered to students both during the course and after are completely unique to AOFM. By getting to learn from different artists who are currently working in the field, AOFM grants students the chance to explore varying techniques, approaches and mediums without fear of "doing something wrong." One of the most appealing aspects of the school was the repetition of the phrase "there is no right way to do makeup." As an individual who believes creativity should never have a cap, this was something that encouraged me as an artist. In addition to all that was done during the course, AOFM's aftercare and master classes are a huge bonus that few schools can rival. One of the best perks (and as far as I'm concerned exclusive to AOFM), is the opportunity to work fashion weeks all over the globe. I have personally worked backstage at New York Fashion Week on the AOFM team and have found it to be rewarding in experience and a great chance to network with models, stylists, etc. Also, being able to work with people you know and trust to help achieve a vision is reward enough. As a past and pleased student, AOFM would definitely be the first place I direct any prospective or seasoned makeup artist who is looking for a well-rounded and unbiased teaching.
Posted 4 years ago
AOFM really goes an extra mile for their students and graduates!
This school offers an amazing opportunity to study and work with highly professional, industry recognised makeup artists. AOFM creates a real life industry environment and techniques I have learned at this school can be defenetly applied to day to day work. The course is intense and many people asked me if that was worth the money you pay for a 4 week course. Well, I can say with all the confidence that every second of the training is a valuable experience. Everything I learned there is helping me through my career - practical skills, theory, discipline, product knowledge, ethics etc. Of course there's so much more to learn, however AOFM offered me a first hand aftercare and a range of a high quality master classes as well as an amazing work opportunities. I haven't doubted a second choosing this school and the experience I gained was beyond my expectations. Since I finished my course last year, I was lucky enough to work backstage as a part of AOFM team at London and Milan fashion weeks and other exciting projects, which gave me an Indepth knowledge of the industry, an opportunity to network with other industry professionals and a great deal of confidence And fulfilment
Posted 4 years ago
Hands on Knowledgeable teachers in a fun and exciting learning environment with amazing once in a lifetime opportunities.
Posted 4 years ago
I attended the Academy Of Freelance Makeup at their Soho school in London in December 2014, completing the "Total Pro" Course.

The 4 week course sets you up brilliantly for a career in the makeup artist/hair stylist industry, starting with great coverage of basic makeup application (foundation, brows, contouring etc) all the way up to full creative makeup, body painting and hair styling. You will leave with a full set of skills ready for building a portfolio. AOFM also gives great insight and excellent advice on what life will be like after graduating, and that hard work plus the skills learnt are going to put you in good stead for a successful career.

The aftercare is second to none, Including a great range of brand masterclasses for graduates (with the Urban Decay and Chanel evenings being firm favourites of mine so far!). I have been to Milan Fashion Week 3 times, along side other European countries with the school, with New York next on my list! This as well as working at London Fashion weeks regularly for both the Men's and Women's shows thanks to AOFM.

After having been taught by the best professional tutors and Directors at AOFM, plus on going support with work opportunities, my career has become very successful within just a year and a half of graduating. My own hard work and perseverance has been so worth it when I've been lucky enough to work with celebrity clients through AOFM at events, award shows, editorial shoots and look books to name but a few!
Posted 4 years ago
AOFM review
I attended the Academy in February 2012.
I wanted to refresh my skills from past training that I felt had not been adequate and I’d also had a break to have my 2 children so when I was looking for schools this one was the school that really jumped out at me.
The promise of the aftercare programme I felt was very important to me….as a make-up artist you never stop learning and wanting to improve so I guess I choose this school over others because of that reason.
My first day was one I will never forget! As soon as we were handed out our brushes (the AOFM brushes are given to you as part of the package) I was hooked!
The great thing about the course is it’s so hands on and you get down to practical pretty much straight away which in my opinion is the only way to learn!
I was worried at first because I had thought after having my children that my career was over! My First tutor , Maria revealed that she had in fact been a mathematician until her early 40’s and had taken a huge career change, proving it’s never too late to follow your dreams and yes………….she completely inspired me!
We were taught by different artists every day that are out in the industry, so the wealth of experience and advice they teach you is second to none, teaching us not just how to apply makeup but how to handle the industry and succeed is so important also!
Each tutor I found to be so inspiring and full of passion which really adds to the magic of this school!
The products that we were let loose with in class were all Top class brands……Chanel, Armani, MUFE, Charlotte Tilbury, Shu uemura , Benefit, Nars to name but a few! This was so important to me as I was able to work with and experience the differences! It’s the only way to get a feel as to what you want to use in your kit as we all have a own personal favourites!
The whole course experience was amazing and only fuelled my make-up passion more! Further still I made friendships with other students, whom I still see often and take great pride in supporting their careers, some of them have gone on to do amazing things since we graduated and it only inspires me more!
In February this year I was offered an amazing opportunity with the school to fly to Milan and work backstage with them for the Sergei Grinko Show, assisting the very talented Michelle Webb.
I can honestly say that in a little over 24 hours I had the time of my life…..bringing a lifelong dream to reality!
The team I was part of were wonderful and I was lucky enough to travel out with a fellow student whom I was put in touch with via the school and we really looked after each other and gave each other great support!
During the show Jana (head of Education) was never far from me and gave me great direction and support of my work! The show was very fast pace and as it was my first time back stage I was very well looked after!
After wards having experienced my first adrenaline rush from a live show I was on a high!
Jana took all us graduates for cocktails at the Dolce and Gabbana lounge in Milan to say thank you! It was such a lovely Gesture and made us feel truly valued for our work!
I would 150% recommend this school to any aspiring artist!
The master classes that are offered as part of the aftercare programme are invaluable for keeping me inspired, up to date and in contact with all the right people.
My make-up passion continues …………….with AOFM!
Posted 4 years ago
My experience with AOFM was what I was expecting, since class number one till the opportunities after get the certificate. Makes me feel more motivated, trained and with the thought that I can do even more. Given me and to a lot of people the chance to be part of the FASHION WEEK was one amazing experience. So many thanks to all the people who is involved for make this happen.
Posted 4 years ago
Attended AOFM a year ago now and so far I have had so many great opportunities with their aftercare programme, I have had paid opportunities as well as attending 2 London Fashion weeks and Milan. AOFM also offer free exclusive masterclasses available after completing the course like with Charlotte Tilbury and Chanel which are great to attend. AOFM was a professional but friendly school and offers a good working relationship with tutors as well who you can also have assisting opportunities with. Very pleased with my AOFM experience and look forward to keep working with them.
Posted 4 years ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.94 based on 114 reviews