Harveysfurniture Reviews

1.17 Rating 410 Reviews
4% of reviewers recommend Harveysfurniture

Write Your review

Tell us how Harveysfurniture made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Own Driver
average delivery time
Over a month
on-time delivery
Greater than 20%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 50%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week
customer service
1.09 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
refunds process
Difficult
"Only got sofas yesterday but minus scatter cushions. I was told when ordering 5wks ago they were as standard. When rang to find out where they were was told I hadnt ordered them and they are not as standard. You cant even order them online when placing an order so how are you supposed to get them if they dont come as standard!!!!! (PS. I actually ordered in store at Gateshead but checked if they could be purchased when making online order) Gateshead Harveys not prepared to sort this out and customer services said I cant escalate as I have not received faulty items.......I wouldnt know if they are faulty coz I havent received then AT ALL. Then they said I cant return sofas as not faulty! What a joke this company is."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Are you Harveysfurniture? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Get Access
"Two suits in a year cushions gone again, they sent someone out to look they said we sat in those two seats more than the others. Not interested spent £3,000 on rubbish. Basically not ment to last more than 8 months of use considering were both out all day working, will never use HARVEY'S again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If l could choose zero stars l would, awful, uncaring managers at Harvey's Stanway, 9 months & still no sofas, 2 damaged deliveries, customer service say speak to store, store say speak to customers service, no one will take responsibility, reported to furniture omnibusman."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had the leather electric recliner and 8 months the one side seat started to sag and go out of shape it doesn't support me properly so a have put a cushion underneath me, Harvey's use a contract company to call and inspect the rep called and came out with the biggest load of nonsense I've ever heard made excuses and left, Harvey's the sent a letter saying there is nothing wrong with my defected sofa they sold me, stear clear of Harvey's the after sale service is a insult to their customers intelligence."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Do not order anything from this Company, Customer Services awful, delivery was cancelled as they suddenly discovered the sofabed was damaged when it was due to be offloaded - how did that happen then? Took a day off work, waste of time. Re-ordered, and was offered a 'goodwill gesture' but if we accepted a sofabed on loan until the new one arrived we could not have the 'goodwill gesture' ! They re-ordered the Sofabed and was delivered 3 months after original purchase (another day off work) - they also had my money all this time. Sofabed was for elderly aunt's family living a long distance away, they had to stay in hotels which cost a fortune as the sofabed not there! Spoke again to customer services and offered a paltry £50 'goodwill gesture' (Sofa was £700.00) Looking at other reviews seems this is common - wish we had investigated before buying. Will not put a foot inside a Harvey's store again and definitely do not recommend"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Bought a sofa in Feb 19 with delivery Date in April 19. Sofa did not turn up on 3 separate occasions until a wrong colour was delivered in on final occasion. Case referred to Furniture Ombudsman and order cancelled. Again multiple failure to issue refund and again referred to Furniture Ombudsman after one month following cancellation. In summary sofa purchased on 5th Feb 19, money back in Oct 19 following breach of contract and non-compliance to Ombudsman stipulation. All in all it was a real regret having to transact with Harvey. Never will recommend to anybody or enter Harvey shop again. Shocked by the attitude of the shop manager at the branch who caused the problem and became a blocker to any sensible resolution."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Please do not go anywhere near this company. I’ve had some faulty sofas collected last week by two men who was in a benson for beds van. Shock there now saying they haven’t received my furniture. Been in to customer service all week who are completely liers they haven’t got a clue what is going on. Apparently it’s being investigated by a manager called Scott who’s as much use as a chocolate fire guard says he needs a week to track the order. I’m now so p——-d off with this company it’s making me loose sleep. If nothing gets resolved within a couple off days I’m going to go to the police as they have collected my furniture. If they can’t trace the drivers who came."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Bought a lovely 3 piece sofa. I told the guy selling it to me I was in the process of moving home and for the new sofa to be sent to my new address but to use my current address as my billing address for payment as all my cards etc still registered at my current address. Pretty simple right? Deliver to the new address but pay using current address so payment will go through. What happens? They deliver the sofa to my current address (which btw is only 100 yards from my new address) I actually see the van at my old address and run over to let them know there has been a mistake and they need to move the van to my new address just up the road. You would have thought I was asking them to carry the sofa up a 100 flights of stairs, the reaction I got was laughable. The driver told me no chance. He delivers to the address which is on the line. I call up customer support right there and they say they need to take the sofa back to the shop as it's against the law to deliver to an address not on the order form. WHAT?? This is your fault I say. I gave you the correct address. Long story short they take away the sofa and I spend the rest of the day talking to support and managers about the error on their part. The manager was totally rude and unhelpful. They said they can deliver after the Christmas holidays, leaving us without any sofa at all in our new home for two weeks. An utter joke and after many more calls they reluctantly agreed to send me a 2 seater couch as a temporary solution if I paid for or brought a van to pick it up or they would charge me to hire a small van to bring it. Freaking incredible.. I will NEVER ever use this company again. Total joke in all departments and I had to stop myself from going into the store for a showdown with the very cheeky, rude and totally unprofessional manager at the Hillington Branch. Take your business elsewhere if you want a good service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Lost my furniture wait for this one. Had my faulty sofas collected now they have gone missing.?ive told customer service surly you keep a record of who collected furniture?. If they can find the drivers names and they say they haven’t collected items the police will be involved as it’s now theft. Absolutely awful company be warned if you buy from this company you will live to regret it. Different people from customer service say different things pathetic. Waisted hours and hours on phone to them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"*** NEVER BUY FROM HARVEYS *** 9 months of drama and still not finished, tipped off by the store calling the Police because I advised a customer in store of my experience!!!.. - My surname is still spelt incorrectly despite advising 9 times of correct spelling, on 10th occasion customer service advise to change The spelling, they must see my ID to change it after 9 months of asking. - Sofa arrived badly damaged with dents and marks on all surfaces so rejected, delivery drivers tried to persuade me to keep sofa as ‘Another sofa will be just as damaged due to type of leather’ er no this will be due to lack of protective packaging as delivered in a box only - Breach of data protection (GDPR) due to A4 delivery note containing my order details and another clients. This included; Client signature, full name, full address, telephone numbers, order details. Turns out this other client was given the identical delivery note which means a stranger had all of my personal details too!!! Accepted £200 compensation for this serious breach but still unhappy given everything else - spent a total of 22 hours 48 minutes over 9 months chasing updates via email, on hold in queues to customer services and on calls including the store when they finally answered the phone - one call on hold for 2 hours 1 minute then when advisor answered she promptly cut me off after asking why there were so busy (automated voice message advises you the agent has hung up the call or something similar) - When through to an advisor 99% of the time they do not read the notes and have not got a clue what is going on - waited another 3 months for 2nd sofa to be made and delivered which I accepted despite some faults as promised to resolve issues with s technician - Had to take 2 separate days off as annual leave to accommodate a technician to look at issues, 2nd time was due to 1st technician not measuring correctly to Harveys specification! - Harveys say no faults on sofa despite being 12cm smaller in length, squeaks on both sides when reclining and a chemical smell - was promised minimum £200 for delivery drama, yet maximum they are now offering is £75 - Popped into store for first time since purchase 9 months ago to resolve once and for all. Joseph Simon (Manager) on a conference call, so dealt with Callum (Assistant Manager) fo confirm customer services not sent paperwork needed to trigger £75 refund - After 45 minutes with Callum on hold to customer services to resolve, he puts phone down and states I am harassing customers so he is calling the police?! Yet I calmly articulated my personal experience to a female potential customer so she can make a considered purchase. She confirmed I was not harassing her!! - Callum came back over to me to say he has called the police and put both thumbs up at me like a petulant child which was very strange. - A bemused PC came over to talk with me and was shocked to see me sitting calmly as Callum advises I was screaming, shouting and laying on the floor in the store and refusing to leave!!! (cctv cameras will confirm I literally do not move from the desk and sat calmly throughout this diabolical experience) PC even said he was amazed how calm I am given my ‘journey’ with Harveys and confirmed by telling a customer about my experience Is not harassment - PC had to persuade Joseph Simon (Manager) fo speak with me to resolve. When he finally came over I outstretched my hand which was not reciprocated until I left my hand there for him to reluctantly shake my hand after around 10-15 seconds - Manager was on the defensive from the off, displaying negative body language and very angry facial expressions, even when I requested he change his demeanour towards me as I’m being very rationale and calm he did not change - Joseph contradicted Callum by saying they do have correct paperwork and email I have states refund 7-10 days which is incorrect as email I have states store will contact me within 7-14 days to discuss refund?!! - Joseph could not tell me method of refund, despite my concerns as GDPR compensation. was via Cheque and my surname is still wrong. He did not offer to correct my surname or attempt to find out method of refund for me, he just wanted me out of the store - PC confirmed to Manager I was not harassing I am still no further on, except more examples of incompetent diabolical customer service with a finale of the Police being called because I dare to have freedom of speech about my experience! If the Manager and assistant cannot deal with someone like me who is rationale and calm, goodness knows how they would cope with someone displaying anger. They are lucky I have a calm personality despite 9 months and ongoing drama with Harveys . Once Harveys have got your money they truly do not care. The WORST customer experience in my life."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"we purchased a red 2 seater ,armchair and foot stool in july 2018. After 11 months we noticed white streaks down the sides and along the bottom of all three items. Harveys sent a surveyor out to check it.his conclusion was wear and tear .this is appalling.we are both in our 60s and do not abuse our furniture. the foot stool has never been used,it just sits in the corner of the lounge. yet it has gone the same way as the sofa and armchair. the inspectors first response was he had never seen anything like it before. then when we said we had never cleaned it his attitude changed.He said it was ill treated and not faulty. We have tried contacting customers services twice since then via email,with photos attached,but they havent even bothered to reply. I am disgusted with the way we have been treated. We have paid numerous visits to our local store in High Wycombe,but we are just banging our heads against the wall. It seems to me that Harveys are quick enough taking the customers money but then they dont want to know when things go wrong"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Buyer Beware !! We purchased a leather suite from the Macclesfield store in May 2016. By August 2018 - just over 2 years later - the chair had started to peel. When we complained to Harveys they referred us to their independent inspector - Homeserve. They came and inspected and charged us £48 for their report, which concluded that even though the maintenance was good and in line with recommendations, the peeling was down to "soiling". This shocked us. At one point the Homeserve specialist was angling towards it being due to heart medication, which in our case was complete nonsense. In addition Harveys were at pains to point out the insurance policy exclusions.This on a policy that they had been very keen to sell us in the first place (not least because we mentioned that we had a small dog). In fact the policy only covered accidental damage. We then contacted The Guild of Leather Craftsmen, who stated that any normal contact between hair or skin and pigmented leather can cause problems like ours, and that 2 years is actually exceeding EN ISO European testing standards! So, 3 points to make here to anyone thinking about purchasing similar furniture from Harveys. Btw - ours cost £2577 and the insurance £335. (1). Make sure when you buy a suite from them you find out whether it is pigmented leather or not. If it is, don't be surprised if it shows rub damage after 2 years. (2). Don't buy the insurance policy that they offer. We were sold ours by their salesperson as - quote - "the best you can get", "for every eventuality" and "5 years piece of mind". Buy your own. Theirs is too expensive and no better than the many, many cheaper ones on the market. (3). Don't expect any semblance of decent customer service should you have a complaint. And expect to pay for their independent experts should one be needed. As per the title of this comment - BUYER BEWARE. For us, never again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Still waiting for sofa. Left wondering if it will ever arrive??Constantly re-scheduling delivery date. Customer service staff are rude, unhelpful and give different account every time I phone. Avoid this company, they take your money but will not provide your furniture"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I've had this leather sofa for about two years before I noticed splitting. The areas that have split seem to be pvc and not leather. I won't be dealing with these again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Bought a Warren sofa in Feb 2018 .Purchased a warranty . In this time 3 repairs carried out . color fading and sinking . Now the recliner is sloping and cutting into the leather underneath and foam is coming out.We are pensioners and they wasnted us to pay for an independent inspection . Now they are sending Homeserve out to asses it as I said we shouldn't have to pay for a report on their goods."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Appalling customer service, sofa arrived several weeks later than originally quoted, it arrived damaged (scuffs on leather), took several months to get replacement, that also arrived damaged (hole in), customer service simply do not care, can take well over an hour to get through on the phone, staff are unhelpful and managers refuse to speak to customers on the phone, store won’t help, just fob you off with customer service number. Avoid buying from this cowboy outfit at all costs, save yourself the stress and disappointment and buy elsewhere."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I've had my Genoa leather sofa a year and 9 months. The leather has started peeling and it looks much worse than my beautiful red Ieather sofa I had from DFS that was ten years old! I only got rid as it was too big for my new house. Will never buy another thing from Harvey's. Always thought it was rubbish and now I know it is! Don't waste your money. I should have just got a cheapo one from Argos!! Going back to the delivery, theguys made a big fuss about the door size before they even tried to get it in which they did without problems. Didn't take away the packaging even though it said they would when I ordered it. Anyway the sofa is absolute junk. I didn't expect it to last ten years but I thought it would be acceptable for about five. Not one!!!!!! By the look of the other reviews they won't put it right either. Joyful."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrible customer service and quality. Do not buy from here or trust them. They do not care for their customers at all."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Ordered 15 pairs of chairs. I received few text message about the delivery date though it was after about six weeks. When it did not arrive on time than I contacted the customer service. I was informed that they can not deliver 15 pairs in one go .. surprised!! It was not mentioned to me when I placed the order. I asked when can you deliver in batches, the guy at the other end ( I don’t want to mention the name) said that he doesn’t know."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We ordered our sofa In the January sales. We waited 3 months, then had to wait another month for the delivery. A week before delivery I called to make sure it was coming only to be told that its delayed by 2 weeks. Once it arrived, I was horrified. The delivery driver was an hour late and did not answer the phone to me when I tried to call. When they arrived they was throwing the sofas around. At one point they took the packaging off my sofa and was scraping it across the pavement! I asked them not too which they ignored. When they carried it, they held it by the top of the sofa causing the cushion to come out of place. The delivery driver told me to complain to harveys and get £500 off! After looking at the sofa I found so many faults! Cushioning was awful, the 2 seater was squeaky and the material was rubbing against each other. There was a massive gap between them. I was also told in the store that the stitching will be the same colour as the sofa.. it never came like that and I was then told that's how it is and tough. I called Harvey's the day after and I was messed around. I was told they do not have a complaints department or a manager to speak too. I was then promised a phone call from a Manager... which I never got! I called again and the caller put the phone down on me after 38 mins on hold!!!!!.. when I spoke to someone else, they advised they needed to send an independent specialist to take photos. After 2 weeks, this happened. He stood in my living room and told me that the cushioning will grow .. what a load of rubbish!!!. I then got back on the phone to harveys and told them I wanted a replacement .. which they did. After 3 months, the sofa arrived at 9am this morning. Delivery was late however the gentleman was lovely and took care when bringing the sofa in. They made comments on how awful this sofa was! What a mess! The material is different, theres gaps, the recliner does not even recline! I went straight up to Harvey's store to see the assistant manager. How useless. She was in trainers ( how unprofessional) and told me she would contact the resolution team who "should" contact me, at this point, I'd had enough. I have paid £2,500 for a sofa which has not been right from day 1!. I have now spend my day in SCS to find a new sofa as I will never ever go with harveys again! .. my mother had the same issues, she had a sofa which arrived with a spring sticking out, got a replacement, the leather was to short of the arm (she was told it would stretch) she then was told that the sofa she had was no longer being made so she had to find another sofa. 18 months it took her to get it right. I am now going home to a mess and the stress is unreal. DO NOT GO TO HARVEYS"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Harveysfurniture is rated 1.17 based on 410 reviews